Posted by: tgonzales | May 11, 2012

Truman Turned 1 Year Old, a Vintagey Crocheted Hot Pad, a Crocheted Gerbera Daisy, and a Few Surprises

I can hardly believe that it’s already been a year since Truman was born,

it seems like yesterday.

He’s such a little man and he did so well at his birthday party. He really loved his new car that Grammy Jackie and Papa Mark gave him.

He liked his cake at first but didn’t like the sticky mess it made on his hands.

Happy Birthday Truman, our Little Man!

On the crochet front I seem to be into making small things; I started off with making a vintagey hot pad from one of my Japanese books called Lacy Crochet published by Chronicle Books.

I also made a Gerbera Daisy from the same book. I have a feeling that I will be making a few of these. Although they are quite time-consuming I love the end results. The petals automatically twist when you pull and turn each one. I do believe one or two of these pretty daisies will end up on an up-cycled purse real soon.  🙂

I received a surprise when I arrived home from work the other day. John has been hard at work on the internet again and guess what he found?

Yes, he found some Rit dye for me and he was proud of himself that he found the aquamarine that I had been searching for here in Wichita. It looks like I will be dying a few more things now.

I also got another surprise when I arrived home from work on Thursday evening to find a social media reporter in my dining room talking to John about his line of security products that he sells. I tell you there’s never a dull moment around here when John is home. 🙂

I hope everyone has a wonderful Mother’s Day and I’ll be back on Sunday with a special post that day, so I’ll talk to you then.


Responses

  1. Happy 1st Birthday to Prince Charming Truman!! His little round cake is too cute. He is definitely the youngest guy I’ve ever seen driving a car. LOL
    He looks adorable in that hat. 🙂

    Your Gerbera Daisy is very pretty and kinda wild-looking .. I like it! Of course you will have to put that on a purse. tee-hee

    Woo-hoo!! John is THE man!!! Just look at all that RIT dye .. and your fave color included. Awesome find. Awesome guy. … And that’s great that he sells security products. (What exactly? I’m curious!) Sounds like his sales will be going up once that social media fella does his report on him. Nice!!

    HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY, TAMARA! I know you will have a very loving day with your Mom & Jennifer & maybe even Jackie? Enjoy!!

    • Hi Kat!

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. I always love hearing what you think about my post.

      In answer to your question John sells all kinds of stun guns, mace, security cameras, etc. etc. here’s a link to his website http://www.secureall4u.com/blog/. Take a look around. 🙂

      Happy Mother’s Day and I hope yours will be spent with your children too.

      Love & Hugs,
      Tamara

      • Verrrry interesting!! Thanks for the site link, Tamara.
        Love you!
        Kat

  2. Beautiful stuff Tamara! Your talents never cease to amaze me! HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO YOU TOO MY FRIEND!

    • Hi Barbara!

      Thank you for liking my things and for stopping by to tell me. I do appreciate your comments.

      Happy Mother’s Day Dear Friend!

  3. Why do they grow up so quickly and why do boys not like getting dirty? I remember doing finger painting in an attempt to get them used to it! I love the flower – it is really amazing. I bet it is not as easy as you make out! Well done. P.s. Do you read Japanese or is it all diagrams?

    • Hello!

      Actually the flower isn’t hard at all it’s just very time consuming and no I don’t read Japanese. The book is written in English and yes it does have charts. I do have some Japanese books that are in Japanese and I’ve made a few things from them by just following the charts. I do love charts and I do love Japanese books. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by to read my blog and to comment. By the way I love your crocheted wire jewelry that you’ve been making.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • Thank you. Do you know if crochet is big in Japan as there seems to be a lot of books published there?

  4. I would think that crochet is very big in Japan. They sure do have a lot of nice patterns and lots of crochet items that are ready made. It would be fun to find out some how. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

