Posted by: tgonzales | February 3, 2012

Things I’m Grateful for this Friday, February 3, 2012

I’ve been stressed out the last few weeks with trying to keep up with things at work. When I feel like I’m running around in circles and not accomplishing any one thing it makes me a little, let’s say crabby, grouchy, snippy or all of the above. Anyway, I don’t like it when I feel this way and it shows in my expressions and the smile that’s usually on my face is turned upside down. So yesterday I decided to think about things that make me smile and here are some of the things that I’m grateful for:

Being able to have cans on my shelf so that I have something to eat and to crochet around when they’re empty. 🙂

A card from my dear sweet friend, Kat who doesn’t even know how much it cheered me up this week. (but, I bet she knows now) 😉

A new crochet ribbed cowl pattern sent to me by another sweet friend and wow did it ever brighten my sad week. Thank you Merri! I love how my cowl turned out and will assume that we will have some cold weather soon so that I can wear it?

This little card that earns me bonus points when I use it at our local supermarket

& it saved me 10¢ per gallon on gasoline. I never in a million years would’ve thought that I would be glad to see $3.09 per gallon, but every little bit helps, right?

For the beautiful weather we have been having this week; yesterday it actually reached 66°. I’ve always wondered what it would look like to take a picture of my fat feet and shoes, like I see on other peoples’ blogs. Ha! Ha! Now I know and I just want to get the fuzz buster out and tackle all those fuzz balls on my dress, yuck. And we are getting some well deserved rain today, maybe I won’t have to water in February after all. 🙂

This red cardinal who hangs out in our backyard even though everything seems to be so dry and dead; it must be because my husband feeds him?

A neat 1940’s book of crochet patterns that I love and I love that they have all these cute little illustrations; like this cute little cherub crocheting.

Cute afghan pattern that I found in the 1940’s crochet book and I love all the colors that I have chosen for mine.

These beautiful plants that greet me as I walk in my front door.

Sweet friends that hang out with me here for awhile 3 times a week; thank you for being here to make my weeks go by so much sweeter. Last but not least I’m grateful for my family who put up with me whether I’m smiling, crying, griping, or frowning. I would love to hear what you are grateful for. Have a great weekend and I’ll talk to you soon.


Responses

  1. Hi Tamara,

    I’m thankful for: 2 beautiful granddaughters and a family who loves me; a very sweet man in my life who loves me; Friends who are always there for me; yarn-not sure I could make it through the day without this, lol; the beautiful earth and trees and sunshine and…; waking up in the morning, some days you just never know; a roof over my head, clothes on my body (everyone else is thankful for this one too ROFL), and food in my belly. I’m sorry you have been having it rough, hopefully things will get turned around for you soon, hugs, Mary

    • Hi Mary,

      Thank you so much for telling me all the things that you are grateful for and thank you for being here to tell me.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. I never know exactly what I will find on your posts, Tamara, but I know that when I read them, I feel good. I am thankful that you share, that you are honest, that you are a sweet, gentle reminder to BE THANKFUL, even for the tough stuff.
    I am thankful that I am free to choose almost everything that I do, wear, eat, see, experience, read and do with my spare time.. and that I have wonderful people in my life to talk to about it all with later. I am thankful that you remind me that I also have a choice as to my attitude about the rest of it.

    Happy rainy day. I love this weather.
    Steph

    • Hi Steph,

      Thank you so much for being here and for stopping to tell me what you are grateful for. 🙂

      Love you,
      Tamara

  3. There are many things that I’m grateful for-God, my husband, children, and grandchildren are among the most important in my life. Extended family, and a multitude of friends, my home, and the electricity and gas that powers it. The shelter where I volunteer and knowing that one person can make a difference in so many lives. ( I still cry sometimes when I leave there). The military and there families who sacrafice so much so we can have the freedom that we have. This is just a small bit of my blessings. Hope you have a blessed day. sue

    • Hi Sue,

      It sounds like you also have lots of things to be grateful for. I love hearing about all of them. I know what you mean about volunteer work; I do love it but it sometimes makes me cry too. It’s so nice that you have such a worthwhile cause to be excited about and I know they benefit from you helping out at the shelter.

