Posted by: tgonzales | November 19, 2012

November 17-18, 2012 Weekend, Time Spent with my Megan, a Two Year Old Birthday, and More Hats

My weekend started off with picking my Megan up around 7:00 am Saturday morning. My daughter was going to be spending the day at a craft show selling her crocheted items and knew Megan would get bored with that whole thing. So John and I took Megan to breakfast at our friendly neighborhood restaurant, where she dined on a Belgian waffle and an egg. It was so much fun sitting and listening to Megan talk without anyone interrupting her. Saturday morning she wanted to talk about bats and all that she had learned about them. I’ll have to tell you I learned some pretty weird things about bats that I never knew about. For instance Asian bats are dying from a disease that they contract from inside the caves they live in and scientists are trying to keep the bats from dying. She also informed us that the Asian bats have a wingspan of 5,000 feet. I think she added a few too many zeros to that number but what do I know I have never been that interested in bats. Megan thinks they’re cute.

Then we went back to my house and upon arriving Megan decided to change into her dressup dress and put on Christmas music to play and dance. She loves Christmas music and she loved showing me her jazz moves.

Then it was time to leave to pick up my Mom to go to my great-nephew’s (Rylan) birthday party who turned two. I made him this cute little owl hat and we also stopped off at Dollar General so Megan could pick out something to give to him from her.

She decided on a couple of balls, which one of them when hit on the ground lit up and squishy worm like thing that did the same thing.  (here he is opening her gift)

Here’s Rylan in his owl hat; he received the little motorized tractor and trailer for his birthday and I can tell you one thing, this little two year old can drive better than some grownups I know.

We also stopped at Jason and Kelley’s (my nephew and niece) house and Megan had such a good time jumping on their trampoline,

swinging on their tire swing,

and just playing, with her Gran Gran’s full attention. I think I need to do this very thing a little more often and as in Megan’s words to me “this is the best day ever”. Oh by the way Megan has now taken over the sock monkey hat that I had made for another great-nephew in Connecticut. A few more of those will be flying off my hooks real soon for a special order from a friend and replacing the one for my great-nephew Matteo.

Here we go with the hats that I made from Friday until Sunday. This is a slouchy hat that I made for my friend Lisa to give to her daughter-in-law for Christmas. One of my co-workers was kind enough to model it for me.

Here’s another slouchy hat that I made too but I added a little fabric loop and a vintage button for just that added touch of embellishment.

Here’s another owl hat made in K-State colors for Carla’s granddaughter who gets up very early to go to practice with the marching band at K-State.

Lastly here’s a little pink number that was made for one of my Crochet students who commissioned me to make her two year old granddaughter an owl hat. The only thing left to do is to add a flower and it will be completed.

I had a wonderful weekend spending time with my Megan, my Mom, and a few of my family members. I’m looking forward to the upcoming week; can I say 3 day work week, yeah????!!!! Lots of things going on this week; our monthly KS My Stitch guild meeting today, Tuesday evening first session of my crocheted hat class and of course Thanksgiving with the family, just a small gathering of about 50 people. 😉 So how was your weekend and what’s your plans for the week?


Responses

  1. we’re going to be thinking of you as the Hat Lady one of these day. Love the slouchy!!!!!!! Goes with my mindset right now … heh

    • You know I’m known by all my great-nieces and nephews by reminding them that I was the one that made them a hat. And then when I tell them that; they go oh yeah I remember you now. So yes I’m the hat lady. I guess it’s better than some names I could be called. HAHAHAHAHAHA! Thanks for stopping by to comment. Hugs, Tamara

  2. Megan is certainly growing up fast. What a cutie. LOve all the hats-your head must always be spinning to come up with all these ideas. Have a great Thanksgiving. sw

    • Yes, Megan is growing up way too fast. As you well know with your own grandkids they just grow up way too fast. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving too. Love you, Tamara

  3. Hi Tamara ~ Oh, that silly Megan … cute pic of her with you at the restaurant. You did not know about her ‘pose’ until you saw the pic, eh? I just *love* the photo of her swinging. So neat that you don’t have to just *tell* Jennifer what you & Megan did…. You can *show* it to her in pictures! I agree that it is a good idea for you to have FUN time alone with Megan like that more often. .. Good thing she’s keeping that sock-monkey hat since she had such giggles while wearing it. (giggle) 😀

    Wowie! What a blast for Rylan –> his motorized tractor w/trailer. I know what you mean about his driving better than some grown-ups!

    Woo-hoo! A 3-day work week for you!! (one of which has already passed) And then a **4-day weekend**!!!!! As usual, it will be a FULL-filling one for you. Where will this “small gathering of about 50 people” occur? At your place … or your Mom’s??

    We will be having either a quiet Thanksgiving here, with just Frank & me ‘n Emma. Or else it will be a loud one here if daughter Cynthia & her boyfriend come over. (They have not yet decided.)

    Is the sun shining at your place — well, was it when it was daylight? We are having a constant rain today .. with some wind. Nice & cozy indoors.

    Enjoy your next 2 days at work, dear Hat Lady.
    Love you!
    Hugs from the KAT Lady 🙂

    • Hi Kat!

      No, I didn’t know how Megan had posed until I saw the picture. I was thinking oh my gosh she snuggled into me and I thought it would be such a good picture. Only to find that she had made a face, oh well I have to take what I can get with that little one.

      In answer to your question about the Thanksgiving gathering; it will be at my Mom’s house (my house isn’t big enough for 50 people to fit in). I know that no matter whether your daughter comes over or not you will make it a thankful Thanksgiving.

      The weather here is in the 60s and Wednesday it is supposed to be 70. Very unseasonably warm and good for having a Thanksgiving dinner at my Mom’s where all the kids can go outside and run around. 🙂

      Love you Kat Lady!
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

