Posted by: tgonzales | May 30, 2012

A Whole Week without Crocheting

If you know me by now you may have thought; how can Tamara go a whole week without crocheting? I even asked myself the same question. But when I thought about it, I didn’t actually go a whole week without crocheting. I did make a few things; not my normal amount but a few things. (sorry that title is very misleading) Ha! Ha!

First of all I edged two fleece blankets with crochet for the KS My Stitch Guild’s charity.

Next I made a large hot pad,

then a small hot pad,

then I thumbed through the Vogue Knitting “Crochet” 2012 Special Collector’s Edition. I must say I am very pleased with Vogue Knitting’s take on crochet and I have been eyeing that lovely crocheted shawl creation on the cover and thinking very strongly about attempting to make it.

then I decided to try my hand at making a cover for this not so beautiful foot stool that I purchased a few years ago at the thrift store.

I’m really pleased with how it turned out and I loved the tutorial that I found here on how to make the rectangular granny square. Of course I improvised with the rest of it as I went along.

Now I’m in the process of making a lovely vintage Daisy hot pad from a pattern that I got from Maggie’s Crochet.

Oh by the way Jill’s purse finally arrived at her home in Capetown, South Africa on Saturday. She had some fun things to say about Wichita, Kansas, and sweet things about me and the purse. You can go read all about it here. What have you not been doing lately?


Responses

  1. Hi Tammy, Sa usual I enjoyed your blogand esepially enjoy the fleece blankets with the crochet edging. I still have some that I got when my children were babies (except they were flannel). The hot pads are wonderful and I love the blog from Jill about the maggots in her box. That was cute. Have a great day and we are getting ready to go to a dutch oven gathering in Arkansas tomorrow. Lots of good eating. Love you girl. sue

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks for liking all of the things that I made. I love hearing all about what you’re up to. I wished I could stowaway in your camper for some dutch oven cooking and eating.

      Love you too,
      Tamara

      • We are leaving about 1:00 tomorrow and we will have room for you. Might have to share a bed with Benjamin or Raymond. sw

  2. Pretty-Pretty hot pads you did not crochet last week. LOL
    And great job at not covering your foot stool!

    So glad to hear Jill rec’d her purse — and all the goodies inside it … *not* to mention the m@g___s. I can’t believe you MADE the coin purse! I delighted in reading a little about Wichita on Jill’s blog. 🙂

    • Hi Kat,

      You’re so funny in thinking that I made the coin purse. The purse was machine made along with the coin purse to match the brown leather trim on the purse. 🙂

      Thanks for going over to Jill’s blog to read about Wichita and her purse and thanks for being here.

      Love you,
      Tamara

      • Hey Tamara ~ The reason I thought you made the coin purse is cuz of your comment on Jill’s blog:
        “…the little zippered pouch is called a coin purse in America. Thanks for loving it as much I loved making it.” 😉

  3. Rectangular granny is perfect timing – I have the tutorial running right this second 🙂

    • Hi Jill!

      I’m so glad that you could use the tutorial too! Have fun making the rectangular granny square.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • I am thrilled with it, I finished it first thing this morning, in a rich turquoise. Will post pic asap.

      • Jill,

        That’s great. I can’t wait to see it.

        Tamara

  4. Tamara, I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award here: http://byhookorbypen.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/versatile-blogger-award/

  5. […] it was through Tamara that I found a tutorial for a granny rectangle.  Thanks again for that […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

