Posted by: tgonzales | January 30, 2013

A Funny Thing John Did, another Crusher Hat, and More Buttons

1

I couldn’t go on without telling you about a little note on the kitchen cabinet on Tuesday morning and Mrs. Stewart’s Liquid Bluing. Some of you may remember this bluing agent and others won’t even know what it is. But on Monday night John found out what bluing is capable of doing if you don’t follow the directions. Anyway the little note on the cabinet said, “Hon, I spilled my chocolate protein drink on my white shirt last night and I have it in the washing machine soaking in bleach. I hope the stain comes out.” When I went to check it out I wondered why the water was so blue and then I saw the liquid bluing sitting above the washing machine on the shelf. I thought ok he’s trying to get it extra white. I immediately thought this was a good opportunity for me to bleach a few washcloths so I threw them in with his shirt and placed some Tide in too. Then continued to set the washing machine to wash and when the items were finished washing, I took the shirt out and found……

2

that John had not followed the directions of dissolving a FEW drops of bluing in the washwater before adding his shirt. His motto is, “the more the better.” Well he found out that in this instance less is better. Now the shirt is ruined and he’s sad because now he only has 7 white shirts instead of 8. I told him that he would be ok, but his words were, “but I loved my oxford shirt.” I think this is one of those funny things that I’ll have to add to the jar of FUNNY THINGS WE DO AND SAY. But let’s not talk about what I did the same day; when I finished talking to John on my cell phone. I kept trying to push the release button on my desk office phone to end his call, when all of a sudden it finally dawned on me that I needed to push the end button on my cell phone in order to do that.  🙂 Maybe we’ll have two items to add to that Funny Things jar today?

3

Ok enough about that, now on to the crocheted crusher hat. As you can see I made another whitish hat with a gray band.

4

This time I’m not sure what I want to add to the side, maybe this really cool vintage square button? I’m not sure right now what I want to do, but when I figure it out I’ll be sure to let you know.

5

This is what happens to me when I share my projects with my co-workers. One of the men at work knows that I love to make things and he noticed that I use a lot of buttons. He kept telling me that he had inherited his Grandmother’s sewing cabinet. He said that it was filled with boxes of buttons and that he should bring some in to show me. One day last year when he had asked me to make his Granddaughter a hat he brought me a couple of boxes of buttons to give to me.

5b

I especially loved the greeting card box that still has the price tag on it marked $1. Most of the buttons are buttons that she probably cut off of blouses, coats, and shirts.

6

I really loved finding the two Monopoly pieces; the shoe and the iron. I remember when I was growing up my brother Dean always loved using the car piece and it seems like I always ended up with the iron. Funny how I still end up with the iron, but now mine plugs in.  😉 So that’s my story for the day, how about you? What’s your story?


Responses

  1. men and laundry — so often a lousy combination 🙂

    • You are so right!!! I have told him time and again not to touch the laundry and he continues to every once in a while try to help me and do a load of laundry. UGH! Thanks so much for stopping by. Hugs, Tamara

  2. Oh my goodness. I didn’t know bluing was still available.
    What a lesson, learned. In defense of husbands doing Laundry.
    Ray has done his own for many years and does a great job.
    Due to back surgery, I have been unable to go to basement laundry for several month, until recently. He doesn’t do, certain things, exactly the
    way I would have, However, I am grateful to have had clean clothes all
    these months. He still doe most of the laundry.

    I LOVE the Hats, and buttons, etc. Not sure would have recognized the little iron was a monopoly piece. Seeing them makes me want to go dig through the buttons I inherited from my mother and grandmother.

    • Hi Linda!

      I’m not sure if bluing is even sold anymore either. This bottle is from back in the seventies when I had well water and I used a few drops of it my white wash, plus the white diapers I used for my daughter. I’m sorry if I implied that all men were terrible at doing laundry. I just meant that when my husband does the laundry something always goes wrong. You are very lucky and blessed to have a husband who can do the laundry for you. Thanks for loving all the hats and what I have to talk about and thanks for stopping by to tell me so.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • I think you can still buy blueing at some of the amish stores. Last time I bought it came in little balls about the size of peas. If they don’t have it on the shelves just ask for it at the counter. Most people now days doesn’t have a clue as to what it is. I always enjoy your comments Linda. sw

      • Tamara,
        In no way did I think you were implying “all men” are terrible at laundry. Some are for sure.

        SW, Thanks for your comment.

  3. Love the hat and the buttons- heard recently that Monopoly is going to change things like the iron, etc but can’t remember what for. Re daft things- I spent a minute or two last night trying to return the phone to its cradle upside down and wondering why it didn’t fit! I blame my head cold!!

