Posted by: tgonzales | January 2, 2013

Middle of the Week 2013, My Uncle Wayne Passed Away, More Hats, a Broken Pipe and a Tropical Vacation

1

When my Mom called me at work on Monday morning to break the news of my Uncle’s passing, I felt so bad for his wife, sons, daughter, grandchildren, great grandchildren, nieces, nephews and I especially felt bad for his sisters. Both my Mom and my Aunt Marthie in the last 2 years have lost sons (nephews), a husband and now a brother. My Uncle Wayne had been sick for a while and had rallied back about a month ago and then took a turn for the worse a week ago. My Mom had gotten sick right after Christmas and was unable to go down and be with her brother and his family before he passed away, I know she regretted not being there. But thanks to my sister and brother-in-law my Mom is safely in Oklahoma now where she can be with my Aunt Marthie so they can console each other as it should be. My memories of my Uncle Wayne were sweet but yet scary at the same time. I remember when I was a little girl he seemed so tall (which he was) and he had a voice that would carry for it seemed like miles. My Mom would always make us go to all our Uncles and Aunts and give them a hug hello and goodbye; so when it came time to hug my Uncle Wayne he would grab me and rub his rough old course whiskers on my cheek and leave a whisker burn every time. I also remember I loved going to his house because he had 5 boys and those 5 boys were so much fun to play with. I don’t remember spending much time in the house but oh we had fun playing outside and they all loved to make my sister and me laugh. As I became older I realized that he wasn’t as scary as I remembered him as a child, although he was still tall and had that gruff and loud voice I felt loved when I would hug him to say hello or goodbye. We will all be saying goodbye to Uncle Wayne here on earth on Saturday, January 5, 2013; may he rest in eternal peace.

2

When I’m sad I crochet and when I’m happy I crochet. Crochet is my comfort and apparently it’s my sweet addiction too. This is my 4th project from the Noro Crochet Book.

3

Here’s the top of it and

4

here is what the one in the book looks like. I’m not as pleased with mine as I would have been if I would have used 3 different colors like the pattern calls for. I know it’s hard to believe but I found 3 or 5 skeins of yarn that would make this hat so much cuter. I can hardly wait to get started on it.

5

I still had yarn left over from the bobble hat and the chevron hat so I started this hat my 5th project from the Noro Crochet book. I ended up having to use a different yarn around the edge of the hat but I think it still looks good and will look cute on the right person. (just not me)

6

This is what the hat looks like in the book. (no you need not adjust your glasses, this photo is very blurry) Ha! Ha!

7

Here’s the kind of yarn that I used for all three of the hats; it’s distributed by Universal Yarns, Jennifer bought it for me for Christmas. Little does she know I made the hats for her, I hope she likes them.

8

Then I decided that in order to keep some hats premade that I should maybe make another penguin hat. So I chose to make one that would fit a one year old and oh how I love the buttons and the sparkly pink yarn that I used. I hope to make as many hats in between the other things that I make so that hopefully I will have a good stash of hats already made when October’s Barn Sale comes around.

9

While I was upstairs ironing, then back downstairs to fix lunch, then back upstairs to finish up the penguin before the daylight left so that I could get a picture of it; John worked on replacing a pipe under the sink that had cracked. Oh the joys of everyday life here at the hacienda and yes the job done by a plumber would have taken 30 minutes but this was an all day project for my dear hubbie. I couldn’t resist taking a picture of him and his special lights to see under the sink.

10

Here he is showing me how the one on his finger works by just pointing at the area you need to see. We don’t really want to talk about how long it took us just to find those lights. 🙂

11

When John finished under the sink he came up to ask me something, he found me with my sweater and hat on with bare feet (believe it or not my feet weren’t cold) but the rest of me was. When John came back up 30 minutes later to ask me what I wanted for dinner; I was enjoying a tropical vacation (as my cousin Sue calls hot flashes) so there was no need for the sweater or the hat. Oh by the way John found the hat thrown clear across the room. I wonder who threw that hat over there. 😉 And of course I don’t want to talk about how crabby I am. I hope everyone had a wonderful New Year’s Day and would love to hear all about what you’ve been working on.


