Posted by: tgonzales | June 1, 2012

June 1-WIPs

Oh-my-gosh, where did May go? It feels like it soared right by for me, how about you? Here’s our yard on the next to the last day of the month. A hail storm traveled through Wichita dumping golf ball to pea size hail throughout the city. It stripped leaves from both of our trees that are still living and made some dents in my car and thank goodness the wind didn’t blow at the same time as the hail came down or windows would have been broken.

I’m so glad that I had this Jalapeño plant on the porch under a little shelter. I have never grown Jalapeños before and am looking forward to harvesting them soon. I just love to make fresh Pico de Gallo.

Anyway, as I was thinking about what I should crochet next I came upon these black and white granny squares. Half of them are sewn together and I think I was going to make a pillow with them. The funny thing is that I made these sometime last year and just a few weeks ago I picked up a 14” square pillow form on one of my Joann’s shopping sprees, not knowing what I would use it for. Much to my surprise the pillow form will work perfectly for the black and white granny square pillow. Hopefully I can sew the rest of those squares together and add a back to it and finish it up this weekend.

Then I came upon 4 more granny squares. This time I had already made some fabric squares to be added to the back of them to make trivets out of them. I’m hoping these will get done this weekend too.

Here is another set of 4 granny squares that I also found waiting to become something. I’m not sure what yet?

Here are some wool felted flowers waiting to be used to embellish a sweater or a bag.

Oh by the way I did manage to complete two little hotpads that I really enjoyed making this week. I do hope I can complete a whole stack of these to sell at the October market in Hesston. So what have you been up to? Do you have any WIPs that are very close to being completed or am I the only one?


Responses

  1. You wouldn’t belive the WIPs I have – so many I don’t remember what I had in mind when I started them. A lot of them will probably be given to Good Will. Maybe one of the crocheters from the Guild will show up with one of them. That would be funny. I admiore you so much for getting back to yours and finishing them. You are truely a good example. You are a good friend.
    Love ya,
    Kaye

    • Hi Kaye,

      Thanks so much for stopping by to chat. I love your story about your WIPs and how someone from the guild might bring one of yours finished. What would really be funny is if it were me. Especially when I have so many of my own to finish.

      Love you too,
      Tamara

  2. Oh Tamara! I am so sad to hear the hail put dents in your car .. and stripped leaves off trees. When I first saw your photo, I thought: “snow???” .. then I thought: “bird droppings???” [not kidding ya!!]

    Keep those Jalapeño plants sheltered during storms and you will have magnificent ones that will taste sooo much better than store-bought. I know this becuz I have grown green peppers — and your weather is better/hotter than ours, so I know yours will flourish. Just watch out for those Oz storms! My homegrown green peppers did not have the bitter taste like from the store.

    Look at that .. you are one month closer to the October market — and look at all you are rounding up for $ale. 🙂

    I am almost done with my Basket-weave Afghan. Then I have to get back to the baby afghan I started for my niece (due in late Sept).

    Hey! IT’S FRIDAY!!!! 😀 Enjoy your weekend, Tamara!
    Lotsa Hugs ~ KAT

    • Hi Kat!

      Actually we were very lucky with the hail and yes the photo looks alot like snow and bird droppings. Ha! Ha!

      I agree with you on the taste of home grown vegetables. I love gardens, although I’ve only successfully grown a single garden one summer. I do love to pick the vegetables and always enjoy cooking with them. Thanks goodness my Mom seems to have a garden almost every summer and I get to have some of the vegetables some times. 🙂

      I loved hearing about what you’ve been up to and I would love to see a picture of the finished projects.

      Love you,
      Tamara

      • Hi Tamara ~ Glad to hear you do get some of your Mom’s garden veggies .. sometimes. 😉

        Love ya!
        KAT

  3. P.S. I forgot to say … Your hot pads are GORGEOUS & UNIQUE!!!!!

    • P.S. Thanks for liking the hot pads too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