    • Hi Cathy,

      Thanks for loving my hat. I can’t imagine why they would change anything about Monopoly, but oh well that just makes the pieces that I have worth more money. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your funny happening with me. Hey I can blame mine on my head cold too. 😉

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. This must be a great month for new-old buttons. Love em, love em, love em. I have several gallon jars full of them that I get out occasionly just to look at them. I like the ones with the sail boats on them. I have to laugh when I see the bottle of blueing. It reminded me of when I was a child and we always did laundry with the wringer washer. There was always a double tub beside it and one tub had warm bubbles from the laundry being dipped in it and the other side had blue water from the blueing in it. After the laundry was all finished Jim, John, and I would get to take a bath in the tub. I always liked the tub with the blue water which would cause a fight because Jim and John liked it also. Love the crusher hat with the square button with the hat pin in it. I have a meeting at the extension office to help plan a food showdown for the 4-H kids. Have done this several years and its always fun. Have a great day. Love you.

    • Hi Sue,

      Thanks so much for stopping to tell me about childhood laundry days. It made me smile. I bet the bluing that was in your water had just a few drops that were dissolved before the clothes were added. Unlike John’s where he dumped the bluing directly onto the shirt. (about a 1/2 cups worth) I don’t think John will be doing the laundry anytime soon. His last comment to me was at least I did get the chocolate out of the shirt. Ha! Ha! It sounds like you have a fun day planned. I love hearing about what you are doing too.

      Love you too!
      Tamara

  5. I’ve never heard of the bluing stuff, so I looked it up and it sounds like a neat product. Just might have to try and find some of it. LOL I did get a giggle out of what happened though. The hat looks great and what a deal with those buttons! Lucky! Regarding the other comment about Monopoly changing the pawns…I heard they are having a contest to see what people want a few of the pawns replaced with. I guess they have changed the pawns from time to time over the years.

    • Hi Jeanne,

      I’m not sure whether they even make bluing anymore, but I’m going to look next time I’m at the store. This bottle was from the 70’s when I had well water and when I was washing my daughters white diapers. The bluing helped keep things so nice and white. Thanks so much for the explanation on the Monopoly pawns. I didn’t know they had changed them over the years, since I still have the very old version of Monopoly myself. At one time my daughter was collecting the different versions of Monopoly I guess I never paid any attention to the pawns and I never played the games with her. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  6. Morning Tamara! I love all of the buttons too. When I was little I would look through my Mom’s stash that she had cut off of shirt & coats. I like the stick pin that is holding your button – think you should leave it on there. Before I forget I wanted to tell you that I love your photos & think that you are great at photography. You make things come alive with your pictures & the stories you tell. Looking forward to our class in a couple of weeks!
    Shirley

    • Hi Shirley!

      Thanks so much for sharing you button story with me. I hope you kept some of your Mother’s buttons for yourself? I could see you using them in some your scrapbooking projects. Thank you so much for loving my photography and the stories that I tell. By the way I think our class is next week, but I’ll have to check my schedule to make sure. I’m looking forward to it too.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  7. i remember bluing so well….will have to show this post to my children as i’ve tried to explain it to them and they just don’t get it! my grandmother used it to rinse her hair, just a drop in a pitcher of water. love your buttons, especially the sailboat ones. vintage buttons are the best…..

    • Hi Diane!

      I’m so glad that someone else remembers bluing. 🙂 I never thought about using it for your hair. Funny! Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  8. HAHAHA Tamara!!!

    Yup, definitely “two funny too-funny” writings for your funny jar!!! 😀
    [What about dabbing bleach on those blue spots??]

    I had some “dark” clothes lying on the laundry room floor the other day. Frank added his light-blue shirt on top of the pile. I told him that is a “light”!! He replied that he “didn’t know”. I really think he is somewhat color-blind .. but couldn’t believe he could not *see* the difference. LOL!

    Quite funny about finding those monopoly pieces in with all those buttons too!

    Let’s see, what did I do the other day with the phone? OH!! No, it was the tv remote!! I can’t even remember exactly what I did. I just know I tried doing something with the remote that isn’t even on it but is on my cell. I know I had been texting a bit with my daughter the nite before, so I was in that ‘mode’ …. but the remote was not. Ha! .. Too many technologies, not enough brain.

    Love ‘n Hugs ~
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      I guess I could try soaking the shirt in bleach water again, but that bluing looks pretty permanent. 😦 I just loved hearing your stories about laundry and your texting remote situation. Thanks for sharing and thanks for understanding.

      Love and hugs,
      Tamara

      • Hey Tam ~ I was thinking …. Take a fat cotton ball and get some bleach on it, then dab-dab-dab that on the blue areas. It just might take the blue coloring out. Straight bleach right on it (rather than soaking in bleach/water). A little at a time, in hopes that the color will come out and the fabric won’t get ruined by too much bleach.
        Love ya!
        Kat

  9. I love that square button! So sweet to get so many more! I have a teeny tiny collection, compared to yours. All the extras that come with shirts & coats go into a little drawer for someday. 🙂

    I saw the “make crystals!” on the bluing bottle. I loved doing those as a kid. Such a fun project, but I remember it being a super cautious one where we had to wear old shirts “just in case”.

    Oh John… more is not always better, silly man. 🙂

    • Hi Amanda!

      That’s so cool that you at such a young age remember bluing. And the words on the bottle about a magic crystal garden; I never remember reading those words until you pointed them out to me. Of course you know John and how silly he is. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and remember bluing.

      Love and Miss You,
      Tammy G.


Leave a Reply

Categories

