Posted by: tgonzales | March 2, 2012

It’s Friday Again, My Bathroom Curtains, Another Jar Jacket, and Another Crocheted Hat

Well here it is Friday again and I’m very glad to have a few days away from my real job; the one that pays the bills. Rosina and I have been covering the front desk for the new Administrative Assistant/Accounts Payable person because she’s been sick. I really don’t like the front desk; because for one the whole setup of the desk area is not ergonomically correct and it’s not my desk, so it’s just not comfortable. Anyway, we both need a break. It’s just hard when one person is gone, you know like when you lose your favorite hook or thimble, nothing is the same without them. Ok, that’s enough about that!

My dear husband was true to his promise of hanging the bathroom curtain rods and he was so kind as to hang the curtains up too. He seemed to be very pleased with himself and I was very pleased too; after not having curtains in there for 5 years, even though we did have a shade it just seemed so bare. Now it looks finished. Oh by the way he hung the curtain rods in the kitchen too, so you all know what that means, right? Yes I have to actually get the fabric out and cut and sew up the curtains. Maybe between the other weekend things I’ll get the curtains done too.

Now on to the crochet! I made another jar jacket, but this is actually a cover for a vase. I love how it turned out all curvy and I added the little drawstring to pull in a row that was a little loose, but I do love how the string looks all tied up into a bow. 🙂

I’ve also been working on another crocheted hat for my co-worker Tom. He’s the one who had me make his daughters hats for Christmas and then had me make his wife Connie a Mother Hood. Just for the fun of it I made his two grandsons (Kyle and Jaden) and granddaughter (Kira) hats and he told me the other day that while he was taking care of Kira he lost the hat that I had made her. Come to find out Kira loved her hat and her Mother (Tom’s daughter) did too. Tom was upset with himself for losing the hat and asked me to make her another one just like it.

Thank goodness I had pictures, but it seems that I can’t remember from my computer to the living room the shade of pink that I used for the first one, because I used the pale pink instead of the medium pink. And how can I not remember how to make the flower for the hat, after making all of those flowers for all of those hats before Christmas. Thank goodness I have one hat left here with a flower on it so that I can use it for a pattern. You would think that I would learn after all of these years to write the pattern down, but I still don’t seem to do it. Oh well, back to the drawing board. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and I would love to hear what you’ve been up to.


Responses

  1. I left a comment earlier this morning and it disappeared. If I get time later I well see if I can leave it again. It’s probably floating around in cyber space somewhere between Oklahoma and Kansas. haha

    • Hi Sue,

      I’m sorry about your comment and I do hate it when that happens to me too. I never can think of the same words to say once they’re gone. 🙂

      Love you,
      Tamara

  2. tamara, i just have to tell you how surprised i am that you aren’t making beautiful lace curtains for your kitchen. a beautiful flower filet, or a rose pattern………they would tie in so beautifully. when i get my new kitchen that’s what i hope to do. i love the look of them
    sara

    • Hi Sara!

      AWWW you are so funny! I don’t think I want crocheted curtains in my kitchen; I might get something foody on them and it wouldn’t come out. I would love to see your crocheted curtains for your kitchen though. Thanks so much for being here to read my blog and comment. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. How nice of your hubby to hang those curtains for you:)

    I LOVE the vase jacket. I have a glass table top and this would be perfect for my table top. Ideas…..

    Love the hats as well. Always something on your hooks, Tamara. Where DO you find the time to fit it all in?

    • Hi Merri!

      Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and comment. I love the idea of the glass jars and vases; because you can use them for dry things or fill them with water and put fresh cut flowers in them. And regarding always something on my hooks, you are so right about that. I just have to crochet; it helps me to destress and heaven knows I’m always stressed out about something. 🙂

      Love & Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Whoo-boy … you cannot have a curtain rod up without curtains on it…. so get busy sewing, Miss Tamara. LOL
    Your bathroom curtains look so sweet. Great job, John!

    That is a VERY purrty jacket for your curvy vase. How do you make all these jackets/coats for so many different sizes of jars/cans??? I mean, how do you know how many stitches, etc.?

    I *love* the pink/grey hat with the very colorful flower. What a bummer that so many of your hats were lost. Well, look at it this way …. some other people are now blest by having found them. 😉

    Yes, yes, YES!! Write down those patterns! You know people are going to ask for your patterns. Look at it this way …. it is easier to have to write down just one pattern while you are ‘in the process’ than it is to have to write down a bunch of them, playing catchup. 🙂
    I know you would much rather be crocheting than writing a pattern …. but it will “pay off” when you start selling those patterns, Crochet Whiz. 😀

    Keep on crochetin’ & postin’!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I just love reading all your comments! They make me smile and thank you so much for always being here!

      Love you,
      Tamara

  5. Have you thought about putting the label on the wrong side? I love, love, love all your covers. i have made some but, you know me, I just have a hard time using more than one or two coordinating colors.
    Kaye

    • Hi Kaye,

      In answer to your question about the tag being on the wrong side. I usually place the tag on the wrong side when I make crocheted garments, but with these I thought the tag looked rather handsome on the outside. 🙂 I can’t wait to see your can cozies. You’ll have to bring them to next months guild meeting.

      Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

