Posted by: tgonzales | March 13, 2013

March 9-10, 2013 Weekend, Lunch with Debbie, Officer’s Meeting, Second Session of March Crochet 101, Drury Inn, my Megan, and Dinner with Family

1

My weekend started off by having lunch with my best friend Debbie; we ate at Tanya’s Soup Kitchen and I tried my darndest to take a photo of the two of us but failed miserably. But I loved this one of Debbie and I hope you do too.

2

On Saturday we met for our monthly KS My Stitch officer’s meeting; Kaye, Lucy, and

3

Susie was here. I made homemade cheesy tomato basil soup along with grilled cheese sandwiches, and I also fixed homemade baked macaroni and cheese

4

for Lucy’s little granddaughter Marissa. Lucy was taking care of Marissa last weekend so she brought her along to hang out with us old ladies. Marissa is very well behaved and had a ball playing with some of Megan’s things.

5

After the meeting Susie and I stopped at Lady Grace boutique in the Delano district to support our friend Donna, who has a new line of repurposed children’s clothing.

6

Then it was off to spend a couple of hours at Twist with my March Crochet 101’s last session. It was fun to see all of the ladies again and I was happy that all of them came back again; plus Sue came back from the February Crochet 101 to make up her second session. Plus one of my student’s daughter was here from California so she came along to hang out with her Aunt and Mom. I loved that they both taught her to crochet while she sat there. (the daughter was also a drama student with Joshua when he was a Freshman in high school)

7

Then it was time to go home and load up to go on our little get away to downtown Wichita for our 21st Anniversary celebration.

8

When we arrived I found out that John had already been to the hotel to check in, got our keys to our room, and he had a gift waiting for me. If you look really close you will see tears in my eyes. After this picture was taken they rolled down my cheeks; I know how hard he worked to get the camera for me and that makes it all more special.

9

Oh my gosh the quality and the clarity of my photos are

10

going to be so much better now. 🙂

11

Anyway we had dinner from the Happy Hour hors d’oeuvres that the Drury Inn provides all their guests. It was kind of funny because it looked like the hotel was having a children’s convention. There were children everywhere and here we were childless and loving that we were. The swimming pool and hot tub area were the same way.

12

We finally waited in the exercise room until all the kids and their parents got out of the hot tub and then we went in. I have learned that I can’t trust John with my new camera now; especially when he doesn’t have his glasses on, or maybe I should be glad that he didn’t have the camera focused because I don’t look good in a swimming suit. Anyway I got to soak my tired muscles in the hot tub until I felt like I couldn’t breathe anymore and then we headed up to the room. I sat and crocheted a little while watching a movie;

DSC_0096

I’m so glad that I have such an understanding husband that knows I need to crochet to relax. To some people this may sound like a dumb thing to do, but we never had a real honeymoon. When we chose our weekend to get married it was between John’s three different part time jobs; navy reserves, sheriff reserves, and his weekend off of work. Plus we had a five month old and a 15 year old at home, so we didn’t feel like we could take the time for a honeymoon. Please don’t get me wrong, we have had trips and a few vacations away from home but most of our time has been spent here at home. I can’t lie and say that it was always easy, because it wasn’t. But I will tell you this; it has all been worth it.

13

On Sunday our plans were to have Jennifer and Megan come over and then we were going to have dinner with my sister and her family, plus my Mom. I was sad when I found out that Jennifer was ill but I was happy that Megan wanted to come over and spend time with Gran Gran and Poppy. She has always gravitated to her Poppy and seems to love him dearly. Oh by the way he forgot to give one of her Christmas gifts to her on Christmas day so he gave it to her on Sunday.

14

On the menu at Jackie’s were waffles, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, hashbrown casserole, and fruit. I made two batches of my Mom’s recipe for “Oh Boy, Waffles” that she used to make us as kids. (by the way don’t pay any attention to the date on some of these photos; John had the day and the month turned around) 😉

15

I brought my waffle iron and had two waffle irons going at the same time.

