Posted by: tgonzales | April 30, 2012

April 28-29, 2012 Weekend, Gathering, Marking, Labeling, Dying More Sweaters and a Few Necklaces, and 2 More Bags Completed

My weekend started off with having dinner with my Dear Daughter Friday night. Then afterwards I needed to pick up a few more things before I got knee deep in the finishing touches of my Outdoor Market projects. First I stopped at Michaels to see if they had any aqua dye; no luck but I did find some really pretty Mulberry beads, (that’s not what they’re called, but I think they look like pretty Mulberries)

and these cute flower beads that stack up all together. I thought they might come in handy when I started embellishing some more hand bags. Then I decided to stop at Joann’s to pick up more coverable buttons while their notions were 50 % off. I had a good time just leisurely looking around since John was out of town and I knew I wouldn’t be able to get out on Saturday as I would be trying to finish up projects and set up the mock-booth.

On Saturday morning I started in around 5:00 am; I made some covered buttons,

finished up the owl purse,

re-dyed this sweater and made a covered button to finish it up.

Then while I was re-dying another sweater (no photo yet) and necklace, I pulled the 6-ft. table out of the garage; drug it up 5 steps to the living room, unloaded the clothes rack and drug it down 13 steps to the living room and started laying out all my booth things. I continued to find more and more things.

Then I dyed another sweater and another necklace. Then I stopped long enough to go to lunch with my sister-in-law Ricci and brother-in-law C.W. Thank you Ricci for calling and making me rest for awhile (I needed that).

Around 5:00 pm I decided I needed to go to Material Girls Quilt Shoppe to find just the right color of fabric for a covered button for this newly dyed pretty in pink jacket. The night ended with John arriving home and he couldn’t believe that I had pulled the table and the clothes rack into the living room all by myself. I told him that I kept telling myself, “Where there’s a will, there’s always a way.” He agreed.

Again on Sunday morning I started at about 5:00 am and I decided to get started on laying out embellishments for this hand bag. After 3 hours I had the fabric in place so that I could arrange the crocheted flowers, buttons, and velvety leaves. I decided to take a break and do my ironing and woke up John so that we could go and have breakfast. After that short break I was back at it arranging the flowers, leaves, beads, and buttons.

But not before I started John on a fuzz busting project. Sadly this sweater came out of the dye bath looking like this and knowing how much John loves to fuzz bust I asked him if he would mind doing that for me. So he fuzz busted while I sewed the rest of the embellishments on the hand bag. We both completed our task in about 2 hours. (of course John had to rest and drink coffee and eat some cookies in between) Ha! Ha!

I love how the hand bag turned out and I’m so glad that I stuck with it so that I could add it to the Market booth as well.

The sweater turned out very well too and I do love how it came out now that it’s all fuzz busted so nicely.

I must now go and take the mock-booth down so our living room can become a living room again. John’s face looked like mine when I arrived home that day not so long ago and found my non-working dishwasher out on the curb and the kitchen carpeting on the front porch, you can read about it here. Although when I put all of my things away I will still be able to cook dinner. 🙂 How was your weekend? Did you accomplish everything or lounge as much as you set out to do? I would love to hear about it.


Responses

  1. Oh my gosh your market booth looks great! If I came upon a booth like that someone would have to drag me away. You are so talented. I hope you have a very successful event.

    Hugs!

    • AWWW Linda, you’re so sweet to say that and thanks for the words of encouragement.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. How can you get so much accomplished in one weekend? I love the button necklaces and the pink jacket is really awesome. Next time I clean out my sewing closet I will get you some more buttons (Lord knows I would never miss them). I love the way you’re going to have your booth set up too. Hope you have a good week sue

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks for thinking that I accomplish so much. Sometimes I feel like I just run around in circles. 🙂 You have to remember that this collection is from several years. I sure have had fun dying the few things that I’ve been able to dye and thanks for liking the way I set up my booth.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  3. Tamara!! You are amazing. I can’t wait to see you at the Outdoor Market. I am currently hanging my head in shame in comparrison to your accomplishments!! I love seeing what you can do when you set your mind to something.
    John is so sweet to have helped fuzz bust. Go Gonzales team!

    Stephanie

    • Hi Steph!

      I can’t wait to see you at the Market also and thanks so much for stopping by here to comment. I do appreciate you telling me about the Market.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. What can I say? .. I think you really do not have a 9-to-5 job!!!
    And .. me thinks you need a larger table. heh-heh!! Gorgeous set-up!

    My arthroscopic knee surgery is this Friday. Tomorrow I have my pre-op appt with my dr. Please keep me in your prayers .. and Frank, who shall willingly be at my beck-&-call while my leg bandage disables me. Ha!

    Love ‘n Hugs ~
    Kat

    • Kat,

      I’ll be thinking and praying for you, Frank, and the doctors. Thank you for reminding me and thanks for stopping by to comment.

      Love & ((((HUGS))))
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

