Posted by: tgonzales | March 26, 2012

March 24-25, 2012 Weekend, Michael’s Run, Thrifting, a few Wichita Landmarks, and Winner Revealed

John was off this weekend so on Saturday we (well really I) decided to go to Michael’s craft store on the east side of town and John is always willing and ready to drive me anywhere. I simply needed to get some more Patons Grace yarn. And of course I couldn’t resist the Mary Engelbreit journals and note cards that I found in the aisle on the way to the yarn, and a few bouquets of artificial flowers on the way to the register. I love how the colors of yarn seem to match the colors in Mary Engelbreit’s illustrations and I didn’t even try. 🙂

We left Michael’s and stopped at Yen Ching to eat lunch. Can I say how much I love this restaurant? Oh my gosh I remember eating there a few years ago with our friend Rayma and Jackie and I had forgotten how good it was. The wait staff was wonderful and the food was amazing.

Anyway I asked John if he minded taking me by a few of the thrift stores that I love to visit and of course he loves to go anywhere I want to go (most of the time). But when we are out and about we usually have to visit a QuikTrip at least one time.

While he was inside getting coffee I noticed this little dry cleaner that sits across the street. I always remember the globe on top and the neat shape of the Welch’s Cleaners building. I can’t help but think that it sure would make a cute little diner. John is so nice and positioned the car just right so that I could take a picture of it.

Then on our way to Window to the World thrift store I remembered another little store called Econo Corner that I hadn’t visited for a while. So we stopped in there and I found a few things that had to come home with me. It seems like every time that I go in there they have some really unique crochet hooks and of course they again had some that had to come home with me. If only these hooks could talk they would surely have a tale to tell. I’m not sure why I had to have that little comb, but it says it is hand-made in Switzerland so I think that’s why?

Upon our arrival at Window to the World thrift store we found that they were having a parking lot sale. I had John drop me off while he went to find a place to park. I just couldn’t believe how many people were in the store; they must’ve advertised. After pushing my way past a woman

who was blocking my way to these two lovely pieces of linen

I found this cool basket too.

Then on my way to the register I found a cool turquoise sewing basket and I had that same feeling that I had when I was carrying that piece of wiggley crochet to the register the other day. I just knew someone else wanted that cool turquoise sewing basket too and luckily I had that really big basket to shove it down in and hide it from view. Ha! Ha!

As I was heading to the car where John was waiting on me with a cookie that he bought to go with his coffee; I couldn’t help but stop to take a picture of the sad tub of crocheted afghans that were marked $3/each, and think how much time and love went into each one of them and I couldn’t help but think that some of my crocheted creations will probably end up in one of those sad tubs some day at a thrift store near you. 🙂 As I was photographing my treasures I received a call from my Chacho Aaron and told him that I had to laugh to myself that some day when I’m gone how much fun Jennifer and him will have going through all of these things that I call treasures and they will have to smile and think about how much fun I had rescuing them. All he had to say was “Awwww!” (with a little sadness in his voice)

As we headed for the house I had John stop so that I could take a picture of Wichita North High School tower and bridge that crosses the river leading to the school. John and Jennifer both graduated from this high school and they are both proud to be graduates of one of the oldest Wichita High Schools. I love how they have preserved the school so well.

Anyway across the street from the school is a little mobile home park that has been there for years. There’s one mobile home that has always fascinated me and since John is always up for an adventure he pulled into the park so that I could get a closer look and I was able to get a pretty good picture of it.

I was kind of wishing that someone would come out of it and ask if we wanted to come in to see the inside, but no such luck this time.

When we arrived home John went out to mow the yard and I headed up to Mom’s since my cousin Jay and his family was visiting.

Jay is the next to the youngest child of my Mom’s oldest sister Ruby Lee. I just wished she could’ve seen Jay as a daddy before she passed away. He’s such a good man and a good daddy. It seems funny writing my aunt’s name as Ruby Lee since I always knew her as Aunt Bee. The story of how she got her name goes like this: my oldest brother Tom was my Aunt’s first nephew and when he learned to talk and tried to say Aunt Ruby it came out as Aunt Bee, so that’s how she ended up as Aunt Bee to all her other nieces and nephews who came along after my brother. I have such good memories of our school breaks and part of our vacations spending time at Aunt Bee’s house with her large family. This was a time before computers, Ipads, and electronic games so all we had was each other and lots of Oklahoma red dirt to play with. After having a nice visit with Jay and his family, I headed home to fix dinner for John.

Sunday was filled with more yard work and a little bit of crochet. I finished 6 of the purple series of washcloths.

And oh by the way thank you all for trying to guess my mystery crochet item from my last post.

