Posted by: tgonzales | October 29, 2012

Week of October 24-26 and October 27-28, 2012 Weekend; Family, Friends, and Some Crochet

My brother-in-law Pedro or better known as Pete arrived safely on Wednesday from Connecticut to attend Johnnie Grande’s funeral. I was so honored and happy that he chose us to stay with this time. The reason he wanted to stay with us is so that he could talk to his brother John and to have a laugh or two.

Well I can guarantee you we did just that in the 4 days that he was here and we enjoyed every minute that we got to spend with him.

In between Pete’s arrival and Friday the day of Johnnie Grande’s funeral; I made and delivered Piper’s hat to her Grandpa.

And look, here’s Piper in her hat. Isn’t she a sweetie?

I made and sold little brother and big brother hats,

now I’m making a bigger big brother hat because the big brother’s head was too big for the first big brother hat. Try saying that 4 times really fast. 🙂

Here I am with 2 of my most favorite men; John and Pete before leaving for Johnnie Grande’s funeral on Friday. Friday was spent with family and friends and the funeral service was beautiful and I know Johnnie Grande was looking down on all of us smiling, because the day although it was freezing went off without a hitch. He would have been pleased with the service, the fact that his brother read 2 passages from the Bible, the traffic stopping to let the funeral procession pass, the flag draped casket, the taps being played, the lowering of the casket into the ground and the people who tossed dirt on top of him. I can almost hear him giggling that low deep giggle that he always did when he was pleased with something that he said or did.

Friday night my Mom and I attended a beautiful wedding of a dear friend’s daughter. It was a wonderful way to end my week.

Saturday I had all of John’s family over for a tostado lunch including homemade Spanish rice and salsa.

Here are 2 of my favorite sister-in-laws all wrapped up in my afghans, because they are always freezing. I told them they looked like little Indian ladies.

My sister-in-law Ricci’s son Justin was here from Texas and it just so happened that his daughter Christian (our great niece who is 9 going on 16) had ordered an owl hat from me, so I whipped one up for her before everyone arrived at my house. Well…when Justin sent her a picture of it, she said that it wasn’t like the one that she had seen on Facebook.

So I started over again and completed another one just like the hat that she had seen on Facebook while everyone was eating and visiting. Oh by the way she approved of this one. 🙂

Then I received a message from my daughter-in-law in Oklahoma City that she had received the envelope that I had placed our grandson Alex’s crocheted blanket, owl hat, and scarf for our other grandson Eyan in. BUT…..the envelope had a large tear in it and there was a label on it that said, “received without contents Oklahoma City“. Nothing was in the envelope. I cannot believe this happened, but what can you do when you don’t insure the contents? So, I have started making a new blanket, since I know how important the little blanket is to Alex. I will make another owl hat and scarf as soon as I can.

Orders for hats are coming in right and left. For instance, our little neighbor boy came over on Saturday selling cub scout popcorn, as I was placing an order with him for popcorn, his mother and sister ordered 2 of my owl hats for the little boys’ sister and cousin, plus prospects for more. And just think this all started with my cousins’ order for an owl hat for a costume. That’s what I love about Facebook and the power of networking and word-of-mouth is pretty awesome too.

I spent Sunday writing down my flower pattern (I think I’ve mentioned how I dislike doing this) for the flower that I make to embellish my cloche hats with. But I’m down to the wire and I had to do something since I will be teaching the flower class on Tuesday, October 30th from 6-7 at Twist yarn shop. I also just found out that my class is full but if anyone wants to get into the class I could probably fit you in too, it’s only $10 per person; what a deal, right? I just hope that I am able to get the handwritten pattern typed up before Tuesday’s class. 😉 Anyway I had a wonderful time this past week, even though some of it was sad it’s always nice when family and friends can get together. So how was your week and weekend? I would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. Hi Tammy, sounds like your week was as busy as usual with John’s family being there, and cooking that family meal, plus all the crochet. John really has a nice looking family. I have a very busy schedule this week. I have an appointment for a MRI on my shoulder this morning, then home to do some laundry and get ready for company tomorrow. I have volunteered to help with a stew lunch which is Friday, but we have to get started early and Wednesday is the day to start that. I also have a meeting at noon and a mosiac class that evening. Thursday is my day to work at the shelter and start working on the veterans day meal at our house Friday. I don’t know how I will get it all done. Jerald always does a meal for his friends who are veterans every year and needs my help. After i get him squared away I will go in to the church to help with the stew luncheon. Hope my shoulder holds out. Have a great week girl.

