Posted by: tgonzales | December 2, 2012

A Big Thank You!!!!

I know, right? I usually don’t write a post on Sunday but when I started writing my weekend blog it became too long so I thought I would split it up. First of all I wanted to thank all of you who commented on my Friday post. I enjoyed each and every comment. I then want to share with the rest of the world your ideas of how you cope with your pain and some suggestions on how I can deal with mine. Even though I usually reply back to almost every comment I felt bad that I only commented on Cathy’s. Anyway, I always appreciate anyone who takes the time out of their busy day to join me for my ramblings and the icing on the cake is the comments. They make me smile and sometimes they make me smile and cry at the same time. It’s so nice to know that you all “GET ME” and I especially like knowing that you all are in some way just like me. I hope you enjoy the comments as much as I did, so here goes:

  1. Ohh Yes! Pain! I change craft! My right arm gets pins and needles (actually repetitive strain injury, but pins and needles sort of describes it) when I knit too long, so then I crochet till my left arm hurts. Then I cross stitch till my eyes shout Nay! Etc Etc! Oh and when I used my laptop on my lap to blog, my knee got really painful. Apparently you should not use your laptop on your lap! Take care and carry on crocheting. Lovely hats as ever Tamara. Maybe you should hire some homeworkers to do them for you! I now have the yarn for my first owl hat! Cathy X

Hi Cathy!

2. Thank you for sharing your pain with me! I’m not glad that you have pain but I’m glad that Jeanne and I are not alone in our pain. By the way I had the same problem when I used my laptop on my lap. Thank you so much for loving my hats, I can’t wait to see your first owl hat and see if you get hooked on them too.  Have a super weekend. Hugs, Tamara

3. This doesn’t sound right to me – knitting and crocheting and cross stitch are supposed to be for enjoyment and pleasure, not PAIN. When I worked long hours at a pc, I tried to do some brief neck exercises every 20 to 30 mins, maybe you need to try something similar. ALso for your hands. And then of course the occasional massage will help your arms and shoulders a lot.  By: Nice piece of work on November 30, 2012 at 5:16 am

4. I understand your need to get “it” all done and I understand your pain. I have found a good chiropractor that does great things for my back and she always recommends a good massage therapist. Ahhhhhhh, I feel better just thinking about it. Currently my biggest pain right now is my shoulder. I have torn my rotator cupp in two places. It has restricted me in many ways. Surgery may be in my future. I would like to at least wait until after Christmas. Have a great weekend cuz. By: jerald/suewyss on November 30, 2012 at 7:57 am

5. I’ve worried about what I would do if my hands started showing signs of arthritis, and if that would prevent me from crocheting… Not because I’m that much of a worry-wart in general, really, but I guess because I just love crocheting so MUCH! I turn the big 5-0 VERY SOON, and so far, knock on wood, I still don’t fee pain; but occasionally, if I’ve been crocheting a particularly lonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnng time, I might feel some numbness in my hands. When that happens, I just stop, have some tea or a snack, and not long after that, I feel o.k. to start crocheting again… Have a great weekend Tamara, and love right back at’cha! By: tina on November 30, 2012 at 7:59 am

6. We all do this in some form or another. We shop to distraction, sew to distraction, eat to distraction, gossip to distraction, re-decorate…. It’s an OCD thing. It just comes out differently for people.. and in different degrees of OCD. Then when we can’t do “our thing”.. we want to sleep! Normal doesn’t exist. Humans are just amazing in how we deal with life.

Creative coping is what makes Hobby Lobby profitable. I love how honest you are about things, Tamara. You are a treasure. When you say things like this.. it makes me feel like someone really gets me. I will work on every project in the way you crochet. And then collapse until my body lets me get back up.

Be thankful you don’t love something that is crazier than yarn. You could be collecting cats instead……????

“Smelly cat, smelly cat – what are they feeding you?”

Much love, Steph

7. Tamara, I knew you had some discomfort but did not know you had SO much pain. Call me and I’ll come give you a hand massage with the gel the doctor gave to me for arthritis. It helps right away. My hubby had a heart cath yesterday and then had to stay all night at the hospital. I crocheted for about 12 hours and yes, my back was killing me but I think if I had been home in MY chair I would have felt better. My sock monkey hat is ready for the ears mouth and eyes. I had to take the ears off, they just hung. Again, love your blog, love you! Kaye

8. Dear, dear Tamara, Pain is the pits, that’s fur sure. Please allow me (you have no choice once this is here, right? LOL) to speak to Sue & Kaye….

Sue, my hubby’s 55-yo sister is having her right shoulder rotator cuff repaired next Wed. [We just learned this yesterday!] She will be wearing one of those tough, black slings for 6 wks – and then have physical therapy for 4 or 5 months. That is what is in your future, I’m sorry to say. But it needs to be done ‘cuz it will only get worse the longer you wait.