15b

Mom fried the bacon, Emilee cooked the scrambled eggs, (with direction from me and her Mom) while Jackie flitted about keeping everyone in line. I loved listening to Emilee ask questions about how to make scrambled eggs and how to brown sausage; I really hope that I answered most of them correctly. And no, Mom is not wearing a bib; it’s a towel to protect her sweater from getting splattered with bacon grease. 😉

16

I think Megan had a good time playing with Miss Ava

17a

and Little Man Truman.

17b

18

19

After dinner I enjoyed myself by taking lots of pictures of the family. I especially love this one of Little Man Truman and his Uncle Jarred. Jarred told him to smile and here is what he did. Now isn’t that the cutest little grin? I also wanted to share a little something that Jackie told me about Truman. The other day he asked his Momma for Miss Ava’s chocolate milk and when his Momma gave it to him he didn’t take a drink like she thought he would; he walked right over to Miss Ava and handed it to her. I do believe he is growing up to be just like his Daddy; Truman is such a grown up little man of almost two. 🙂

DSC_0134

20

We try not to miss an opportunity to get our picture taken with our Mom, because we all know how precious our time with her is. I asked Ava and Truman’s daddy (Travis) to take the pictures and when he lay down on the floor and struck a pose like a professional photographer would do; we all had a good laugh as he said that it would be the best picture of all of them, because everyone was smiling and he was right.

21

And last but not least I was so happy that Jackie loved the crochet shawl that I made for her. So, did any of you do anything exciting over the weekend? I would love to hear all about it. Oh by the way I have my crocheted washcloth class coming up this Saturday, March 16, 2013 at 1:30 if anyone is interested you can sign up on-line, call Twist at (316) 262-9276, or just stop in and signup.


Responses

  1. What a wonderful anniversary! Quite jealous of your new camera. I too had a brilliant weekend.

    • Hi Cathy!

      Thanks for stopping by to comment and I love that you want a camera just like mine. I’m so glad that you had a good weekend too.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. I got tears on my eyes when I saw the picture of you with the camera. I knew that you were speechless and loved the gift very much. John is such a tricky guy to sneak up to the hotel room and leave it there for you to find. That is AWESOME. Our guys sure can surprise us every once in and again. You enjoy that new camera and have fun taking even more photos.

    • Hi Donna!

      It’s good to know that my words and pictures bring out emotions in some of you out there. Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by to comment and tell me so. I can’t wait to show you at guild and to take more great pictures of all of my friends.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Happy belated anniversary, Tamara. What a wonderful recap of a joyful time. Thank you! Congrats on your new camera. Have fun learning all about it and practicing with it. I do think it’s awesome that you take so many fun pictures of your family and activities. Keep up the great effort.

    • Hi Jeanne!

      Thank you for the anniversary wishes, but not to worry our anniversary isn’t until tomorrow; so you aren’t late at all. Also thank you for loving my stories and photos.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Oh my gosh, a NEW CAMERA!! That John is so good to you. I definitely think you should keep him forever! Love all the family photos, and the shawl you made for Jackie is beautiful! She looks great in it!… Enjoy your day! ((hugs))

    • Hi Tina!

      I know right? Didn’t your dear daughter surprise you with a new camera not too long ago too? Our families are very good to us, aren’t they? Thanks so much for loving what I do and for stopping by to tell me so.

      Love and (((HUGS)))!
      Tamara

  5. What a wonderful busy life you have. Don’t you just love it. And don’t you just love that awesome husband of yours. The camera is amazing Happy Annivesary girl. Love you. sw

    • Oh Sue!

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. It makes my day. I wish I had one day with you and your busy self, along with photos of your days. It would be just as busy as mine!

      Love you,
      Tamara

  6. Tamara,
    Your husband is the best!! And, you deserve the best. I loved all the family pictures. The crocheted cover for Jackie was perfect for her and I’m glad she liked it. I’m glad you had an escape time at the hotel and hope you are all rested up. See you at Guild.
    Kaye

    • Hi Kaye!

