Posted by: tgonzales | April 18, 2012

Wednesday Update, A Big Dang Nametag, Two More Washcloths, and It Would Have Been Dean’s 60th Birthday Today

Well it seems like I haven’t accomplished very much since Sunday in the way of crocheting. But I did have 2 KS My Stitch Crochet Guild meetings to conduct on Monday so I do have an excuse. I did complete my nametag for the crochet guild before I left for work on Monday morning.

I chose to make my nametag a little over the top but I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out. I don’t intend on wearing it to guild meetings but I think I’ll just lay it on a shelf where I can pass by it periodically and just look at it.

I found a few single earrings that I lost the mates to and I’m so glad that I didn’t throw them away. I used each one of them to hold the owl and flower onto the nametag.

I managed to make 2 more washcloths and still have 2 more to make to replace the 4 that I sold at the morning guild meeting.

As I know I’ve mentioned before when I first started writing my blog about 2 years ago, I decided to write down my thoughts and my feelings so that I could keep a journal of the things that happen in my life. I try to keep things light and cheery as much as I can. For the most part I feel like I have succeeded. When my brother Dean passed away a year and a half ago my whole world changed. A piece of my heart went with him the day that he died. I do pretty good most days but on special occasions and certain things that happen I’m reminded of how much I miss him all over again. Like today, Dean would have been 60 and I miss him all over again. I would like to leave you with a few captured moments of time with me and Deanie (I loved calling him that) as children and these will help me remember how much I loved him and how I will never forget him.

I miss his laugh that started out way down in his chest and then slowly came out of his mouth; all the while it sounded like he was trying to hold it in and the way he always sounded as I gave him a big hug; like I was squeezing the air right out of him. I especially miss the long talks we would have on the phone just talking about the kids and the grandkids. I wanted to remind everyone who has sisters and/or brothers still living to give them a call or if you live close enough just stop in to see them and give them a hug and tell them that you love them. You just never know when it might be your last time. Thanks to everyone who reads my blog and I love you all!


Responses

  1. What sweet pictures and memories of your big brother! Blessings on you as you’re remembering him today. Hugs!

    • Hi Mindy!

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. 🙂

      ((Hugs back at you))
      Tamara

  2. Looking at those pictures, I feel I am remembering your brother with you. You write a lovely blog, Tamara. I often visit to re-inspire myself as I’m working on my projects. You’re in my bookmarks & I love coming here. Memories are our second chance at happiness. Very honored to share the memories of your brother with you. God bless.

    • Hi Melany,

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment and helping me to remember my brother. I’m so glad that you enjoy reading my posts and thank you for stopping by to tell me so.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Love your name tag Tammy,especially the embellishments of earrings and buttons. I collect clip earrings and love wearing them also. Jerald used to complain about my collections but I reminded him my collection only takes up a very small space in the bedroom. His collection of antique tractors takes up five acres. Love the family pictures. I know you miss Dean very much, but you have many good memories. Hold on to them. Love you. sw

    • Thanks Sue for making me feel better about my collection of single earrings. And yes Jerald’s tractors do take up a lot more room than your little earring collection does. Thanks for remembering Dean with me today. Love you too, Tamara

  4. good morning tamara, wow! you and i are close to the same age! i bet you are less than 6 months older than me. my brother called me a couple days ago, altho we are far apart, we are very close. we talked long and often. i know how much missing someone hurts, it something that never goes away or diminishes. here’s a hug{tamara} from one sister to another
    love
    sara

    • Hi Sara!

      I was born on December 21, 1956, so I will be 56 this year. I’m so glad that you understand about brothers and sisters. Thank you so much for stopping by to comment; it means a lot to me.

      Hugs Back at You!
      Tamara

      • i was close! 4 months….i’ll be 55 next week.

      • 🙂

  5. What a beautiful post….your photos are incredibly touching. Sending you love and strength xxx

    • Hi MaryAnne,

      I’m so glad you stopped by to read my post and to comment. Thank you for the strength and love sent my way! I do appreciate it.

      ((Hugs)),
      Tamara

  6. Yike-a ma-ru’-ka! That’s my way of saying: “LOVE your BIG name-tag, Tamara!!!” Kurious Kat wans to knowt: what is its size? I can just envision you happily creating that, smiling all the way as you thought of something else to put on it. 🙂

    I looked at each of your memory photos slowly, “walking with you” down Memory Lane. Such razzing you must’ve been given from your 3 older brothers thru the years. I can almost hear Dean’s laugh from reading your description. I do feel the pain of your loss, “little sister”. I also feel your love for Dean and your joy from having so many grand memories of him & with him. God bless you … and HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DEANIE!!

    Here’s a HUG that is BIGGER than your name-tag!!
    {{{{{{{Tamara}}}}}}}
    Love you!
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m not sure how big my nametag is, but I’ll measure it when I get home from work and let you know in the next post. How’s that? And yes I was smiling quite largely as I was adding each and every piece.

      Thanks so much for walking along with my memories today; I do appreciate that. I have such fun memories and as much as I hated the teasing of my 3 older brothers at the time, I would give anything to have him back to tease me just a little more.

      Thanks so much for the huge hug, I felt it clear over here in the land of Oz. 🙂

      Love and Hugs!
      Tamara

  7. Hi, Tamara,
    Sending love to you today. Never apologize for being human and doing what we should all do – celebrate the good times and things and people we share(d) our lives with.
    Grief is a long, twisty path.. I think it is helpful to your readers that you share the loss of someone close to you. Many people are going through loss for the very first time and can see there is a way to remember and honor the person they lost. There is joy in your heart when you remember him, we want you to have that joy.
    I miss my Juanita – the way she said my name, the sound “oogh” she made when you hugged her like that hug was the best thing anyone ever gave her.

    Hugs today to you.

    Steph

    • Steph,

      Thanks so much for understanding and was very sorry to hear of your loss. Thank you for stopping by to comment; it always makes my day a little better when you do. 🙂

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  8. As I wipe my eyes with tears I comment. I never thought I would miss the phone calls wondering If I know where u or gma and gps were. I miss them more than anyone can imagine. And I hope I never forget this day, for some reason it has stuck with me. Maybe because it’s in April like mine or cuz I am like rainman or Justin Harper when it comes to bdays. Lol! Whatever it is, I love that I always remember it.

    • Jennifer,

      It’s also the day before your Dad and I were married and exactly one week before your birthday. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      I love you!
      Your Mommy

      • I am aware of all of that too. Lol

  9. We were in Western Kansas today for my husbands uncle’s funeral. I want to say amen to what you said about letting family know you love them. It is probably one of the most important things we do – build family relationships. I loved your pictures and the “vintage furniture” in the background. It could have been the home i grew up in:)

    Kaye

    • Hi Kaye!

      I’m sorry about your loss. Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. It means a lot to me. I never even thought about the furniture, but I do remember the pieces very well. 🙂

      Love You,
      Tamara

  10. All weekend long I kept thinking, “We should be having a huge birthday party.” My cousins, Pete & Tresa came up for the city wide garage sales and all I could think about was how Dean would’ve loved having a big surprise party. I miss him so much. Love you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

