Posted by: tgonzales | February 1, 2013

Bullies are Bad and a Few More Hats for a Great Niece and Nephew

1

Wednesday night I had dinner with my Megan and Jennifer. Megan had been sick for 3 days with a low-grade fever and was unable to attend school. While we were waiting for our food to arrive Megan received a phone call from one of her school friends; let’s call her Bridget. (the students names are changed to protect the innocent) Anyway after Megan hung up the phone from talking to Bridget she looked down at the table. That’s when Jennifer knew something was bothering Megan, she asked her what happened and Megan told her that one of her other friends, Amanda had been calling Bridget names because Bridget suffers from seizures. Megan said that it wasn’t right for Amanda to call Bridget names and she couldn’t figure out how she was going to tell her friend Amanda to stop calling her other friend Bridget names. Amanda and Megan have been friends since the First grade and Megan has noticed a change in her this year, for the worse. She says that Amanda is being a bully and that she really wants her to STOP. I have to smile because Megan is growing up to be just like her Mommy, but at the same time I’m sad because I just want to protect her from all the bullies that she will have to contend with in her lifetime. We all decided that it would be best if Jennifer texted Bridget’s Mom to make sure she knew what was going on and also to give her Amanda’s Mom’s cell phone number.

2

I found out on Thursday morning that Megan was well enough to go to school. Oh how I wished I were a fly on the wall when little Megan met up with Amanda. I think Amanda probably got an ear full from her. What do you think? 😉

3

Anyway when Megan tried on the turquoise sparkly hat I told her that she probably needed that hat since it wouldn’t fit anyone else that has tried it on. She looked at me and said, “oh, oh? Can you make an orange and yellow one?” And I said “who likes orange and yellow?” And she said, “Bridget!” Of course you know I couldn’t say no, right? I hope Bridget loves the orange and yellow crusher hat that Megan wanted me to make for her.

4

Then I made a purple sparkly cloche hat with a flower for one of my great nieces that lives in Connecticut. I love the way it turned out and hope that she likes it too, her name is Elena and she’s 7.

5

I also made this gray and black beanie hat for a great nephew, Tyler who is around 19. I mailed off a package with 6 hats for John’s brother Pete’s grandchildren on Thursday. I can’t wait to find out if they like them. One is a sock monkey hat for Matteo who is around 8, one is a gray kitty hat for Cheyenne who is around 11, one is a Hello Kitty hat trimmed in pink for Angel who is around 19, and a Hello Kitty hat trimmed in purple for Hannah who is around 16. Pete said that he would take pictures and send them to me, so as soon as he does I’ll make sure I show you. Well here it is the weekend again and I’m looking forward to another productive one. How about you? Anyone have any plans that they want to share with me?


Responses

  1. I think Amanda is about to learn a very good lesson in life. Silly girl. Glad Megan is better now. I seem to remember not liking school very much at that age, there’s so much to cope with.
    Yellow and orange – very cool 🙂
    Have a good weekend. I have my handyman (Rob) coming round tomorrow to take unwanted shelves and cupboard doors from alex’s room and help me replan my spare room. (Spare = craft and computer). And I’ve invited his parents round for morning tea, so will need to bake something. So, hopefully, both peaceful and productive. Still too hot for comfort here, I’m inside where it’s relatively cool, in just a loose t-shirt and shorts, with my hair pinned up, and the perspiration is DRIPPING OFF ME. it’s HIDEOUS>…..
    Love x

    • Hi Jill!

      I can’t wait to hear whether Megan let her have it or not. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment about the bully problem and thinking the orange and yellow hat is cool. I’m having a hard time working on it because it seems a little too bright for my tastes. But I’ll do most anything for my little Megan. 🙂 It sounds like you have some cool things going on at your house this weekend. Good luck with the peaceful part of it. 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful visit with Rob’s parents and hope that you will have some cool winds blowing your way.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Bridget’s so lucky to have a friend like Megan – you must be so proud of her! I hope it all works out right in the end 🙂

    • Hi Laura!