Here are some of the guesses:

  • Bicycle handlebar cover, “Jackie”
  • Protective cover for a large kitchen knife, “Merri”
  • Dog collar cover or gear shift cover, “Sue”
  • Teapot/coffee pot handle cover, “Jill”
  • Steering wheel cover, “Linda M.”
  • Stick shift cover, “Susie”
  • Seatbelt neck/shoulder strap cover, “Kathy, Mindy, Sara, & Linda A.”

And the correct answer is……….a seatbelt neck/shoulder-strap cover. By the way Amanda says that she loves it. Since there were 4 of you who guessed it correctly I placed your names in a glass dish and since John was out finishing up the yard work.

My Megan was here and she helped her Gran Gran,

she drew a name out and,

I’m happy to announce that Sara has won one of the purple series washcloths and upon me receiving your mailing information I will send it right away. Please email me your info at have_2_crochet@yahoo.com. I hope everyone has a wonderful Monday and thanks again for playing along.


Responses

  1. Wowy, what a full and fun post from your weekend! Loved it all!

    • Hi Susie!

      Thanks for liking my post and for stopping by to tell me you did!

      Love you,
      Tamara

  2. Oh my! What a fun weekend! I would have snagged those afghans and considered washing and frogging them for more creations! Think of how cheap that yarn was for you! What a blast. What wonderful finds at those stores. I’ll have to more carefully check our stores around here. It seems like we never have such amazing and interesting stuff, but maybe I’m just not looking carefully enough. 😉

    The seatbelt covers look great! Congratulations, Sara. Amanda looks very pleased with it, too. =)

    • Hi Mindy!

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment and I would’ve bought the afghans if the yarn wouldn’t have been so nubby. They looked very used and loved hard.

      Thanks Again for playing the guessing game!
      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Good morning Tammy, Looks like you had a wonderful weekend. It reminds me of a short trip to town for breakfast a couple of years ago. Breakfast at Braums and neither one of us was ready to go home, so we thought we would go east on I-40 and just ride around for awhile. We ended up in Arkansas and decided to go north just a little ways. We ended up in Missouri and decided that we better turn back west at some point. Kansas came into view so we toured a little bit of southeast Kansas and turned back south and made it back home at 11:30 that night. We still laugh about our short trip to braums and ended up going through 4 states.
    Love the pictures of little brother Jay and sweet little Shea. It’s been way too long since we’ve seen them and yes my Mom would have loved seeing his baby girl Shea.
    Laundry is in the washer waiting to be put in the dryer so I had better get up and finish it. Have a good week. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      I loved your story about your Brahms trip. It made me smile! 🙂 Thanks for sharing it with us. I hope you have a good week too!

      Love,
      Tamara

  4. wow! thank you tamara! and megan. oh how nice, i’m so excited.
    that is the coolest high school, just beautiful. i went shopping this weekend too and found all kinds of goodies but i never remember my camera. i had the same revelation a few weeks ago, my things will end up at a thrift store one day. it’s fine with me, the more they are loved in their lifetime the better
    again, thank you so much
    sara

    • Hi Sara!

      Congratulations on winning one of my creations. I hope you love it as much as I loved making it. I have found out that I need to take my camera every time I leave my house, no matter how far I will be going. My husband and my relatives sometimes wonder why I carry my camera every where I go, but you just never know when there might be a photo opportunity. So I encourage you to leave it somewhere close at hand so you will remember to take it with you.

      I will prepare your package this evening when I get home from work and mail it in the morning. Thanks for being here to read my ramblings.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. Hi Tamara~

    That one basket really is kewl .. so unique. As for the little round turquoise sewing basket, I just might’ve had to fight you to steal it from ya. HaHa!!

    LOVE that southwestern high school!!! I am very impressed.

    Your mom looks great!!! 🙂

    Yes, that is a unique-looking mobile home. Leave it to you to get photos. [giggles]

    Boo-hoo .. My name was not entered into the drawing, even tho I too had guessed a seatbelt cover. Waaaa…. Even tho I still would not have won, I am going to have to spend the rest of my day crocheting in order to feel better. 😉

    • Hi Kat!

      We would be dangerous if we shopped together, huh? It sure would be fun though.

      I am so very sorry that I didn’t get your name added to the drawing, but you know I will make it up to you somehow, right? Darn it, I loved that the only way to make you feel better was to crochet all day. I wished I could crochet all day too. 🙂

      Love you,
      Tamara

  6. Oh yah, Tamara, what a FUN ‘dangerous’ we would be, shopping together. LOL!
    Sorry .. I did not really crochet all day… I just got up from a nap. I know, I know — now you are *really* jealous, huh? hahaha!!!
    P.S. Emma is still cat-napping. 😉

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m happy to report I was able to lay down for about an hour after I returned home from work today. It feels good to be able to rest for a little while without any disturbances. So this time I’m not jealous. 😉 That Emma has such a hard life, doesn’t she? Ha! Ha!


Leave a Reply

Categories

