Posted by: tgonzales | May 21, 2012

May 19-20, 2012 Weekend, More Thrifting, Birthday Party, More Dying, and Preparing for Joshua’s Visit Home

My Saturday started off with no electricity in our neighborhood for about an hour and a half. Then when it did come back on I had just enough time to shower and get dressed before Mom and Jean stopped by for a visit. I always enjoy visiting with them and Saturday was no different.

Jean always is so kind and asks me what I’m up to, so I told her and showed her what I had been working on. Then I showed her the two purses that I had embellished. She fell in love with the tan bag with the 5 flowers on it. I love that she loved it so much that she wanted to buy it from me. I really think it’s very nice when I know that the person who receives one of my creations appreciates it and will love it as much I loved making it. Jean also picked out a pair of red sparkly crocheted baby Mary Jane shoes for a Great-Granddaughter who is due to be born in October.

Anyway as soon as Mom and Jean left I headed out to do some thrifting again. My first stop was at the World Impact Store. I think they must see me coming, because almost every time I’ve been in the store I have found a sewing basket. I’m such a sucker for them and have never met one that I didn’t like.  🙂

Next stop was the Value Center, and as you may have guessed I found a few more sweaters,

a cool scarf,

pot holders, (brand new)

2 more crocheted nylon bags,

a rag rug,

and these turquoise cushions. (my husband tells me that I’ll buy anything if it’s turquoise and I’m starting to believe that he’s probably right)

My next stop was Joann’s to pick up some dye, and a pillow form. Well I left the store with a little more than what I went in for, but luckily everything was on sale and the one and only thing that wasn’t on sale I had a coupon for 40% off, so I felt very fortunate indeed.

I arrived back home in time to take a short nap before heading off to a birthday party celebrating my brother Toms 62nd and my sister-in-law Linda’s 60th birthdays. Here are a few highlights of the party.

Matt (Tom’s son) and Tom frying the fish,

homemade ice cream from the families 5-gallon antique ice cream freezer,

Grandma and Kaytlynn

William and Cassie, (one of my great-nephews and one of my nieces) William was being so darn cute; eating that homemade ice cream with sand all over his hand and in his hair. I just know his Papa Dean would have gotten a kick out of him. I know I did.

my brother Terry,

I loved this picture of my Mom laughing, (I’m not sure what Kelley said to make her laugh so hard,  but it must’ve been really funny) Although she may have told Mom that she was going to smash my camera if I didn’t stop taking pictures of her? ha! ha!

It seems like no matter where we go we always have to watch the weather here in Kansas.  😉 Thank goodness the storms passed Wichita up without any severe weather.

Sunday was filled with dying some sweaters and preparing for Joshua to be home. His room is all ready for him; sheets and curtains are washed and put back on and up, John vacuumed and dusted. So I do believe we are all ready for Joshua to be back home for his short visit.

Oh by the way I couldn’t wait to show you the unsewn, resewn, crochet embellished hat that I finished. You may remember me talking about it here. I even made the flower so that it could be detached and worn on a jacket lapel as a brooch too. I love how it turned out. So how was your weekend? Did anything exciting happen in your part of the world?


Responses

  1. i love love love the berry coasters! do you have a pattern for them that you could possibly share?

    • Pamela,

      Thanks for liking the berry coasters. I will see what I can do about getting you the pattern or information on how you can buy the book that it’s in. Thanks so much for stopping by.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Dammit Tamara, you do this to me every time – now I want the hat!!! I remember you said a couple of the seams came apart when you washed it, so what you have done with it now is amazing. The blouse that I want to fix up Tamara-style is still hanging outside the wardrobe, to remind me to think about it and hope inspiration strikes. I am green with envy when I see your embellished bags – I would like to contact the post office on this side of the world but I know from frustrated experience that it will make no difference. 🙂

    • Oh Jill you make me laugh. Thanks so much for liking the hat and for being inspired by me. I feel the same way with what you do. I know what you mean about the post office situation. My husband and I were discussing that same thing yesterday. I checked out the receipt last night and there is no tracking number at all. UGH! But I did ask someone that ships things to England regularly and they said that I should give it at least 3 weeks. I really don’t like that the purse is taking so long to get to you. Maybe we can hope that it will be there this week?

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • I’m not stressed about the bag at all, just being greedy! It will get here when it’s ready 🙂

  3. Oh Tammy I am so jealous of all your talent. I love the sewing basket. I have 3 or 4 and I love them all. My favorite one is the one G-ma Hanks had even tho it is broken. I also have one that I think was G-ma Casteels that is very special. The rug would make a really cute purse with some embellishments on it. Love the sweaters and the turquoise cushions are the greastest. We must have a stronger blood line than I thought because turquoise is one of my favorite colors too. Love the pictures of the birthday party. It’s always good to see pictures of my favorite cousins having fun. And last but not least your photography is great. Love you much. sw

    • Hi Sue,

      Thanks so much for sharing your love of sewing baskets too. Next time I’m down your way I will have to check them out. And thank you for loving what I do and for stopping by to tell me. That always makes my day.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  4. Hi Tam! ~ I can just hear “Jolly Jean” raving about your work when people comment about her lovely new purse. 🙂

    So many finds at the thrift store! Even a patriotic sewing basket. tee-hee! John is definitely correct –> you WILL buy anything that is turquoise. LOL

    Hey ~ Tom’s my age! I turned 62 on the 15th. What’s his birth date? [Happy Birthday, Tom!]

    Oh gosh! Yes!! That photo of your mom roaring-laughing is so hysterical. 😀

    I’m VERY GLAD to hear the tornadoes skipped over Wichita!!!!!

    Hoo-boy! Someone is going to look great sporting their ‘new’ brown cap. What a great idea to make the flower detachable too!

    • Hi Kat!

      Thank you for liking what I do and for stopping by to comment. Tom’s birthday was the 13th of May and I’m so sorry I missed your birthday. So Happy Belated Birthday. I hope it was good?

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. Love all the thrifty finds, Tamara. I can’t wait to see what the sweaters look like all Tamarafied. Good save with the hat.
    So lucky you found those turquiose pillows! JEALOUS!!
    Fun to see what you are doing. Love the picture of your mom laughing, makes me smile.

    Steph

    • Thanks Steph for stopping by to comment. We sure do miss you at guild.

      Love you,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

