Posted by: tgonzales | June 25, 2012

June 23-24, 2012 Weekend, Spending Time with My Sister, Family, and Friends, Cell Phone Cases, and a Circle Shawl

My weekend started off with a trip to the Kansas Grown Farmer’s Market where I met up with my sister for a little shopping and photographing her new Market bag that she designed. I wish you all could have been there to see all the beautiful colors of vegetables, plants, and flowers. While we were trying to take pictures of her bag a kind gentleman decided that we needed our picture taken with the bag. Jackie sent me the picture but I can’t seem to get it sized correctly, so I can’t show you. One of the photos was of my shoulder, but the man meant well. 🙂

This is my haul for the morning and oh how I love to cook with fresh vegetables. After the market Jackie and I met up with our Mom and my husband John for lunch. It’s always nice spending time with Jackie since I don’t get to do that much anymore.

Oh by the way Jackie asked me to make her a naked cell phone case as she wants to add her own finishing touches to the bag. It will be fun to see what she comes up with.

Saturday evening we had dinner with John’s side of the family at a Mexican restaurant called “El Mexico” where they had a Mariachi band consisting of two men playing guitars and a woman playing an accordion. I was so mad at myself for not taking my camera with me, because they were so good and their costumes were beautiful. I loved that they kept coming back to our table to sing John and Ricci’s (John’s sister) song requests. We all enjoyed it very much and I loved that the songs brought back lovely memories of their own Daddy singing the same songs for them many years ago. John and I ended the evening with a movie called “Under the Tuscan Sun”. (this photo of John’s brothers and sisters was taken almost a year ago)

Sunday morning I finished up a few projects; a pink, red, and black cell phone case that I especially love and I love that it looks oriental to me.

Then I made a pink and black one. I especially love the butterfly beads.

I also finished up another purple hat for charity.

Then I added a few more circles to the circle shawl that I started quite some time ago. I was very surprised to see that I actually made a note of what hook size, type of yarn, and a date of July 17 that I started the shawl. Now if I could just remember if it was 2010 or 2011 that I started it.  🙂

Oh my gosh I almost forgot to mention that Gina and Kevin stopped by to visit. We’ve been friends for almost 20 years and have not had a chance to see them for quite some time. (Remind me never to let John take my picture again.) 😉 It’s always nice to catch up with what’s happening in their part of the world and they even stayed to have some

yummy spicy chicken vegetable soup that I made from all those wonderful fresh vegetables. What a pleasant way to spend the weekend, with family and friends. So how was your weekend?


Responses

  1. LOve your blog so much. We went to the lake last week and I missed your blog very much and yes I did enjoy the lake. sw

    • Hi Sue,

      I missed you too, it’s very lonely here without you. 🙂 I’m so glad you had a good time at the lake and I’m glad you’re back.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  2. I love you Tamara. Gives me such joy and peace to see what you are doing. I am still working on Accounting II. So this is such a nice and colorful, imaginative place to land for a break.

    Steph

    • Oh Steph!

      I love you too and thank you so much for taking a break from your Accounting II lessons to comment on my blog.

      Tamara

  3. Hi Tamara!! Sounds like dinner and the Mariachi band was FUN!! And the farmers’ market sounded nice too! We used to have one right in my neighborhood, but I guess they weren’t making the money they were hoping for, because they packed up their goods and never came back… And I really miss them. I would much rather pay them for fresh grown fruits and vegetables, then have to pay the crabby old grocer who charges an arm and a leg for what he’s got.. wherever he got it! Occasionally the vendors would have handmade crafts too, and you KNOW I loved THAT!… Oh, but I’ve definitely had a few busy days in a row here, and I just wanted to tell you that I did get your sweet card recently! I can’t tell you how much your cards cheer me up when I’m surprised by one! Things can get stressful sometimes, and I feel so behind or unproductive, but I try to remember that NO ONE could possibly keep up with all the chores, projects, and expectations I have racing through my head on a daily basis! I have to slow down, and just pace myself, one thing at a time, one day at a time!.. that and an occasional glass of wine after dinner sometimes helps! (0; My walks with Dear Son always help too. They slow me down, and clear my head; and I always appreciate that time with him, while I’ve still got it, while he’s still home, and young enough I guess…. Anyways, thank you so much for the very sweet card. Your cards are always the sweetest cards I’ve ever seen! And I loved the little gloves tucked inside! How CUTE is THAT?!!! I’m sure I will find use for that in my scrapbooking!! Thank you so much!! ((Love -n- Big Hugs)) Have a great day, and talk to you again soon I’m sure!! ~tina

    • Hi Tina,

      I’m so glad you got the little gloves, I thought maybe you might have a use for them. Maybe even paint them or cover them with paper or something? Whatever you do it will be very Tina-ish. I can’t wait to see what you do. It was wonderful to hear about how busy you have been and I know how hard it is to balance everything out. Thanks so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to comment, it always makes me smile. 🙂

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Tamara
    I had a great time with you on Saturday! I think we might make that a every Saturday time together. Love the naked purse for my IPhone.
    LOL Jackie

    • Jackie,

      Give me a call whenever you want and if you’re ever in town and by my work stop by because I have that naked cell phone case with me. 🙂

      Love you,
      Tamara

  5. TAMARA!! I cannot believe YOU DID NOT TAKE YOUR CAMERA to the Mexican restaurant!! Ohhh…. you will just have to go there again just to share colorful photos with your blog friends. 😉

    More gorgeous cell phone cases!!

    Oh my goodness!! Your chicken VEGGIE soup looks paws-itively SCRUMPTIOUS, woman!!!!!
    Love ya! ~ Kat

    • Oh Kat!

      Thank you so much for liking what I do and you’re right I could stop by the restaurant just to take pictues of the group. What a good idea. That soup was amazingly tasty with all of those fresh veggies in there and the spiciness of it was just right. (not too hot)

      Love & Hugs,,
      Tamara

      • LOL! Tamara, I meant for you to go to the restaurant again TO EAT, taking your camera next time. But hey ~ your misunderstanding has now become YOUR good idea!! LOL

        Giggles ‘n Love ~
        Kat


Leave a Reply

Categories

