Posted by: tgonzales | August 27, 2012

Two Weekends Combined; August 18-19 and August 25-26, 2012, Crocheted Purses, Crochet Edged Washcloths, Hangers, Round Washcloths, and the Kyrie Foundation

I’ll try and keep this short but informative. The Saturday after the surprise birthday party for my brother Terry, I finished up the second Shoulder Sack Purse so that my friend Cathy could choose from the two. I had John drive me to Material Girls so that Cathy could choose and she….

chose the first one that I made. I really like that one the best too and I loved that she was already thinking about how she could add a big button with a fabric loop closure. I may have to use her idea and add a button and loop closure to the other bag as well.

After we left there we went to Yen-Ching for lunch. I just love the service, food, and their presentation.

After that we stopped by one of the many thrift stores in Wichita. I found a cute pair of Naturalizer shoes for $1.98 and

a cute little teapot. Of course you probably know that this will not stay naked for long. 🙂

Then we arrived home just in time for a nap for me and then when I woke up I crocheted two round washcloths to complete Cathy’s order before heading to bed.

Sunday morning I met my Mom and beautiful niece Emilee at Emilia’s. It’s always nice catching up with her to see what she’s been up to. I think I ended up taking two naps on Sunday and couldn’t believe that I was so tired from the Friday trip to Madison, Kansas and back.

Monday was spent conducting our monthly crochet guild meetings and we had fun crocheting edges around washcloths for our program. I just love seeing all the things that everyone has been working on throughout the month.

Tuesday morning I woke with a backache and before heading off to work I finished up adding all these cute little dahlias all the way around the black hat.

Just before my lunch break a company that wants our business dropped off 3 huge bags of bagels from Panera, so I went in the kitchen and toasted me the sweetest one of all and when I took it out of the toaster the top part of the bagel that had all the sugary cinnamon on it stuck to my finger and burned it. I went from pain in my back to pain in my finger; back and forth until I couldn’t stand it anymore and left work early. Upon arriving home I took a muscle relaxer and laid down to rest and woke up to John yelling that our central air conditioning had stopped working. He had to be to work so I got up to call the repair man. Of course he couldn’t come out until the next day, so I called my daughter to come by and pick me up after she got off work. We ate dinner together and I spent the evening on her couch in the air conditioning until John got off of work to pick me up. Thank goodness the evening was rather cool and we had no trouble opening the windows to sleep that night. The next morning I was still feeling bad so I stayed home from work and rested while waiting for the air conditioning repairman to get there. Finally sat up and started crocheting around the time the repairman came around 2:00 pm.

I went back to work on Thursday and thank goodness the blisters don’t interfere with my crocheting since I hold my hook like a pencil. I was able to make a few crocheted covers for hangers.

On Saturday I had arranged to pick up Jennifer and Megan to go shopping for Megan some new clothes for her birthday that’s coming up next weekend. But before heading out I had been thinking about an organization called the Kyrie Foundation and how my friend Lacie from Material Girls whose little girl Kyrie passed away from brain cancer five years ago and who the foundation is named after; has been going around collecting items for a silent auction fund raiser that the foundation is conducting on September 15, 2012. I kept thinking that I wanted to do something, but what could I do? I would love to donate money but I don’t have any to donate; then I thought about the gift of crochet that I have been blessed with and how I had made a baby dahlia throw afghan several months ago.

Maybe I could donate it to the silent auction and Lacie could auction it off to make money that will go to fund research for a cure for pediatric brain cancer? So after I picked up Megan and Jennifer I dropped by Material Girls to present Lacie with the baby dahlia throw and I was pleased that she was very touched by my gift. If you will notice I have placed a button in my sidebar for the Kyrie Foundation and you can click on it and it will take you to their website so you can learn more about it there.

I also was so glad that I could finally drop off the two washcloths to Cathy and I love seeing her face when she sees the finished product. Thank you Cathy for being so sweet and for making such a fuss over them.

Then it was off to Old Navy to shop for clothes for Megan.

Poor little Megan hates to try on clothes because the tags always poke her very sensitive skin and

she really doesn’t like it that I always want to take pictures of her. But if you give her the camera she will take pictures of herself forever. 😉

I was so glad she found some really cute items to add to her wardrobe and that she wanted to wait and open them on her birthday.

And now my most favorite part of all of it is to wrap up her gifts and watch her open them at her birthday party. 😉

After we had lunch and after I dropped Jennifer and Megan back home I went home to take a nap and when I woke I crocheted into the evening hours, since John was out of town. I crocheted around a few washcloths

and made another round washcloth before it was time to turn in for the night.

Sunday was spent catching up on ironing and I made another round washcloth. Now it’s time to start another week and I finally feel caught up again. How was your weekends and week?


Responses

  1. Sorry to hear you felt so poorly, I hope your back is better now (and the blister gone).
    The dahlia blanket is wonderful, and it’s a wonderful idea behind the foundation. Is the blonde woman in the photos Lacie? She looks like a supermodel! So very sad to know about her daughter. I swear, I don’t know how people survive losing a child. It’s too tragic.
    Your shoulder sacks inspired me to try and make a bag of my own. No pattern, no experience in making bags….the result will be interesting….hahaha
    Love your posts as always

    • Hi Jill!