Responses

  1. Sorry for your loss and that of the family’s, from your posts I know they are close.
    Yeah, Kor is slow too like John. He is working on the kitchen, very slowly. This last picture is so sweet of you, you look like your little Megan!

    • Hi Susie!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment. I hope you are feeling better today. I saw that you and your family were sick, yuck. 😦

      Love you,
      Tamara

  2. So sorry to hear about your uncle. The older we get the more frequent our losses. Unfortunately. I don’t comment a lot but wanted to let you know how sorry I am. I too make a lot of hats. Although I have put my hook down for a little bit. Between being sick and just not being interested in it for whatever reason, I have taken a crochet break. I’m sure it will hit me with a vengeance soon. :o)

    • Hi Kathy!

      Thank you so much for your kind words and making time in your day to stop to say them. I’m sorry to hear that you are not inspired to pick back up your hooks yet. But I have no doubt that you will be inspired soon.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Tammy, your Uncle Wayne was so funny. His speech at your Dad’s funeral was priceless. I love you have all those great memories. It’s always sad to lose a family member but its always good to smile at all the good memories made with them. Peace be with your family!! (I got a couple of patches on right now so I am with you on that tropical vacation)

    • Hi Debbie!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment about my Uncle and thank you for letting me know that I’m not the only one experiencing those pesky hot flashes.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  4. Sorry to hear about your Uncle, glad you Mum could go to be with the family. Love the new hat! Sorry too about the tropical vacations! Chin up!

    • Hi Cathy!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment your words mean alot to me.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. Oh Tammy I feel the same way about Uncle Wayne. I loved him but was so frightened of him at the same time. He was one of a kind. Love the hat with the star on top and I do like it better than the one in the noro book. I think it is so cool that John does your plumbing for you even if it takes a little longer than it would a paid plumber. He does it because he loves you. I am so glad you and I can take some tropical vacations together and sounds like some of your friends can join our vacations..lol Love you girl and we will see you Saturday. Sue

    • Hi Sue!

      I think there are a lot of us cousins who were frightened of Uncle Wayne and never said anything. Glad you liked the plumbing story and the tropical vacations, I’m actually have one going on right now. See you Saturday.

      Love you too,
      Tamara

  6. So sorry for your loss Tamara. I love seeing your crochet projects and cracked up over the plumbing situation.

    Happy New Year! xo

    • Hi Pam!

      Thanks so much for your kind words and for loving the things that I do. I thought you all would love the plumber story. 🙂

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  7. Sorry to hear of your family’s loss, Tamara. Thanks for sharing all of your projects.. love to see what you are making. Pretty yarn colors for the Noro projects.

    I have been helping Lauren refurbish her new/old house.. painting kitchen cabinets. I love that you threw your hat across the room and told us of your tantrum. I have regular fits.. glad to not be alone – and mine are not tropical storms.. they are just fits!
    Much love,
    Steph

    • Hi Steph!

      Thnaks so much for loving all the things that I make and for sharing your projects with me. I bet Lauren is happy that she has her Momma to help her out with the decorating.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  8. Oh darn it, Tamara ~ I am so sorry for your family’s loss of your Uncle Wayne. What a way to end and beging a year, right? I ‘felt’ your tears by the time I got to the end of your memories of him. Long live the memories!!

    Purrsonally .. I like your first hat lots better than the one from the book. That yarn looks so soft – and warm.

    When I saw John with his special lights, I thought how kewl they are — and thought they were something *you* had for crocheting “in the dark”. We won’t tell John where they are when he cannot find them in the future. LOL

    The photo of you wearing your cute hat & cuddly sweater is … **my favorite EV-AH**!!! You just look sooo adorable & childlike. 🙂

    I admit I do not have much of the crabbiness any more. But I sure can relate to getting clothing OFF asap (whether it be a sweater – or a hat!) and being **very** crabby at those purrticular times. If Frank starts talking to me, I get nasty & tell him — loud & clear!! — to “WAIT!! DON’T TALK TO ME NOW!!” .. until I cool off (in more ways than one).

