Posted by: tgonzales | January 18, 2013

It’s Friday Again, Sickness, Another Crocheted Hat, and the Start of a New Scarf

1

I’m so glad it’s Friday; when I get sick, I always say that I must have slowed down enough for it to catch up to me. I tried to keep very busy and tried to outrun it but nothing seemed to keep me from catching the upper respiratory virus that’s going around. My fingers are crossed that the worst is over and it seems like I have been very fortunate this time it was very short-lived. I know! I can’t believe I’m actually letting you all see me with my hair undone and no makeup. All I can say is my hair dresser has her work cut out for her this next week. 🙂

2

Before I got sick I managed to complete this cute beanie hat to match the wristlets that I made earlier. I do love how they turned out and will probably give them away at the crochet guild meeting.

3

I also started this pretty scarf and I do love how it’s turning out.

4

I saw this one skein of Wisdom Yarns “Poems Socks” when I was at Twist last Saturday. I’m not sure why I do this, but I feel sorry for one skeins that are left alone; especially when they are this pretty so I snatched it up and almost immediately knew that I wanted to make the Strawberry Lace Scarf pattern that’s in the Noro Crochet book. I can’t wait to feel well enough to work on it again. My weekend is going to be very busy. Going visiting with my Mom and Sister to one of my cousins houses and then on Sunday a baby shower. Does anyone have any special plans for the weekend? I would love to hear all about them.


Responses

  1. if you’re sick, don’t you think you should NOT have a busy weekend? [shakes head]
    I also feel sorry for single balls, never occurred to me anyone else would feel the same! Hat is also gorgeous, I’m going to try and fit a bit of wristlet-making in this weekend.:)
    Take care, get better x

    • Hi Jill!

      Yes you should shake your head no and you will be happy to know that I cancelled lunch and the baby shower. I sure want to get over this crud and I want my Mom to get better too. I can’t wait to see your wristlets.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Hi Tamara,

    I’m so sorry to hear you got sick. I’m not sure your busy weekend is the best medicine for getting over your illness though! You don’t want to relapse! But you know your body best.

    Your new project is pretty, I can see why you wanted to use that yarn. It’s working up lovely.

    Take care and feel better soon!

    • Hi Jeanne!

      Thanks so much for the good advice to stay in and get well. I have decided to do just that. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. I’m sorry that I shared my crud with you a couple of weeks ago. Now you hurry up and get well and I will see you again on Monday. Love you. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      I don’t think you gave me the crud; everyone around me has had some form of the flu and I was bound to get it sooner or later. I sure do wish we could get together under better circumstances. I’m sure we will someday.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  4. At last I have found somebody else who feels sorry for one skein sitting alone in a store. It would make a lovely crocheted scarf! Get well soon!

    • Hello!

      It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who picks up those orphan skeins of yarn. I can hardly wait to finish the scarf so that I can show it off. Thanks so much for the get well wishes.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. Oh Tamara! I had a feeling you were ill ‘cuz you did not comment on readers’ comments on your last post. You gotta know I agree with everyone else about your being B*A*D to plan a busy weekend, mixing with people. NOT a good idea. Someone needs to get to your house and tie you down. [Maybe John would accommodate??? LOL]

    BTW, you are BEAUTIFUL — no kidding!! — even without any makeup.

    Loving your new, extra-purrty yarns….

    HUG & Prayers ~
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      I have taken all of your advice and decided to stay in today and tomorrow, except to go get my eyes examined today. I have been having trouble seeing and that doesn’t make for a very pleasant time reading patterns. 😉

      Thanks so much for thinking that I’m beautiful and for the get well prayers.

      Love you my Friend,
      Tamara

      • Hi Tamara!!!

        You have made a LOT of people HAPPY – by choosing to take better care of yourself by staying home (and your mom too!!). Thank you!

        Here’s hoping the eye doc will get your Rx correct for some new glasses. Had mine changed last August and I still have some probs seeing well enough close up. Pooh!!

        Much love ~ and healing blessings!!
        Kat

  6. Oh dear, sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. (But my gosh, even when you’re sick, you’re beautiful Tamara!!)… We feel so lucky here that we haven’t caught the flu that’s going around yet, but Dear Daughter DID! No fun, I hear, but she’s fully recovered and we just went to the movies together on Wednesday night, to see the last of the Twilight Saga, Breaking Dawn Part 2. Loved it!.. Today, we’re just staying inside, with the exception of taking the dog out. It is TOO COLD out there for ME!!!!! We were looking at temps in the twenties today, and it’s just going to keep on dipping throughout the night. I haven’t heard tomorrow’s weather yet, but hopefully it warms up a LITTLE bit at least, for the holiday weekend…. Love the hat and wristlets you made, and the lacy scarf you’ll be working on. Take good care of you, and feel better soon! ((big hugs))

    • Hi Tina!

      I’m so glad that you and your son haven’t been sick and I’m glad that your daughter is finally on the mend. I love hearing about what you’ve been up to and I love your blog. Try to stay warm and wrap up with one of those beautiful afghans you have made, or have you given all of them away? I seem to be feeling a little better today.

      Love and ((HUGS)),
      Tamara

  7. get to feeling better Tamara. Had that a few weeks ago took me down for a week and a half. rest rest .


Leave a Reply

Categories

