Posted by: tgonzales | October 19, 2012

Lots of Things Going on Here, Crochet Guild, Crochet 101 Class, and Owl Hats

This has been a very busy week for me. But what’s new, right? I started off the week with our monthly KS My Stitch Crochet Guild meeting. It’s always nice to catch up with all my crochet buddies and find out what they have been making. This month was extra special because Kaye and Karen brought their 99 year old mother to the morning meeting. Her name is Florence and I was amazed at how well she can still crochet and her memory is unbelievable. I loved seeing Florence again and all my friends from guild.

Next up was the second session of the October Crochet 101 class. I was very pleased with all 4 of my students and how easily they picked up the skill of crochet. I especially loved hearing that they didn’t want to stop crocheting and continued on after they left the first session. Here they are with their practice pieces; I loved how they used up all their practice yarn and how they were o-h-h so ready to start on a new project. I have a feeling that I’ve hooked 4 more, what do you think? 🙂

Now on to the crochet; we had a little emergency and I had to move a very special project to the top of the pile. Our grandson Alex in Oklahoma who turns 3 today (Happy Birthday Alex) has become attaced to the blanket that I made him when he was just a baby. Actually he has loved it to pieces (literally), so I made him an extra one a couple of years ago so that my Daughter-in-law could wash the first one. I searched high and low for the cream colored TLC Cotton Plus yarn like I made the first one out of to no avail. I finally found some yellow TLC Cotton Plus yarn on Ebay and bought all that they had. I was worried that the yellow yarn wouldn’t be enough like the cream colored that I had made his first blanket out of, but apparently the color didn’t matter, it was the pattern and the feel of the yarn that he liked. Now, he has loved both of them to pieces and oh-h-h-h do I know how it is when your children are attached to something like a blankie (Jennifer) or a Mr. Bear (Joshua). My children couldn’t sleep or go anywhere without them when they were very small. Once they got a little older the only time I would let them have them was when they were in the house. Anyway when my Daughter-in-law sent me a message saying that Alex was upset that his blankets were gone and wondered if I could make him another one; I knew that I had 3 skeins of the yellow

TLC Cotton Plus yarn left from the second one, so I set out to make him another small square blanket. The blanket is only about 12’ x 12’ and I only used one skein of yarn. Anyway, I think I had better grab up the blue TLC Cotton Plus yarn that I found on the internet so that I have some backup yarn in case this happens again. 🙂 Why do yarn companies stop making certain yarns? This yarn is amazing and has such a lovely hand, I don’t know why they would stop making it. Oh well on to the next project.

My daughter-in-law also fell in love with the owl hats that I have been making and asked if I could make Alex one too. So I made him one that’s brown and blue. I do love the way it turned out and hope that he loves it as much as I loved making it for him. I will also be making a special crocheted scarf especially for Alex’s older brother Eyan and I’ll make sure I show you a photo of it.

You may remember this hat that I had to redo the tufts of hair, braids, eyes, and beak? I ended up taking the tufts out and adding longer and more strands of yarn to the tufts and a flower; and in doing so my friend Diane bought it for her granddaughter. I can’t wait to see a picture of her in it, she’s a little blondie with really curly hair.

One of my co-workers ordered this hat for her niece Ellie,

and she also decided to have me make a newborn one for Ellie’s yet to be born baby sister. This one was so cute I couldn’t stand it. (Sorry, I think I’ll be saying this a lot, because they are so darned cute)

Then another co-worker decided her niece needed an owl hat and said that I could choose whatever colors that I wanted and this is what I came up with for her niece Emerson. Wow, I’m so excited about all the orders I’m getting for the owl hats and I love seeing each one of them as they come off of my hooks it seems like they each have their own personality, if you know what I mean? So what have you been up to? I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend.


Responses

  1. I love the Alex/blanket story. And I love the owl hats; particularly the ones with flowers on. They are hys-te-ri-cal!!!

    • Thanks Jill for liking the story and the owl hats. You’ll probably get sick of seeing all the owl hats since that’s what I’ll be showing you all for quite some time with all the orders that have come my way. I am having such a good time making them and can’t wait to start on the next one. Thanks for stopping by to comment.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Loving the Wols! And the blanket story- two of my boys loved their blankets so much I ended up with a piece of grotty yellow ribbon and a couple of lemon threads attached!

    • Cathy,

      HAHAHAHAHA your story was quite funny. Made me laugh and I feel like there’s a lot of people out there who have similar stories. Thanks so much for stopping by to share yours with me.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • It gets worse- I found the yellow ribbon etc under youngest son’s bed covered in dust when he eventually let me in when he left for Uni!

  3. Cathy,

    That’s hilarious. HAHAHAHAHAHA

    Hugs,
    Tamara

  4. Hi Tamara!

    How I love seeing 99-yo Florence still aptly crocheting – & living her life to the fullest! My neighbor has a 99-yo aunt who, as far as I know, does not crochet – but she still gets out in her garden. And boy-oh-boy, she scoots her little body up into her daughter’s high-up pickup quicker than a wink .. and quicker than I could with the arthritis. LOL

    More adorable owl hats. I really like the girlie ones with the “pigtails” on top. So glad you are $elling lot$ of the$e now. 😉

    Good thing Alex’s blanket is small… and good thing it isn’t 12′ x 12′. tee-hee. But, rather, 12″ x 12″. That gave me a good laugh. 😀
    One of my daughters sure loved her white blanket that Frank’s college roommate had sent her. Not handmade but very nice. I had to sew on new satin 3″ binding twice. Not comical like your & Cathy’s stories *LOL* but a quaint memory just the same. 🙂

    Oh – you definitely have hooked 4 very happy crochet ladies!!

    Lotsa Love ~
    Kat

    • Oh my gosh Kat!

      I can’t believe I mistyped the ‘ instead of the “. BWAHAHAHA I sure couldn’t have made the blanket 12′ x 12’ out of one skein. I loved hearing that your daugher had a blanket with satin binding, just like my daughter had a pink stripey blanket with satin binding all the way around it too. I replace the binding a couple of times too until eventually there wasn’t anything left in the middle to sew it to. She still has the pieces of blanket somewhere at her house. Thanks for sharing your story with me.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  5. Tamara, What pattern do you use for your Owl Hats? They are so cute! Thank you. 🙂

    • Cheryl,

      I got the pattern from Repeat Crafter Me. It’s a free pattern on line.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • Thank you, Tamara. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