    For me, those tropical vacations come (in addition to “just becuz”) if I feel stressed (even mildly stressed) and if I eat something spicy (including too much pepperoni on my pizza). We get Papa Murphy’s pizza every few weeks. I would have “nite long” hot flashes those nites. I finally asked for “half the usual pepperoni” on mine and, thankfully, that corrected that problem. .. Have also noticed I get those nite sweats if I eat ginger cookies too late in the evening. We have some delicious ones from Costco right now. If I do not think to have them by mid or late afternoon, I will *not* have any in the evening ‘cuz I know how I would suffer extra when I tried to sleep.

    Sending you my love … and “cool” thoughts ~
    Cuddly Hugs,
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and for always being here to cheer me on.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  9. Loved today’s blog, you seem to know how to make me smile. Your hats are gorgeous. No need to even say they come from Nora book, of course that might be cause I have one too..maybe. The animal hats are my favorite though, guess I’m still a kid at heart. The penguin is so cute, just want to hugggg her.
    As for tropical vacation….YUCK!!!! I went through it early, hot cold hot cold, cover on, cover off, cover on. Was I a royal b—-? Yes, yes I was. Cry, yes. Feel sorry for myself, yes, no one else could do it right. For that matter, they couldn’t seem to do anything right, AND I had taught them so well, then they forget everything…..LOL
    Hugs,
    LindY

    • Hi Lindy!

      Thanks so much for loving my blog and what I talk about. It means so much to hear that you like it. I’m with you on the hats; I do love the animal hats but I wanted a little break from them so I decided to make some projects from the Noro book. I just love all the projects in it. Right now hats seem to be what sells and I hope that I can have a good arsenal of them in October. I’ll probably be not only called the crochet lady but the crochet hat lady. 🙂 Thanks for understanding about the tropical vacations and for sharing your story with me. Now I know I’m not alone.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  10. Tamara,
    Karen and Valorie will be glad to know that your crankyness with theme can be blamed onto your impending tropical vacations;) 🙂 🙂 or whatever. Is your Noro pattern book from Annies Crochet and Craft Catalog?

    So sorry about your uncle. Death is part of life and even though it’s sad I’m grateful for the assurance that I will be with those I loved again some day.
    Love ya,
    Kaye

    • Hi Kaye!

      Yes they can attribute my crankiness to my tropical vacations. 🙂 Sorry I didn’t know it was so noticeable.

      About the Crochet Noro book; I purchased mine from Amazon.com. I think Shelly is thinking about carrying it in her store.

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Love you too,
      Tamara

  11. Tropical vacations…oh, Tamara, me too, honey! Me, too! At least we can step outside in the January cold for a brief break these days.

    • Hi Cathy!

      Yes, definetly step outside and get cooled off. I told my dear hubbie that I felt like walking out into the snow barefooted the other day and he said go ahead. He usually says “Oh no you can’t do that”. I must’ve been a little cranky, huh? 🙂 I’m sorry that you are having to deal with hot flashes too, but I’m glad we can take some tropical vacations together though. 😉

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  12. So sorry to hear about your families loss. I know the memories are worth a lot to you all. Memories of my parents and grandparents come back to me at unexpected moments.

    Never had the “opportunity” to take any mini tropical vacations. Can’t say I mind after what I hear from those who have.

    When I was younger ( 10 or 15 years ago) I would bundle up on top, with coats, scarf and hat, and wear shorts, and only Burkenstocks on my feet,
    to take the compost out to the “back forty” (that’s way out back) or other
    out door chores. My husband took a picture of me in the driveway shoveling show, to prove it.

    These days the cold bothers me much more then it did then, and I can’t shovel snow any more. Wish I could say I was still able. It was so invigorating. I Loved shoveling show.

    Linda


Leave a Reply

Categories

