Posted by: tgonzales | April 23, 2012

April 21-22, 2012 Weekend, A Play, Breakfast with My Cousin, New Friends, and My Mom, Time With Megan, Miss Ava, and Baby Truman, and I Think I’m Hooked on Dying

My weekend started off with the last play of the year for Northwest, Amadeus. Of course we couldn’t miss Rian Leigh’s (she’s the one in the yellow dress) last performance as a High Schooler. All the actors did a wonderful job and it’s always nice to see some of the kids that Joshua went to school with and of course the Mom’s and Teachers too.

Saturday morning John and I met up with my Mom, my cousin Sis and her 2 friends (who didn’t want their picture taken) from Oklahoma for breakfast at our little neighborhood restaurant. We had a nice visit and it was very nice to meet Arlene and Joann. I hope they come back real soon and I hope next time I get to spend more time with them.

When we got back home I finished up the pink and gray cardigan and headband that matched the Mary Jane shoes that I showed you from Friday.

Then I decided to try my hand at dying the tan sweater that I showed you on Friday.

While I was waiting for the dye to work its magic I crocheted up a pair of Newborn Mary Jane shoes to go with this sweater and headband. Then I received a call from my Megan that she was bored and wanted to spend some time with me. So I told her to have her Momma bring her over and she could go with me to Aunt Jackie’s house to pick up a few crocheted items that I made for her several years ago that she no longer wants.

We visited with Aunt Jackie for a while and then decided to stop and see Miss Ava and

Baby Truman (and of course it’s always nice to see my Angie and Travis too). 🙂 When it was time for us to leave, Megan was having so much fun that Angie asked if she could please stay and play with Miss Ava. I left her there knowing that she would have so much more fun with Miss Ava than she would ever have with me.

When I arrived back home I checked on the sweater that I had hurriedly hung up to dry before leaving to go to Jackie’s. Can I say how much I love how the sweater turned out? I love how the rose pink dye helped make the sweater take on a beautiful color. Even though I knew it would change the colors in the granny squares I didn’t know how much I would love the new colors. I think I’m hooked.

On Sunday I decided that the newly dyed pink sweater needed to have different buttons, besides that as I was hanging up my clothes from ironing I found some other things that I wanted to dye. So I grabbed up my 40% off coupon for Jo Ann’s and headed to the closest one.

I found the buttons, 4 colors of Rit dye (I’m still looking for a turquoise or aqua), covered buttons in all sizes, and some pretty straight pins. I’m such a sucker for decorative pins and it helped that the notions were 50% off.

Oh and I found the Twelfth Issue of Mollie Makes and how could I resist this one with the crocheted flower and hook? Well I’d better get busy and start the next dye bath and get to cutting little circles out for those covered buttons. How was your weekend?


Responses

  1. I heard all about your visit with Sis and all the beautiful crochet items you’ve been working on. We both agreed that you are very talented and fun to be with and would love to spend more time with you. Love the little pink and grey cardigan and Mary Janes. I also love how the sweater turned out after it was dyed-so pretty. Megan, Ava, and Truman are sweet as ever. We went camping at Lake Keystone over the weekend with Diedra, Pat, and Michael. As always it fun and relaxing to get away. Luv you cuz. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks for liking the things that I do. I would love for you to stop by next time you’re in town. I know it’s hard when you want to spend all your time with John and Amber’s kids. I’m glad you had a relaxing weekend with your daughter, son-in-law and grandson. And thank you for always being here to comment.

      Love you too,
      Tamara

  2. Sounds like you had a very busy weekend! The children are so cute. Well done with dying the cardigan – it looks lovely in pink. I have that issue of the Mollie Makes, there is actually a mistake in the crochet flower instructions (check their website for details, I think it’s something to do with crocheting the pattern on wrong side).

    • Hi Jeannie!

      Thanks for the heads-up on the mistake in the pattern and for liking the dyed sweater (I do love it so much more now). I’ll go to the website to get the correction. And thank you for stopping by to comment. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. OHMYGOSH!!! Ava is soooo tall already!!
    And what an adorable face on Truman!
    Love all your cardigans, etc.
    Glad you had such a fun weekend. 🙂
    Your newly dyed sweater is such a dramatic improvement!
    And now you are hooked on another hobby. LOL!
    Can’t wait to see what else you dye.
    I’m sure you will be finding items that you would just DYE for!!! haw-haw-haw!! 😉

    • HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! You make me laugh. I just love your comments! You make my day.

      Love you Kat!

      • Love U 2, silly Tammy!! 😉

        Huggies!! ~~ Kat

  4. I found the correction for the crochet flower here:
    http://molliemakes.themakingspot.com/blog/mollie-makes-issue-12-crochet-flower-correction

    • Thanks so much! I appreciate it. Have a great evening.

      Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

