Posted by: tgonzales | February 4, 2013

February 2-3, 2013 Weekend, Finished Orange and Yellow Hat, Breakfast with Mom, Jean, and Jennifer, a Couple of Hearts, Stuffed Owl Cushion, Lunch at Jackie’s, and My Joshua

1

My weekend started off with me finishing the orange and yellow hat that I made for Megan’s friend Bridget. For me the orange and yellow is way too bright, but I think a 10 year old can pull it off and I know my Megan will be very excited to give it to her. Again I wish I could be a fly on the wall when she gives the hat to her friend.

2

Then it was off to join my Mom, Jean, and Jennifer for breakfast. Jennifer is not pictured because she had just rolled out of bed, no make-up, in her sweats, and hair wet. I love this picture of my Mom and Jean; they both take such good pictures and I didn’t even tell them to wear red.  🙂 We had a nice visit and then Mom and I went to the grocery store and then went back to my house for some more visiting.

3

After Mom left I started back on these cute little hearts. I purchased Petra’s newest Happy Colorful Crochet Heart pattern on Friday along with the Crochet Chicks, and the Big Crochet Flower Party patterns. I purchased them from Etsy where you can buy 3 at a time and save a little money. The thing I love about Petra’s patterns is that they are very thorough and have the written instructions along with a picture tutorial that makes crocheting the items so much easier. I can’t wait to start one of those cute little chicks and of course make some of those flowers too.

4

I also managed to stuff the crocheted owl cushion that I made last weekend. I decided that the owl cushion needed some of those tufts of hair sticking out like I added to my owl hats. I love how it turned out, but I think the next one I will make a fabric lining so that the stuffing doesn’t show through the crochet stitches.

Sunday morning I crocheted a little bit on another owl cushion and then we joined my sister-in-law and brother-in-law Ricci and CW for breakfast.

5

Then we headed over to my sister’s house for lunch. I arrived just in time to help her with preparing a wonderful Mexican lunch. I made my famous “pico de gallo” and guacamole.

6

I prepared Jasmine rice, she made refried beans, beef enchiladas, chicken tortilla soup, corn, and Mom brought chicken and noodles, and apple pie. Jackie’s mother-in-law Aileen brought bean dip, guacamole, and olives.

7

I always have a nice time just being able to work together with Jackie in her kitchen or whatever and I love seeing her three children and 2 grandbabies.

8

Miss Ava wasn’t feeling quite her usual bouncy self; she kept commenting that her cold sore was hurting. I usually can’t get a good picture of her at all but on Sunday she did not want to move off of Grammy Jackie’s lap

9

or her Aunt Emilee’s lap.

10

Little Man Truman was on the go though, except when Mom would sweep him up in her arms. 🙂

11

12

13

14

Here are just a few more random photos of the day at Jackie’s house.

15

I know I haven’t mentioned Joshua in quite a while, so I thought I would share the most recent photo he sent to me and an update of what he is doing. Joshua has been working very hard; he is in his last year of school and along with his Old Navy job he has also started working at an upscale bowling alley in Manhattan called “Bowlmor”. This photo was taken while he was operating the elevator at the bowling alley. I love his face and how happy he seems to be in the city that never sleeps. Anyway, I hope everyone has a wonderful Monday and I would love to hear how your weekend was.


Responses

  1. You’ve had a productive and happy weekend it appears, Tamara. Great job on the projects (agree about the hat colors, have to say, but kids can pull of the strangest combos), the food looks yummy and Joshua looks happy. Yep, looks like you couldn’t ask for much more!

    • Hi Jeanne!

      Thanks so much for stopping by and no I couldn’t ask for more. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Love all the family pictures. Little Ava and and little man Truman are growing up way to fast. That Mexican food looks absolutely wonderful the guacamole is by far my fav. I have never made it because I am the only one that eats it. I know what you mean about the orange and yellow hat but I bet Megans friend can put it together with a spring outfit and it would be amazing. Maybe if you put a contrasting flower on it it would tone it down a bit. Tomorrow we have our 6 month Drs appointment and birthday party for grandson Michael-he will be 16. Wednesday I have a meeting and Helping out at the church with the evening meal and on Thursday is my usual day to go to the shelter. I love my Thursdays. Have a good week girl and don’t forget I love you. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      It sounds like you have a full week ahead of you. It’s always fun hearing how you plan to spend your days. Thanks so much for sharing it with me.

      Love you too,
      Tamara

  3. Looked like you all had a great-wk-end!! Great pics of everyone!! Josh looks like one happy young man!! You should be so proud!!

    • Hi Debbie!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to read and then comment. It’s always nice to hear from you.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  4. Cute pics. Not that it matters, but its a canker sore. She gets those like me 😦

    • Hi Angie!

      Sorry I made a mistake in calling her canker sores, fever blisters. I felt so sorry for her, she looked miserable and not like her usual bouncy self. Little ones always make me sad. 😦

      Love you,
      Aunt Tammy

  5. Hi, Tamara,
    Looks like a fun time with family. Glad everyone is doing ok. Eva and Truman are growing so fast! Love to see a picture of Joshua.
    We just got home from our cruise to the Caribbean. I can still feel the ship moving. It was amazing and beautiful and so much fun. Katy, Bill, my sister, her kids and husband, and Jim, Justin and I all went. Lauren and Dean went to Disney while we cruised, as she couldn’t get on the ship. Too pregnant.

    Miss you!
    Steph

    • Hi Steph!

      I can’t wait to hear all about your cruise and some really cool pictures I’m sure. I’m so glad that you’re back and I’ll see your car again at your Mom and Dad’s house. 🙂

      Miss you too,
      Tamara

  6. Hi Tamara ~ Great photos all around! I like your little hearts .. especially the multi-colored one. Make one more and then juggle them.

    Ouch! The orange-&-yellow hat is blinding, isn’t it? LOL! But Bridget won’t be blinded by it ‘cuz she will be wearing it. HaHaHa!!

    Your OWL cushion is just tooo CUTE!!
    I got hungry, looking at the yummy food.
    Ava & Truman .. getting too big too fast! Cute li’l PEACE headband on Ava. I laughed when I read about Truman’s being on the go .. until your mom kept sweeping him up [great pic!]. 🙂
    Good to see Joshua again. Can’t believe he is nearing the end of his 2 yrs at that college already.
    Oh yah ~ I love all the colorful clothing you 4 ladies have on in that photo.

    Have a nice evening!
    Love ‘n HUG ~
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      Thanks so much for always being here to comment. I laughed when I read about the part on juggling the hearts. I can barely throw them up in the air and catch them one at a time let alone 3 at a time. 🙂 🙂 Thanks for loving the pictures too, it was a perfect day for taking pictures. Oh by the way this is Joshua’s third year in school.

      Love you my friend,
      Tamara

  7. Uh, Tamara? I laughed too .. when I pictured you attempting to juggle. haw-haw!
    No way!! Joshua’s THIRD year??!!! Where does the time go, right? You did say it is his last year, so I thought fur sure it was his second year – figuring no way could it be his fourth. I have not heard of a college that you attend for 3 yrs.
    Love ya!
    Tamara’s Kat Friend 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

