Posted by: tgonzales | December 31, 2012

December 29-30, 2012 Weekend, a Few More Hats, 2 More Projects Completed from the Crochet Noro Book, and Man it’s Hard Being a Middle-Aged Woman

1

My weekend started off with completing an owl hat for a one year old

2

and then I couldn’t resist making a newborn one too. I placed the scissors next to it to show you how small the hat really is. Can I get an AWWWWWW????? One of my co-workers’ wife just had a baby and I think this hat might just have to be given to her.

3

I also made another penguin hat and loved the way the purple bow and pompoms came out, but my camera doesn’t show how pretty the purple actually is. I hope the recipient loves it as much as I loved making it.

4

I’m so excited; I completed my ponchlet and love the way it turned out. I wish you could actually see it in person because the colors are so much more vibrant than what this photo shows. This was my third completed project from the Crochet Noro book.

5

On Saturday evening I started this bobble hat from the Crochet Noro book and finished it up on Sunday morning. I can’t believe how easy this hat pattern was. Linda Permann is the designer and I love how the bobble stitch consists of a single crochet, one triple, and a single crochet; that’s all there is to it. As I crocheted the triple and before I made my next single crochet I used my right ring finger to push the triple out to make it stick out like a bobble. I think that there will be more of these bobble hats to come off of my hooks in the very near future. 🙂 Oh by the way if you were wondering if I was practicing voodoo on that head mannequin I’m not. I was using the pins and the mannequin to block the band since it had a mind of its own and wanted to roll up. 😉 I can’t wait to show you all the fifth project that I started, maybe I’ll have it complete for the next post?

6

On Sunday we had breakfast with my sister-in-law and brother-in-law and then I remembered that Hancock Fabrics was having a sale of 40% off of all their buttons, so I headed over there to stock-up on them for eyes for my hats. The sale runs through New Year’s Day so you still have time to get your own. Although don’t count on finding any 7/8” black ones because I believe I may have purchased all they had. Just kidding. 😉

7

Ok, I’ve been thinking about this for a while now and I thought it might be fun to bring it up. I don’t know about you but someone forgot to mention how hard it is when you turn middle-age and the changes that your body and mind go through. I remember when my Mom turned middle-age and how her doctor would give her hormone shots and how Jackie and I knew exactly when she needed to go back to get another one. She would get very irritable (granted we were teenagers at the time and who wouldn’t have gotten irritable) and blew up at the smallest little things. Well, I know exactly how she felt, NOW, although I don’t blow up at the smallest things (but you may want to ask my husband about that one). 🙂 Anyway, remember me telling you about how cold I have been getting with the change in the weather here? The other day I told my dear hubbie that I was very thankful for the hot flashes that I’m experiencing so no need for all those blankets indeed. 🙂 I just keep going from one extreme to the other hot, cold, hot, cold, hot, cold, on and on. Oh by the way before I forget: HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!


Responses

  1. Tamara,

    Happy New Year!

    I love all of your projects you made this weekend especially the bobble hat. There is a new pattern on Ravelry called the Spike Stitch Cowl that uses the exact same stitch. Love the texture!

    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-spike-stitch-cowl

    Your ponchet is lovely. The noro colors are just beautiful and have such a nice transition from one color to the next.

    Want to know what my New Year’s Resolution is? I am trying to get my stash organized. I started pulling out all of my yarn and sort it by fiber type and brand. Needless to say, after several hours, I am not even half way there….but it is a start. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing all of your wonderful projects and comments with us.

    Hang in there with the temperature changes….. it will only last for a few years and then taper away….:)

    Best to you and your family!

    • Hi Merri!

      Thank you so much for stopping by to read my blog posts and for your encouraging words. Also thank you for the link to the spike stitch cowl. Oh by the way the poncho wasn’t made with Noro yarn; it was made with Mille Colori or something like that? I can’t remember the name of it but it’s made by Lang Yarn.

      All my best to you and your family for a Very Happy New Year and prosperous one too.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Tamara – I too love all of the projects. Makes me want to learn how to change colors & increase/decrease stitches even more! Looking forward to our class. I am right behind (or probably ahead) of you on the middle age changes. What a fun time – huh? The emotional rollercoaster can be as bad as those teenage years. I’m just GLAD I don’t have a teenager in my home during this ‘special’ period of my life. Hang in there, they tell me it gets better 🙂

    • Hi Shirley,

      I’m so glad that you love all the things that I do. I can’t wait to see you again and teach you how to do some of things that you’ve been wanting to learn. I’m with you about the teenager thing too, it’s bad enough being there with myself. 🙂

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Happy New Years Tammy. I just love the bobble hat and the colors in it are great. I still envy your talent. Can’t believe you went out to buy buttons. I have tons of buttons that I need to sort out and give you several hundred (or is it thousands). Maybe you need to just come to Oklahoma and get your own. I understand the hormone thing very much. I just calll them tropical vacations and who couldn’t use a couple of them a day. Love you much girl. sue

    • Hi Sue,

      Yes, I will have to come down and help you rid yourself of some of those several hundreds of buttons. Thanks so much for always being here to encourage me on with all my projects. I really loved the tropical vacation saying. I’ll have to use it.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  4. Kor was looking over my shoulder this morning and exclaimed, “That is Tammy and John”, so he got to enjoy your blog too. Did the poncho take two of the Millie skeins?

