Posted by: tgonzales | February 15, 2012

Valentine’s Day Remembered

First of all I wanted to mention that I’m very pleased with the progress on my Dahlia Throw. I still love all 42 colors that I have chosen and am very excited to start adding the border to the outside edge. I hope it turns out as good as it looks in my head. LOL

Second of all I hope everyone had a wonderful Valentine’s Day. Sorry I forgot to mention that in my last post. As I’ve gotten older the holidays can go by without me even noticing or thinking about them. But there’s one Valentine’s Day that I remember very clearly.

That year my Daddy called me the week before Valentine’s Day and asked if I would have lunch with him and go shopping with him to buy a doll for Mama (that’s what he called her). Well I sure couldn’t turn him down but at the same time it shocked me, because all those years of growing up I never once saw my Daddy give my Mom a gift. They were always very frugal with their money only spending it on the things that were necessary. I remember my Daddy always turned over his paycheck to my Mom who in turn would give him a few extra dollars to save or spend on whatever he wanted. I loved it when he would shout over his shoulder to my Mom that he didn’t have any money and at the same time with a wink of his eye and that infectious smile on his face opened up his wallet to show me bills hiding behind his driver’s license. He thought he was tricking my Mom, but my Mom always knew he had money stashed in his wallet. Anyway we went to lunch and then we went to a store at the mall that sold dolls.

He searched for just the right one and he pulled out those bills from his wallet and paid cash for the doll. I think we went right home and he gave the doll to her, I can’t remember how she looked or if she was surprised but I don’t think she was as surprised as I was. My Daddy apparently bought my Mom more dolls after that, but they were old dolls that needed fixing and dressed. She loved making clothes for the dolls complete with slips and under garments; they always included the trims, ruffles, or whatever else she decided to add to the clothing.

A few weeks ago when I told you about my Mom wanting to sell her dolls and when we were visiting with the lady from the new doll shop about all of Mom’s dolls, my Mom got teary eyed when she recalled how happy my Daddy was when he gave her the dolls. I asked Mom if she wanted to sell those too and she sternly said NO. I guarantee the doll that Daddy gave to Mama that Valentine’s Day so very many years ago will not be sold, not now or ever. I’m not sure what made me think of this story but I think I just needed to remember it and write it down before I did forget. Thanks for letting me remember.

I hope everyone is having a good week and I wanted to wish everyone a Happy Wednesday.


Responses

  1. Tamara
    Thank you for remembering and writing it down.
    I love that story and yes I remember it well.
    We are so blessed to have such wonderful parents and memories.
    Lol
    Jackie

    • Jackie,

      Thanks for stopping by to remember with me. I appreciate everything that our parents did for us. Even though Daddy is gone no one can take our memories away from us. 🙂

      Love,
      Tamara

  2. What a touching story, Tamara and one that needs to be remembered. Thanks so much for sharing.

    • Hi Jeanne,

      Thanks for reading my blog and thanks for always being here. I have really enjoyed reading about what’s been going on at your house lately. I just love the cards you’re making. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Just precious!

    • Thanks Mindy!!! I thought so too.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Sweet post indeed! It is a wonderful thing to write down those great memories!

    • Hi Susie,

      Thanks for stopping by to comment and thanks for being here.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  5. I love how the afghan is coming together, of course I knew it would be beautiful. I also love your memory of going shopping with your Dad to buy your Mom a beautiful doll. She had so many dolls and to be honest I always loved the ones that she restored because of all the detail that she put into making their clothes. I still admire her sewing abilities so much. Love her very much. sw

    • Thanks Sue for being here to remember with me. I loved how she made the clothes too and she made sure she added just the right details to each one. I loved your Mom too.

      Love you,
      Tamara

      • Thanks Tammy I still miss her after all these years.

  6. Your Dahlia throw is definitely a stunner Tamara. It’s just going to be another beautiful piece that you’ve completed. I’m so happy for you in that you have so many wonderful memories with your parents. I love the story of the dolls.

    Hugs XX
    Barbara

    • Hi Barbara!

      It’s nice to hear from you and thank you for loving my throw and my memories of my parents.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  7. Tamara! You are so fast. Your Dahlia Throw is looking great. Can’t wait to see what you do with the edging.

    Your ‘daddy story’ brought tears to my eyes. That is such a special Valentine’s Day memory you have.

    I love the photo of them holding a photo of their younger selves. Keep writing down your memories; they are priceless & so purrecious.

    Love you!
    Kat

    • Oh Kat!

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. Especially when I know you are so busy with other things this week. But thank you from the bottom of my heart for liking what I write.

      Love you My Dear Friend!

  8. What a sweet story. My dad always bought my mother dresses. He somehow knew her size and the colors that would look good on her. After she had her ears pierced he would buy her earrings too. One of my best friends wrote her family history in little “spurts” just like you. She had three boys and after they were all married and started a family she put her history together into a book. I got to proof read it for her. Let me tell you I laughed and cried a lot and knew it would be a priceless treasure for her boys. It made me want to write a family history too. Thanks for sharing so much with us.
    Kaye

    • Kaye,

      Thank you for sharing your story with me. I love hearing about your life too and I bet the book that your best friend wrote was very neat. I can’t even imagine writing a book though! Thank you so much for your encouraging words to me; I do appreciate them so much.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

