Posted by: tgonzales | December 28, 2012

Christmas 2012, a Few More Projects Completed, and Baby It’s Cold Outside

Hello Friday! I bet you thought I dropped off the face of the earth, right? It just so happens that I didn’t have the energy to write about Christmas on Christmas evening after everyone left my house.

1

I feel so blessed that we were able to Skype with Joshua while

2

Megan unwrapped her gifts and that my

3

Mom could be here again to talk with Joshua and spend another Christmas with us. I was very happy that

4

Jackie made it in time to say hello to Joshua and she was able to spend the rest of the afternoon with us. By the way that is one of the projects that I started on Sunday and finished on Monday morning. It was one of the projects from the new Crochet Noro book that I got. It’s actually triangle grannies sewn together to make a cowl. I love the way it looks on Jackie and am glad that she liked it too.

5

My sister-in-law and brother-in-law Andrea and Pat stopped by for their yearly Christmas visit. It’s always nice to see them and I especially love to watch them enjoy eating the food that I prepare for Christmas every year.

6

This year I made a (brined) roasted turkey, dressing, sweet potatoes, gravy, black-eyed peas, and green beans. Everyone just raved about the food and how tender the turkey was (even the white meat).

7

I thought we had better have another 4 generation photo again this year.

8

Here’s last year’s generation photo, I can’t believe how much Megan has grown in a year and look, she has almost grown into those glasses. 😉

9

Anyway I had a wonderful Christmas day and it was back to work the next day for me. I finished up another sock monkey hat before going to work

10

and I started another project from the Crochet Noro book. It’s a poncho but not like the ponchos that I wore in the 70’s but more of a capelet type poncho or ponchlet as I like to call it. 🙂 I love the yarn that I’m using. The yarn is from Lang Yarns and is called Mille Colori (socks & lace). It’s a superwash wool and nylon blend and I just love the softness and the colors of it. I added some beads to several rows and I do love how the weight of the beads make the ponchlet hang a little bit nicer.

11

John says that I never want to have my picture taken with him so I sat with him to have our picture taken. I almost forgot to mention that the temperatures finally feel more like December here. All I feel like doing when I get home from work is put on my comfy warm clothes and crawl under the heavy down-like comforter and stay there all evening and night. I’m not sure why I feel so cold and tired? Anyway the temperature was 34 degrees and the windchill factor was 24 degrees when I got home from work today. I hope you all have a great weekend and hope you stay warm or cool depending on which part of the world you are from.


Responses

  1. merry xmas tamara.. may God bless you & family.. nice posting..

    • Hi Tinsyam!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and for liking my posts.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. I loved looking at your family pictures of your Christmas. Josh looks like he is doing well and little Meganis always so cute. Christmas at our house was wonderful this year. Our children decided to celebrate on Friday night. We ate out (no cooking for me) for my birthday and then came to our house for our Christmas together.. It was so laid back and fun to be with all the kids and grandkids. That freed us up to be with Jerald Mom on Christmas eve and also got us back home in time to go to our church. That was the first time we have ever gone to our church on Christmas eve (we’ve always gone with Jeralds Mom) . I hope this is our new tradition..Have a good week girl. Love you. sue

    • Thanks Sue for looking at the photos and for stopping by to share your Christmas with me. It sounds like you had a good Christmas spent with family. You can’t get any better than that, right?

      Love you,
      Tamara

  3. Looks like you had so much family fun.love the 4 generations photo-my parents are keen on those 🙂

    • Hi!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and for loving the photos.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. What a great post. I loved looking at your pictures of your family – I’m glad you had a wonderful day!

    • Thanks so much Cris!

      I’m very glad that you loved looking through the photos. It was a good day indeed.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. Hi Tamara! ~ So glad Joshua got to join in your Christmas fun & love! I love all the pics with YOU in them. Great 4-generation photo again this year. And John was right to get a pic taken of you lovebirds together. 🙂

    The cowl does look very lovely on Jackie. Those colors are super!

    Oh — and it is nice to see your lovely ‘new’ kitchen!
    Have a terrific WEEK-END!!
    Much Love ~
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      It was good to have Joshua join us for our Christmas tradition. I know he would have rather been here with us, but he understands that we don’t have the money to fly him to and from NY plus pay for his expenses while he’s away from work. And thank you for loving the photos. I always say that photos are my way of preserving a memory. My Mom doesn’t seem to understand that and gets upset, since I want to take a picture of her everytime I see her. I want to capture every moment that I have left with her and she just doesn’t get it. 😉 Anyway, thanks so much for stopping by to comment and for loving what I do.

      Love you my friend,
      Tamara

      • Golly, I am really surprised your mom does not understand your *need* to keep getting photos of her .. even more so at this time of her life. Glad she at least is obliging. 🙂 Keep on snappin’ those memories, girlfriend.

        HUG!!
        Kat

  6. I LOVE YOUR PICTURES AND YOUR POST ON WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND CREATING AND PICTURES OF YOUR MOM.
    MUCH LOVE SIS

    • Thanks Sis! I love you too!

  7. They are beautiful pictures, Tamara! Especially YOU! Those colors are great on you – but what colors aren’t!? The 4 generations were good to see together – I could hardly tell any difference. That’s good!

    We had a rather quiet Christmas this year since 3 of our children were not here. They just come every other year so we went to our youngest daughter’s for dinner. They had a couple of their friends and his sister from Dallas, so it was a nice group to visit with and play games with. I’m enjoying the down time to get some corners cleaned out and crocheting some things I’ve wanted to do but put off. I got the cat and mouse pillows made and sent and they were received with thanks! They were fun. Looking forward to learning some new stitches this year in the Guild. Love, Sue

    • Thanks Sue for stopping by to comment. I loved hearing about your Christmas too. 🙂

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  8. You four girls are sho’ lookin’ mighty fine!!!!!!! (Sorry, just watched “O Brother Where are thou?” the other day). Your christmas celebrations look wonderful, I’m so glad you enjoyed it all. And love Joshua’s poncho. Or should I say, ponchlet?
    xxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