      Yes, my back and blister are better. Yes the blonde woman is Lacie the mother of Kyrie and mother to three more children now. She is a very beautiful young lady inside and out. I can only imagine how awful it feels to have lost a child. She’s a real trooper.

      I’m so glad that you were inspired by the bags and I can’t wait to see your version. I always love seeing what you’re doing. I am looking forward to hearing about how your last show went. Have a great week!

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Love the shoulder bag. I wanna go thrift shopping with you some time-you always find the neatest things. The round dish rags are so bright and colorful. Such talent. I cry for your friend Lacie. I know the pain of loosing a child and it hurts forever. It was so nice of you to donate your beautiful afghan. I have a busy week ahead of me. Tomorrow I take a friend to North OKC for a Drs. appointment and on Wednesday and Thursday I judge the Murrray Co fair and the Lincoln Co fair. So today I wanna do something for my grandaughter. She started a basket several months ago and never finished it so I want to finish it for her. Hop you have a wonderful week cuz. Love you.

    • Hi Sue!

      You know I would love to go thrifting with you. Let’s make a date. I’m so glad that you like the idea of my afghan being donated to the Kyrie Foundation and I know you feel Lacie’s pain of losing a child. The pain will never go away and I just felt that I should donate something to the cause. As I left the quilt shop I felt a since of happiness and hope that I might have made the pain a little less.

      Man it sounds like you have a full week indeed as I know all of your weeks are probably busy too. Have fun and take care!

      Love you,
      Tamara

      • I forgot to comment on how cute Meagan is with her new clothes. She’s a doll.

  3. Absolutely perfect place for your Dahlia blanket to go, very thoughtful!
    Love the hangers, lots of tails to hide, no doubt. I just love the peace shirt Megan was wearing at Old Navy. I wonder if they have one in my size ; )
    Suz

    • Hi Susie,

      Thanks for stopping by to comment and I bet they have a peace sign shirt in your size at Old Navy! 🙂

      Love you,
      Tamara

  4. The thing I notice most when I read your posts, Tamara, is how much you do for others.. and that you enjoy doing it. You have such a kind heart and giving spirit. I love that you are donating the afghan to the silent auction.. wonderful.
    Thanks for sharing your adventures!

    Steph

    • Hi Steph,

      Thanks so much for liking my posts. Thank you for noticing that I love to give things from my heart and my hands and thank you for reading my blog and taking the time to stop by to comment.

      Love,
      Tamara

  5. Hi Tamara!

    I like your first bag better also. Yah, great idea to add a large button and a fabric loop for it.
    I once (decades ago!) had a pair of Naturalizer shoes and I remember their being extremely comfy. You sure got a great buy on yours!
    Cute teapot. I recently bought a small one but do not yet have a pattern to ‘cloak it’.

    Good to hear you took your naps on Sunday. I love my naps. 😉

    So! Are you going to keep ‘your’ black dahlia hat???

    OWWWWW!!!! What a blister!!! I am sorry to tell ya that I would *not* kiss that to make it better. Bwaaahaaa!!! .. Is it all better now (without my kiss)?

    That is so sad about Kyrie. Poor Lacie!! Your dahlia baby afghan is so purrfect as a donation for the silent auction. I am sure that will bring in a GREAT amount of $$ for the Kyrie Foundation. Bless you, Tamara.

    I *LOVE* the kitty dress on Megan .. and her leopard leggings!! 🙂

    I am still blown away by how MUCH crocheting you do .. even with a full-time job plus all the other things you do. ‘The Amazing Tamara’ 🙂

    Love & Admiration ~
    Kat

    • Oh Kat!

      You are soooo kind to say such sweet things about me. And yes my finger is getting better; although it is still very tender. I’ll post another picture of the progress next time. 😉 And gross more people out.

      No, I will not be keeping the black dahlia hat. I want to sell it at the Barn Sale in October. That was a booger to make; not the crocheted flowers, but sewing them on was the hard part.

      I kind of thought you might like the kitty dress and the leopard leggings. Although she won’t be wearing them at the same time. My Megan adores cats; she’s just an animal lover all around.

      Love you,
      Tamara

      • Hey Tamara ~ Some people would say you create cavities becuz you ooze sweetness. LOL [That is a compliment!]

        I just think that black dahlia hat looks soooo good on you. Well, I guess someone else will get to be blest by your creating a booger of a hat. Haw-haw-haw!!!

        Glad to hear Megan won’t be wearing the kitty dress & leopard leggings together. Altho …. maybe that wouldn’t be such a bad idea actually… 🙂 Aw, she is a girl after my own heart — being such an animal lover. mew… woof… naayyy… moooo… chirp… etc!

        Purrrs ‘n snuggles,
        Kat


Leave a Reply

Categories