Kaye, please tell me what gel your doctor gave you for arthritis.

Back to you, dear Tamara…. Yup, I too live with pain, tho it is *nothing* compared to how much you suffer with it. I have constant pain from arthritis in my lower back, knees, 4 fingers… Sometimes my right elbow & right shoulder hurt, but changing positions helps those. When my fingers get tingly from crocheting too long, I stop and shake them (at the wrist) really good and that starts to alleviate it. Once better, I can crochet again. And I started getting cortisone injection in my knee every 3-4 months. So far, it helps tremendously for about 2 months!

I do *not* crochet as HARD (long!) as you do. I do not know how much stress (besides all that pain) you have in your life that causes you to crochet so hard & long. I do wish you would learn to ease up before the pain gets so unbearable, my sweet friend. You know you are in my prayers. Work with me on this, will ya?

Love you LOTS!! Big, gentle hug sent from my heart to yours ~Kat

9. Tamara, I feel your PAIN. (Sorry!) When crocheting for too long, my hands go numb and tingle – carpal tunnel syndrome. And my shoulder will get very stiff. Sometimes my neck too. So you are not alone. By: Debbie on November 30, 2012 at 6:18 pm

10. Hi Tamara,

Like you, I have an insatiable desire to crochet and create. There just aren’t enough hours in the day! I think that is what drives us to our craft (disregarding the physical pain we sometimes feel) is seeing the response on the faces of those whom we gift our items to. It provides our brains with a pleasurable stimulation that makes us want to repeat it over and over. It is like a “high” without the aid of drugs, so to speak.

For me, however, I have to really be careful about crocheting more than I should. Using my hands to accompany choirs on the piano is part of my job, so there is always that concern. When I get those little hints of pain, I know I MUST stop, because I don’t want to be in a position of not being able to do my job, or lose the ability to create all of those neat little projects that my head is exploding to get out in fiber!

Think of another craft or hobby that you could work on that doesn’t involve using your hands so much and perhaps make that a part of your morning routine for a little while to try and reduce the amount of time you have a hook in your hand. Maybe eventually you will be able to find a better balance for crafting and less pain as a result. Merri

1

Another Thank You goes out to my dear hubby who left this on the kitchen cabinet Friday morning. He knew I was having trouble with my shoulder so he took down my bowl that I use for my cereal every morning so that I didn’t have to reach so high. This made me laugh out loud. I hope each of you have someone special that helps you when you are hurting or in pain. Now let’s see about that massage…….. 🙂


Responses

  1. Oh gosh, Tamara! John has brought tears to my eyes. Such thoughtfulness! Such kindness! Such LOVE!!! I am so proud of him for getting down your cereal bowl. Give him a pat on the back for me, will ya? Maybe give him 5 pats … for … P-R-O-U-D !!! 🙂

    Has your pain eased at all?
    You are gentle on my mind…
    and strong in my prayers.
    Love you ~
    Kat

    • AWWW! You’re so sweet. I’ll be sure and let John know. Love, Tamara

  2. Sweet man. I hope you tried to slow down a bit this weekend, I really do. To try and minimise some of the stress and anxiety I’ve been feeling lately, I’ve cut down on some of my commitments, and it’s really helped. I’m using the word No more often. Hope you have a good week, my far-away friend, xxx

    • Hi Jill!

      Yes I did try to slow down a bit and I think it has helped. I’m so glad to hear you have done the same.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. You are so sweet. I hope you don’t feel pressure from me to get those hats done, because your health is more important!!! Take care!

    • Hi Cathy,

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment and for worrying about me. I have tried to take it easy the last few days and slow down a bit. I know that the hats will get done and I appreciate every order that I receive.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Oh bless him for reaching down your bowl. Such thoughtfulness- how about a kitchen refit now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Hi Cathy!

      Yes, I think you are right. I need to rearrange some of the things that I use all the time. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. Wonderful blog. I can relate to pain too, and I can’t imagine my life without crochet. My pain is wrists & my left thumb, Dr says tendonitis. The best thing I’ve found for pain is; a BIG hug and catching up with friends on-line. So I will end my comment with a BIG hug for all of y’all.
    Hugs,
    LindY

    • Hi LIndy!

      I’m very sorry that you have pain too but it’s nice to know that we can talk about it and I think that helps too. Here’s a BIG (((HUG))) back at you.

      Tamara

  6. My arthritis docyor prescribed Volteran Gel. It’s an antiinflamatory as well as being analgesic. It works!
    Kaye

    • Thanks, Kaye!
      HUG ~
      Kat


Leave a Reply

Categories