    • Hi Susie,

      Thanks so much for sharing my blogpost with Korey. I bet he got a laugh out of it. 😉

      In answer to your question about the Mille skeins. I had to break into the third skein and ended up using maybe about 40 or 50 yards of it. Oh well I went ahead and bought the last skein she had and I’ll make something out of both of them.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. I gasped so loudly when the photo of you in the ponchlet scrolled up that it woke up a snoozing Rob in the bedroom next door! It is magnificent. Fit for a queen. The queen of crochet. YOU.
    Wishing you and John a very happy new year, and all good luck and happiness and health for 2013 and beyond.
    xxx

    • Thanks so much Jill for loving the ponchlet. I just wish you could see it in person. I placed beads in the centers of some of the rows where there was a big enough hole. (the point of the pineapples) I’ve worn it two days in a row and was about to put it on this morning to wear to work but decided not to. I wouldn’t even mind making another one, I would highly recommend to anyone to buy the book. Lots of good designers and well written. Jill thank you so much for always being here to encourage me on in everything that I share with you. I hope you have a wonderful year and a prosperous one too.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  6. Tamara,
    I love the ponchlet, I may have to buy the book just to have the pattern. Also love the hat. I have been looking through some of our donated books and there was an afghan pattern with the same stitch. I thought it read too easy to be true. Maybe we could get permission to use the pattern for one of our charity hats???. I”m glad our lives have slowed down to an easier pace now, how about you? I have to admit though that when Christmas was over i justed stopped, period. Today is the day I rev my engine and get started again. Happy New Year and Hooking.
    Love,
    Kaye

    • Hi Kaye,

      Thank you so much for loving the ponchlet and hat. The yarns are what make them look so good.

      I’m so glad that you have had a chance to slow down and relax because I know you are getting ready to go full force again real soon.

      Thanks so much for being here to encourage me along my adventure in blogging and for being in my life.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  7. Hey Tamara ~ I just love, especially, that first owl hat. Great colors!! I hope that 1-yo does not grow out of it too fast. (yah, right)

    Ooo … such a lovely ponchlet you crocheted. It is so YOU.

    Voo-doo on your mannequin head. hahaha — you are too funny. Glad you had such fun making bobble stitches.

    Soooo many buttons. I can’t wait to see the ones on the ‘JHB’ card put on an owl hat. I think it will look like the eyes are looking to the side. Cute!

    LOVE this photo of you & John-Boy!! Very colorful too. 🙂

    Hot flashes are the pits! I would sooo love to cozy-up into my comfy flannel sheets and not worry about having to toss off my afghan *many* times during the nite, only to soon put it right back on. I want an even temperature. boo-hoo. Before I had them, I thought they’d be “for a time”. Well, I guess mine are “for the rest of my time” (on earth). I was shocked to hear that even 80-yo’s still have them. Waaaa….
    I am very grateful, tho, for my neck coolers. http://www.kuhle.com — or — http://aquamonster.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=30_33 …. I, of course, have the ‘kittens’ neck coolers ~ two of them. One I keep on my headboard and the other on my coffee table. They are used often and I would be a lot worse off without them.

    Thanks for blogging so beautifully, Tamara!
    Love ‘n Hugs ~
    Kat

    • Happy New Years Eve Kat!

      I always love reading your comments; they make me smile! I’m glad that you like my projects and the picture of me and John. Very soon he will wish that he didn’t say that I never want my picture taken with him; because I’m going to make him take them every time I think about it. 🙂

      About the hot flashes I thought I might not be the only one with them and wondered how other people coped with them. Thanks for your advice on the neck coolers; because most of the time the fire starts around the neck area and just radiates out from there. I’m suprised that I haven’t burned up my hair as it feels like my head is on fire some times. I had no idea that aging was so much fun, NOT! Anyway, thanks so much for being here to encourage me to continue my writing about meaningful and meaningless things. 🙂

      Love you My Friend,
      Tamara

      • Happy New Year’s Eve yerself!

        That’s so funny .. about the future pics you will be sure to have taken of you AND John. Bwwwahaaaa!!

        Yah, it sure *does* feel like your body is on fire when a hot flash (power surge) occurs. Unbelievably H-O-T!!! Well, sooo …. we are HOT MAMAS, right? Bwaaaahaaa!!!! And oh – the sweat. Yuk – I hate sweating.

        From one hot mama to another ~
        Kat

  8. I hope you’ll wear that Ponchlet to Crochet Guild, sometime, so we can get a closer look at it.

    • I will make sure I wear it to the next meeting. Looking forward to seeing all my crochet friends again. Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