      My little Megan likes to have peace so I’m sure she will figure something out. Bless her little heart. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Good for Megan for standing up for her friend. I hope it all ends well and maybe they can all be friends. I hope Bridgit likes her hat, too! What a thoughtful young lady you have in your life.

    Congrats on all the projects you have completed. You are a crocheting wonder! Wow! (I’m on a self imposed hiatus in the hopes that my elbow will not hurt when I do crochet/knit). I’m thinking of trying a project this weekend while watching the Superbowl. Fingers crossed.

    • Hi Jeanne!

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. I’m sure you have endured some of these same situations with your two girls and it’s never fun. Thankfully my Megan likes to be friends with everyone and I’m sure she will work something out. 😉

      Thanks for loving all my projects and here’s wishing you the best of luck when you pick up your hooks or needles this weekend during the Superbowl.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Yeah for sweet little Megan. We need more Megans in this world and she does look sweet in her turquois crusher hat. The last time I saw her she had grown up a lot. You are a wonderful Aunt to make the hats for all those great nieces and nephews. I’m working on my locker hooked rug and will probably get it finished today or tomorrow. I also have a photographer coming out to take my picture for the newspaper. I’ll have to clean the house a litlle bit before he comes (I wouldn’t want him to take a picture of me with my messy house in the background). lol Guess I need to get off of here and run to town to pick up my new glasses. Love you girl..

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks so much for always taking time to stop by here to comment. I know you are very busy but you always have time for me. Hey, you better get several of those papers so I can read all about my famous cousin. I can’t wait to see your new glasses too.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  5. Good for Megan- super hats!

    • Hi Cathy!

      Thanks so much for loving what I make and for being here to read my ramblings. Have a great weekend!

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  6. Hey Tamara! Kudos to you on making Megan’s friend a hat in her favorite colors to match Megan’s. I bet that brought a smile to her face and they are probably the envy of the other kids!
    On a different note i am liking how you make your beanies. Is that a pattern of yours or is it on the internet somewhere?

    • Hi Amanda!

      The beanie is the same pattern that I taught you how to make or are you talking about the crusher hat? Thanks so much for stopping by to comment. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  7. As always LOVE your hats.
    Megan is a sweetie. How nice the three of you could talk it over and make a plan together.

    Had a similar situation where my 9 or 10 year old granddaughter was being bullied and pinched. Talking it over with her mother and I really helped her.
    I suggested that the next time she was pinched, to yell really loud stop pinching me, that it hurts. Eventually the two girls saw a lot less of each other.

    I plan to go to Craft-a-palooza, at Century II on Sat. Haven’t been before.
    So glad I feel up to making these plans with my daughters.

    Have a great weekend.

    • Hi Linda!

      It’s so hard growing up and then it’s also hard being a grown up. I hope you have a wonderful weekend with your daughters.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  8. Hi Tamara ~ I love Megan’s Crusher Hat. Can’t wait to hear what was said to Amanda. If this does not get resolved quickly, I think someone ought to talk with the school Principal. I wonder if it might help if Megan asks Amanda *her* fave colors .. and you could make her a hat too (if she’d like one). Purrhaps that would help unite those 3. BTW, how old is Megan (and what Grade)?? .. I am feeling so sad for Bridget getting bullied .. yet so delighted she has her good friend Megan.

    Can’t wait to see photos of Pete’s gk’s in their new hats!!

    Have a grrrreat weekend!!!
    Love ‘n {{{Hugs}}}
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      My Megan is 10 years old and in the 4th grade. I remember when Jennifer was little the bullying started in 3rd grade. It was very hard for me not to get involved in some of the bullying back then. I think Bridgets mom and Amanda’s mom probably got it all resolved. Oh by the way I already made Amanda a hat a couple of years ago, so she’s good there. But thanks for thinking about it. 🙂

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

      • Gosh, this is so sad. Poor little kids. So young to be exposed to that. I sure hope the moms did resolve it. It sounds like Amanda has been a friend of Megan’s for awhile .. since you already made her a hat a couple yrs ago. Megan’s such a good kid. Compassion is a marvelous virtue she has.
        Love ya!
        Kat


Leave a Reply

Categories