    • Oh My Gosh Sue! You are a busy lady too! I know it will be hard to fit all that in, but I have a feeling that you will make it work. I hope everything works out ok with your shoulder. I can feel it clear over here. Love you, Tamara

      • I have the feeling that I am headed for rotater cup surgery. I’m just ready to get it over with so I can move without pain.

  2. Tamara,
    I want into your flower class if you can fit me in. I am amazed at your physical strength week after week after week. You do so much for others so God will continue to bless you with good health. I”ll see you Tuesday at 6.
    Kaye

    • Kaye,

      There is no way that I could turn you down; I’m so glad that you are coming to the flower class. Thanks so much for such kind words. And oh by the way I’m planning on coming to the charity workshop for a little while tonight. See you then.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. What a week you have had and still you make those gorgeous hats. Please where could I find the pattern for the owl hats it is just so lovely?

    • Hi Cathy!

      Thanks for stopping by to comment. I got the owl pattern from Repeat Crafter Me. Just google the name and the pattern is on her blog.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • Thank you Tamara, I have found it already and printed it off. How clear are her instructions! Take care, Cathy

  4. Cathy,

    Her instructions are very clear. The only problem that you might have is if you want to make a different size than a newborn. I only have her newborn pattern size. I’m sure if you have any questions she would be glad to answer them.

    Hugs,
    Tamara

    • Actually, Tamara – and Cathy … Repeat Crafter Me also shows instructions for 3-6 months / 6-12 months / and Toddler/Preschooler. Kewl, huh? 🙂

      Whoooo? –> KAT

      • Thanks so much Kat for the information about the bigger sizes in the hat. I think you had mentioned that to me already, but I forgot. 😉

  5. Hi Tamara! ~ I like the pic of John sorta ‘cuddling up’ to bro Pete. And I just *love* the one of him leaning back in loving laughter. Johnnie Grande still knows how to create good family times, right? 😉
    His service sounded beautiful and so very touching. Hearing taps surely got everyone crying if they weren’t already, I’m sure.

    Piper looks adorable in her owl hat.
    Piper IS adorable!

    Goodness … 9-going-on-16 Christian certainly knows what she wants, doesn’t she! I have to admit, I do like *her* hat a bit better than the first .. just like those soft colors — and I like the ‘pigtails’ (atop the hat) long like that. I do very much like the other one too, tho, ‘cuz I am currently SO into loving bolder colors.

    That’s horrible about your envy-full-of-crochet being totally empty when it reached Oklahoma! I am wondering if the envy was one of those Priority Envys like you’d sent my teapot cozy in. If so, I’d like to make a suggestion… First, I want to say I think those envys are ridiculous — so thin & easy to get torn. If I ever use one, I tape up the entire thing with clear packaging tape. That adds great stability to it. I leave only the tear-strip clear of tape.

    You are such a HOOT … with all those darling owl hats you are making — and, yay! – $elling!

    From one hooker to another 😉
    …. with LOVE ~
    Kat

    • Kat,

      As always I love reading your comments as they lift me up. Thank you so much for the suggestion on the envelope thingy. I’ll have to keep that in mind on the next package that I send out. And thanks for liking all my little hoot owl hats.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  6. I love the photo of your sisters-in-law wrapped up in their blankets! (Can I also come to the flower class?…….)

    • Hi Jill!

      I just love my sister-in-laws so much and it really wasn’t that cold in my house; they are a little bit cold-blooded. And of course you can come to my flower class; because as my Mom always says “there’s always room for one more.”

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