      Love you Cousin,
      Tamara

  4. I’m grateful for you and all you do, Tamara! Your blog has an unique touch to it that has the ability to, inspire, teach, cheer me up, and make me feel a connection to you despite the fact we have never met. You’re fantastic & thanks for taking the time to share with us. Your abilities are truly amazing! ~hUgS~ Tammy

    • Tammy,

      Thank you so much for liking the things that I do and talk about and being grateful for it. You made my Day!!!

      (((Hugs))) back to you,
      Tamara

  5. i am most thankful to be alive and have the ability to use a computer to tell you that, lol. a semi- truck ran a stop sign right in front of me and i t-boned right into the drivers door, missing the fuel tank by less than 2 inches. i was going 55 and i tried my best to stop. i’m thankful for my husband who loves me no matter what, my 7 children and 12 7/9’s grandchildren. my home, my dogs. i am very thankful to not be in a wheelchair yet. it’s coming and we all know it but for now i am thankful for the person who invented canes and walkers!
    it will get better tamara, go hug your husband
    sara

    • OH MY Gosh Sara,

      You are a very lucky and blessed person to be alive to enjoy your husband, children, and grandchildren. thanks for sharing your story with me and I thanks for the recommendation of hugging my hubby. I just did several times. 🙂

      Love to you and your Family,
      Tamara

  6. Hey Tamara! Your crocheted can cozies make ME smile too. Betcha didn’t know that, huh? HAW HAW HAW!!!

    Awww…. ’tis so good to hear my kitty card brought you some cheer this past week. The Lord does know when someone needs cheering, even when we do not. His timing is purrfect. [mew]

    I know what ya mean about how crazy it is to be thrilled the cost of gas is around $3.00/gallon. Really crazy! BTW, it is currently $2.87 here … so c’mon over this way and fill up. LOL

    Yikes … 66º at your place! I’d rather have *that* than $2.87/gallon gas!! [I cannot see the fuzz balls on your dress.]

    You are SO BLEST to have that cardinal in your yard. I have NEVER seen one in purrson. 😦

    Oh goody! There is crocheting in heaven. … That little cherub proves it. 😉

    Tamara!! You HAVE TO get that photo of John enlarged & framed. It is FANTASTIC!!!!!!!

    So sorry to hear you have “work stress”. Hope that calms down very soon. Just keep on crocheting in the a.m., during breaks, at lunch, in the p.m. — and in your sleep. All that crocheting does create soothing relaxation … that can help you thru your next few hours.

    I am grateful for Jesus Christ, dear Miss Emma, CROCHET, my laptop, the wonderfully mild winter we’ve been having (currently sunny & 40º), the beauty of nature (such an artist God is!) …. of course for my husband …. and OF COURSE –> *YOU, TAMARA*, and all that Stephanie & Tammy said about you. You ARE unique …. someone I admire. And I thank the Lord for bringing us together, via CROCHET.

    Love you!!
    ~ Kat ~

    • Oh Kat!

      You are so sweet and kind and I love hearing all about what you are grateful for. Love you my friend!

      Tamara!

  7. Tamara, I am thankful for your sweet blog, which always puts a smile on my face. I came home from work after a very stressful day with one of my classes and read your blog. It helped me to remember that there are lots of things that I am thankful for as well: my husband of almost 28 years, two lovely daughters, my little Bichon Frise, who always greets me with that cute little tail wag and happy temperament, my job, friends and family. They are all so important to me. Thank you for being so sincere.

    • Hi Merri!

      Thank you for the sweet comments and always being here. I do appreciate you so much and I’m so glad that you shared all the things that you’re grateful for.

      Love & Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

