Posted by: tgonzales | July 27, 2012

5th Annual KS My Stitch Crochet Guild Retreat; a Little Crochet, and a Knitted Scarf

I can hardly believe that this year will be our 5th year to hold a KS My Stitch Crochet Guild Retreat. So far every year I have prepared the lunch meal; the first 3 years I made my famous Tammy’s Tacos, along with my homemade salsa and rice. Then last year I made my yummy meatloaf. This year I decided to make my taco dinner again. Thursday night I cooked the taco meat,

stuffed and pinned the tacos. Tonight I will cook the rice and Saturday morning before loading it all up I will prepare my homemade salsa. Then while everyone enjoys crocheting on their projects I will be frying up the tacos just before lunch. There are 10 people signed up and I know everyone will enjoy doing the two beaded projects that Kaye will be teaching us to make. I hope that everyone loves my taco dinner as much as I love preparing it for them.

Did you think that I didn’t have time to crochet? Well, I always make time to crochet early in the mornings. This time I needed to get back to making some more of the cell phone cases, so I used a furry, fun, and funky yarn to make this one from. I love how it turned out with all the soft and different textures of yarn and I do love the soft colors.

I also crocheted around 4 more washcloths. This time I used DMC Cebelia size 10 thread in the palest aqua. I had forgotten how much I love to crochet with this thread and do really love this color.

Oops! I almost forgot to show you the finished knitted scarf on its owner, Terry. She was so very happy with the scarf and said that she will love wearing it this winter. That makes me very happy and she made me smile. 🙂

Now I had better get back to work on finishing up the preparation for the retreat lunch. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and I can’t wait to share some pictures with you all from the retreat. Adios Amigos! 😉


Responses

  1. A couple of tacos for me, please 🙂

    • Jill,

      I wish you could be here to join us for the retreat; wouldn’t that be fun? Thanks so much for stopping by.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. I can’t wait for tomorrow. It is going to be so much fun. I also love how the scarf turned out. Terri is so cute!

    • Hi Donna!

      Thanks for liking the knitted scarf and it does look great on Terry. And I think Terry is a pretty cute person too.

      See you tomorrow, hey bring the hat that you were going to bring on Monday; or have you figured it all out already?

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • I will try and bring the hat tomorrow. I need to find it. I put it somewhere and now I can’t find it. 😦 Oh well, it will show up sometime.

  3. Donna,

    Maybe look towards the purple yarn, because you were planning on coming to the charity workshop on Monday and didn’t make it. Remember? 😉

    Hugs,
    Tamara

  4. Wow – dat’s a whole lotta tacos. Only 10 people signed up? Goodie – you will have leftovers to share with all of us here. LOL

    LOVE-LOVE-LOVE your fun, furry, ‘n funky cell phone case. That one’s HOT!

    Gosh, that scarf looks reallllly GREAT on Terry. And it sure does go well with her top. FUN!

    Your retreat – those gals have a good thing going for them –> YOU cooking! Have a lovely time, and we will “see” you here when you get back. 🙂

    HUG!
    Kat

    • AWWW Kat!

      You always know just the right thing to say! I thought you might like the cell phone case. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Love you and have a terrific weekend!
      Tamara

  5. I can’t even say how much I like the scarf. It’s so colorful and creative.
    Since I don’t knit I think I’ll try to crochet something similar, for myself.
    The cell phone case is my favorite so far.

    The Tacos look great! Wish I had been able to sign up for the retreat this time. I am determined to be at the next retreat and look forward to joining Crochet Guild in a few month, after I am sufficiently recuperated from back surgery on 8-24. After the July meeting Valorie shared the CUTE hat pattern with me and I started one right away. I have made 3 out of white/yellow baby yarn. I don’t have any purple baby yarn. Valorie offered to share but I want to use baby yarn. I hope to get to Hancocks, (or someplace where there’s a sale) in the next few days, so I can get as much purple baby yarn, as I can get my husband to carry home HA!

    Have a great time at the retreat. I look forward to seeing pics and reading/hearing all about the fun you girls have.

    • Hi Linda!

      It will be very nice to have you in our guild as soon as you feel up to it. I know it will take you a while to recuperate and I look forward to seeing you soon. I’m glad that you like the hat pattern and also glad that you are making baby hats from it. I wish I could see all that purple yarn your husband brings home to you. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  6. Mmm, now I’m hungry for your food!

    • Aww you probably say that about everyones food!

      Love you,
      Aunt Tammy


Leave a Reply

Categories

