Posted by: tgonzales | November 16, 2012

KS My Stitch Teaching Crochet at the Treehouse, November Crochet 101, Crochet Hat Class, and More Hats

First of all I want to thank all of you for all your kind words of concern over Joshua’s mugging. Hopefully by the time you read this he will have his new upgraded phone and on his way to being more alert of his surroundings. Thanks again for understanding!

Starting this month, six of the KS My Stitch Crochet guild members have met at Treehouse to teach some of the mothers how to crochet. I decided to surprise the ladies and showed up on my lunch break to take a few pictures. It was fun to see the new crocheters just crocheting away already after their second lesson. I will never get tired of watching people learn to create something with yarn.

Tuesday evening was my second session of the November Crochet 101 class at Twist and I was so excited to see all seven of my students from last week show back up with their practice pieces and how I loved that they were proud of what they had learned. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before but I always start each of my students with a crochet piece made of cotton dishcloth yarn in single crochets. The crochet piece is 10 stitches and then about 10 rows of single crochets; just enough for them to be able to hold onto it and learn how to hold their hook and yarn also. This teaching technique has worked very well for me. Anyway, in my second session I give each student a small ball of acrylic yarn so that they can start a new crochet piece from scratch. I show them how to make a slip knot and the chains and as they are making those first single crochets back into the chain they usually comment and tell me that they understand why I started them off with an already started crochet piece. All seven of my students learned quickly and I think I’ve hooked seven more. Three or four of them already bought either hooks or yarn or both before they left the store. Sorry I have no pictures but I assure you that every one of them was excited about learning to crochet. 😉 Before my students left one bought the little orphaned purple and gray owl hat and another one ordered one for her granddaughter who is 2 years old. I also picked up an order for an adult size hat from Twist’s neighbor Carla of Carla’s Boutique.

Here we go with the hats that I managed to complete this week. Here’s another Hello Kitty hat and this time it’s for an adult.

One of my great nieces said that she loved cats; so I made her a gray Hello Kitty hat, which looks more like an alley cat than a Hello Kitty cat. 😉 I’m looking forward to hearing whether she likes it and whether her brother likes the sock monkey hat that I made him.

Here are two orange owl hats that I sent my grandson, Johnny V who turns 3 years old tomorrow. Happy Birthday little Johnny V, I wish we were there to help you celebrate and to see you in your new owl hat. I wasn’t quite sure what size his head is, so I made 2 different sizes and 2 different colors of orange and put a note in the package to share the one that doesn’t work with my daughter-in-laws nephew who is around 2 years old. I’m in the process of making my great nephew, Rylan an owl hat for his second birthday. I know I always say this but, I’m looking forward to the weekend and getting to spend some time with my Mom and my Megan is at the top of my list. Saturday will be spent traveling out of town to Rylan’s birthday party. Sunday I will be preparing for my first session of my crocheted hat class on Tuesday, November 20th, plus catching up on crocheting hat orders. So what have you been up to? I would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. Always glad to read your post and see the things you’re
    doing through pictures. You are for sure making a difference in somebodies life. Love you Tamara.

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks so much for liking the photos and thinking that I’m making a difference in someones life. I never thought of it that way, because I get so much enjoyment out of teaching. But I feel the same way about you with all the things that you do for others.

      Love you too!
      Tamara

  2. Can we discuss how Johnny turns 3 years old and I have never seen him in person? That makes me incredibly sad. I really do need to make some owl hats because I think people would flip out over them. Still have no phone, which I am certain you could discern from the fact that you’ve received no phone calls from me, but there you have it. I am going to get it tomorrow. Definitely.

    • Hi CA!

      Well if you remember you left about the time he was born and your Dad and I have only seen him once; and I think that’s sad too.

      I’m sure you will call me as soon as you pick up your phone today and you will be loving it too. I’ll be looking forward to hearing from you.

      Love you,
      Momma

  3. Hi Tamara! ~ It is so exciting to read of your excitement in teaching so many newbies to crochet, and the fact that they are easily learning and very much enjoying your classes.

    When I got up this morning, I realized it is the weekend. LOL! And I immediately thought of you .. knowing that your filled weekend will be quite fulfilling. So — fill ‘er up! 🙂

    I am glad to finally see a kitty hat with a PINK nose. 😉

    I like the photo of the 2 orange owl hats — the owls look like they have their arms crossed in front of them. tee-hee!

    KATcha later, my friend! xoxo

    • Hi Kat!

      BWAHAHAHAHA you didn’t realize it was the weekend again, just kidding. I know you know what day it is. Thanks for noticing the pink nose and I’m not sure why the Hello Kitty pattern that I use has a yellow nose anyway, maybe too much pink already? Anyway thanks for noticing and thanks so much for stopping by to comment. Have a great day.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

      • Meow Tamara!

        Purrsonally, I think you canNOT have ‘too much pink’ on Hello Kitty. Pink noses for everyone, I say — and Mama Kat agrees.

        Weekend love & mews ~
        Miss Emma

  4. Will you be teaching the December crochet 101 class at Twist on Saturday’s. I have a quick bottie pattern that my mom made and I need to learn how to make them. Thanks. Linda

    • Hi Linda!

      Yes I will be teaching the December Crochet 101 classes as well. Do you already know how to crochet a little bit?

      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