      Yes John is pretty special and I do believe I should keep him for a while. He knows just what to buy me. (Most of the time) 🙂 Yes I feel a little more refreshed from the weekend escape. I’m looking forward to to the guild meeting too.

      Love,
      Tamara

  7. What a wonderful update from you; love your weekend with John, and the special gift (he’s definitely a keeper). Is the shawl you gave Jackie the one you are working on in the hotel chair? It’s divine, looks very intricate, and suits her beautifully.
    bye for now x

    • Hi Jill!

      I’ll make sure I let John know that everyone thinks he is a keeper. 🙂 Yes the shawl that I was crocheting on at the hotel is the same one that Jackie is wearing. I’m glad you like it because so do I. Thanks for stopping by to comment.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  8. Is the class at 1:30 or 3:30. I am so excited to see you again. The guys at the poker table look at me weird because I sit there knit or crochet while playing cards. My husband also understands about the need to do some yarn work to relax.

    • Hi Linda!

      Oh my gosh yes the class is at 3:30 and not 1:30. But I plan on being there early so that I can get some hooking done before the class. 🙂 See you on Saturday.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  9. You scared me when you said 1:30 and the website said 3:30. I will try and see if the hubby will let me go there instead of the poker room Saturday so we can hang out and laugh. I really need some Tamara time.

    • That sounds great Linda. See you on Saturday and hopefully you can come a little early too. 🙂

  10. Okay, Tamara, first of all I have to say I am not so sure you should keep John…. I am thinking maybe you ought to send him over to Idaho. 😉 LOVE your new camera!!! Sooooo jealous!!!! 😀 What a kind, generous, thoughtful, loving, sweet hubby he is!
    HAPPY 21st ANNIVERSARY, TAMARA & JOHN!!
    Even thru the blur, I can *see* your relaxation in the hot tub. Ahhhh…..
    But *what* is that in the tub … soap bubbles or some kind of foam? I’ve never seen that in a hot tub before.

    Oh, that little half-grin smirk of Truman’s is too precious!!
    Love John’s cleverness in getting you 4 gals to really g-r-i-n!!! 😀
    The shawl you made Jackie is so beautiful .. and it is so *her*.

    Again, Happy Anniversary, T&J ~
    Love ‘n Hugs ‘n G-R-I-N-S 😀 😀
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      Sometimes I would love to send him to Idaho, but mostly I’ll keep him. 🙂 He is very kind and too generous sometimes; I don’t always feel like I deserve so much.

      The hot tub was bubbling away and I’m not sure what the white foam was. It may have been all of the peoples soaps, lotions, etc. combined who sat in it? I’m not sure, but it felt rather amazing for as long as I could stand the heat. You know me and my tropical vacations. 😉

      Oh by the way Travis (Truman’s daddy) is the one who took the good laughing picture of us 4 gals. He’s very cute and he laid down on the floor sideways and grinned really big at us and we couldn’t help but smile back.

      Thanks so much for the anniversary wishes and I’ll make sure I tell John you said so.

      Love you!
      Tamara and John

      • Hi Tam ~ Sometimes I read too fast and do not catch the details (Travis taking that photo) .. or maybe it is ‘cuz this was such a great looong post? .. I’ll take any excuse I can get. LOL!
        xoxoooooo ~ Kat

  11. this all looks so fun. I love all of you! Truman’s grin stole my heart. I miss my Megan. YOUR CAMERA. BALLER, MOTHER. BALL. ER. THAT’S YOU.

    • Chacho Aaron,

      We all miss you too and hopefully you will be able to come back to visit soon and play with Megan, Truman, and Ava. I’m not quite for sure what Baller means? Unless it means crying and yes that’s what I am a baller; always have been, always will be.

      Love you so much!
      Momma

      • tee-hee! I chuckled at this, Tamara. I think Joshua means “bawler” .. as you said, crying. Naw, you do not bawl a lot, do you, Tamara? Naw, not you. tee-hee haw-haw giggle-giggle!
        Looking forward to seeing pics taken with your new camera when you are *with* Joshua!
        HUG! ~ Kat


Leave a Reply

Categories

