Posted by: tgonzales | December 7, 2012

Just Another Friday, More Hats, and a Fashion Show Gig

1

Alright it’s another Friday and I still have hat orders to fill, I have a feeling that I will probably be crocheting hats up to the day before Christmas. Here’s a black and neon fuschia hat that I made for one of my hairdressers daughters. I am also making Hello Kitty hats for her other daughters too. I actually have one of them done but haven’t taken a picture of it yet.

2

Here’s a sock monkey hat that I made for one of my co-workers; Michelle. Michelle is going to give it to her friend who has a baby girl about 6 months old.

3

Michelle also ordered a pink owl hat for her niece.

4

Now about the fashion show; I have to start from the beginning. Wednesday evening I received a text from a phone number that I didn’t recognize. The person on the other end asked if I would like to be in a fashion show. I texted back and said “Me? And who is this anyway? :)” The person on the other end texted back and said “it’s me Ms. Aimee from Junk in the Trunk!” I said “Ok, ok. I thought someone was playing a joke on me.”

5

Then I got to thinking, as early as I can remember I always wanted to be in a fashion show but never thought I looked good enough to be in one.

6

Maybe if I was modeling with my junk

7

or with yarn it might be easy. But apparently Ms. Aimee thinks I would do a good job, plus she probably needed a middle aged over 50 lady who looks like me to be in her fashion show, so I will oblige her. After work on Thursday I went to Junk in the Trunk and got to pick out a dress for the dress up portion of the show and I found a pair of dark jeans with a really cool top that has some turquoise and black and white zebra stripes throughout it for the casual part. I loved them so much I will be purchasing the casual clothes and maybe the dress after the fashion show. I’m hoping that I can talk my dear husband to going along with me so that he can take pictures while I’m walking the runway.  🙂  I’ll make sure I share them with you if he does. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend! Take care and happy crafting.


Responses

  1. If I know John (and if I don’t, who does?!), he’ll be at the fashion show with bells on and a video camera, let alone a normal camera.
    Can/t wait to see you in it 🙂

    • Hi Jill!

      You are so right about John. When I told him about me being in the fashion show he asked if I thought he would be welcome there even before I told him that I wanted him there to take pictures. 🙂 He’s so sweet and wants to be with me no matter where I am. Now the only thing stopping him is a broken down vehicle problem we are having. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. I just love all your owl and monkey hats. I do hope you are still keeping track of how many you made. Love the idea of you doing some modeling. I was asked a few times and I always oblige because it is so much fun and it helps me feel good about my self, plus I get a good discount on anything I want to buy. Its a win win situation. Love you girl and have fun modeling. The next thing you know Federicks of Hollywood will be calling you.

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks so much for loving all my hats and yes I am still keeping track of all of them. I think the count is up to 70 some now. But I’m too busy to stop and actually count all of the filled orders.

      Now about Frederick’s of Hollywood; well there’s not enough room for me on the runway or until they can airbrush actual bodies I won’t be joining them any time soon. 🙂

      Love ya!
      Tamara

  3. How exciting!!! Have a great time modeling! Can’t wait to see the pictures. You are a beautiful lady!

    • Thanks Cathy! I’ll make sure I post some pictures. Hugs, Tamara

  4. I think you will be a wonderful model, Tamra. How much fun!
    Can’t wait to see your outfits. I put together a fashion show for teachers one spring at Botanica (back when I had my shop). I asked customers that I liked spending time with, that liked clothing, had a good sense of humor – and ones that could “improv” if I screwed up! This gal knew what she was doing when she asked you! I am sure she appreciates that you are willing to do it – it’s time and energy not everybody is willing to give! I think you will be a great model!!
    Can’t wait to hear about it.
    Steph

    • Hi Steph!

      The modeling gig went off well and I helped the owner out with a few tasks while waiting for the show to begin. (since I was the first one to arrive) John said I did well; I’m not sure though. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. I think you will be great as a model. Your kind, fun pwersonality bubbles out of you for people to enjoy and they’ll love seeing more than thin, boney models. You are the role model for all us, over 50, content (my word for people who carry a few extra pounds, me included), grandmommy type women.We love you!!
    Kaye

    • Hi Kaye!

      I know exactly what you mean about the boney young people. The best part of this fashion show was that none of the models were skinny and it was for plus size young ladies and women. I just happened to be one of the oldest ones modeling. I think Ms. Aimee needed a Funky, funloving, 55 year old to model. 🙂

      Love you too!
      Tamara

  6. Oh Tamara! I love the owl hat with the black sparkly yarn (which goes great with the neon fuschia!) – and those silver buttons sure go great with those black sparkles. 🙂

    Woo-eeeeee…… Sure wish I could be there to see you modeling. You will be GREAT! Oh, I do hope you guys also have a video camera. (Fantastic idea, Jill!!) John could put it on YouTube and you could put the link right here. At least I know we will be seeing some still photos. Gee, does John want to model also? 😉

    BTW, when will the modeling take place?

    HEY!! Have a SUPERB WEEKEND, girlfriend!!
    Love ya much ~
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      Thanks so much for loving the black sparkly owl hat. I do love it too with the neon fuschia color. I hope the young lady that is going to receive it likes it too.

      The fashion show went off as planned tonight around 6:00 pm central standard time. With someone from some form of media as there taking still photos, plus the paparazzi (John). 🙂 I’ll make sure I share a few with all of you.

      I hope you have a great weekend too.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  7. Hi Tamara! Yup, you definitely fit in the “funky & fun-loving” category! Also … definitely young *at heart* always, right? 🙂
    Oh boy — even the media was there. Kewl!!!

    Love ‘n Hugs!
    Kat


Leave a Reply

Categories

