Posted by: tgonzales | September 14, 2012

Beginner’s Crochet and My Beautiful Friend

I’m happy to report that my Beginner’s Crochet class was filled with 6 students on Tuesday night. I’m proud to say that all of my students caught on quite quickly and I loved that 2 of them had never even held a hook or yarn in their hands before Tuesday night. Now that’s something to be proud of (for them and me); don’t you think? One of the young ladies said that her Grandmother had tried to teach her to crochet but was unsuccessful and that her Grandmother just went too fast. But apparently she picked up more than she remembered because this young lady is ready to start her first project and I think she even signed up for Di’s crocheted flower class on Saturday at Twist. I can hardly wait until next week to see if any or all of them have continued to practice their crochet. I always tell all of my students that I didn’t just pick up crocheting and able to crochet as fast or as accurate from the start as I do now, and I always tell them that it just takes lots of practice. I had a wonderful time teaching all of my students to crochet and I do love the feeling it gives me.

Anyway, while I was in the midst of teaching my class I happened to notice a person sitting at one of the other tables who was taking a knitting class. I kept looking and thinking that I knew this person and that she looked a lot like one of my friends that I went to school with. Finally when I was able to comfortably walk away from my students I went to say hello to her. And yes that person was my beautiful friend Lisa who lived down the street from me when I was growing up. I remember the first time that I spent the night with her. Lisa had asked me if I wanted to go with her to a 4-H fashion show in another town (I can’t remember where it was). But, I remember Lisa had made a fully lined wool skirt and jacket and I thought her sewing was magnificent, as we were only in junior high at the time. Anyway, I remember having such a lovely time with her that day and we plan on getting together next week. As for my crocheting I’ve been working on a vestlike shawl thingy since Monday and I’m almost done with it and as soon as I finish I’ll have John take a picture of me in it. So what’s up with all of you? Are you doing anything that you love to do? I would love to hear all about it. Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend.


Responses

  1. I’ll bet you are a great teacher.
    I’m dying to see the shawly vesty thing.
    🙂

    • Hi Jill!

      Some people tell me that I’m a very good teacher, but I still have a hard time believing it myself. The main thing is that most of them pick it up right away and that’s a good feeling as you already know that, right? Did you get a kick out that SVT? 😉 I’m almost done with it and can’t wait to get it off of my hook.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. so fweet, reuniting with old friends. I am currently waiting for my 10 o’clock class. lounging on a couch in the classroom with my book, Mr Peanut. weeee! love you and hope you have a great day!

    • Hi My Chacho Aaron!

      I’m so glad you stopped by to comment; it made my day! 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful day.

      Love you,
      Momma

  3. Hey Tamara ~ No surprise here that your crochet class went fantabulously. 🙂 Your students *will* practice and show you their beginnings at your next class. You will all be so proud.

    So lovely that your friend Lisa & you have caught up with each other after all these years. You can encourage her to learn to crochet (if she does not already know how) .. and then she can work with ONE hook instead of TWO needles. LOL!

    Love ya, girlfriend!
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      Thanks so much for thinking that I’m such a good teacher. 😉 And yes it was great to see my dear friend again. I actually saw her a couple of years ago after not seeing her for about 10 years and it was nice catching up with her again. It will be nice to catch up with her next week since she is staying in Wichita for an undetermined amount of time. (her home is in Texas now) And as always Kat it’s so nice of you to stop by to leave your comments. I love them all and you too.\

      Tamara

      • Ahh Tamara!

        Right back atcha, kid. You bring me so many smiles & warmth in my heart.

        xoxoxo ~ Kat

  4. So glad you had a good class! I had a great group go ladies at the study I taught that night! God’s blessings abound!

    • Hi Susie,

      I’m so glad that you had a good time too. Thanks for letting me teach your beginners.

      Love you,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

