Posted by: tgonzales | January 25, 2012

Yuck! I’m Sick!!!!!

I hate it when people whine about being sick, but I don’t feel well. I started feeling bad on Monday at work. It started off with that scratchy and tight feeling in my throat.

So before I went to bed John medicated me with Airborne and Nitetime medication. John would like for me to use his Vick’s Vapor Rub but I grew up with Mentholatum, so I had to have my trusty Mentholatum by my side. I grew up with Mentholatum and so did both of my children. Joshua even called and asked if I could send him some so that he would have it whenever he caught a cold. That made me smile. Tuesday morning I woke with the same symptoms but worse and then I also had the body aches along with it. I have tried so hard not to catch a cold but I must’ve finally slowed down enough to get it. I will continue to down the Vitamin C’s, drink the Airborne, and swallow the Nitetime pills until I feel better. As I was whining about my aches and pains to John, I couldn’t help but remember the times that I would complain to my Mom about something hurting and her answer was always, “let me kiss it and Oh Tamara it will feel better when it stops hurting.” Then I would think to myself, “thanks Mom; I think I already knew that it would feel better when it stopped hurting.” It’s funny what you think about when you’re not feeling well, huh? I’m just glad that I don’t have the stomach flu also. 😉

Anyway, before I felt so bad that I couldn’t even hold a hook in my hand I made some progress on my afghan.  How about all of you? I hope everyone is doing well and are able to enjoy doing what you like to do best. I love you all and thank you for being here.


Responses

  1. Tamara, I am so sorry that you aren’t feeling well. I, too, have been fighting a bad cold and I think (knock on wood) that I am almost over it now. The doctor orders lots of rest and TLC for you! Get better.

    • Hi Merri,

      I am feeling so much better today and I appreciate your get well wishes. I hope you are still feeling better and please have a wonderful weekend.

      Love & Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Sorry that you aren’t feeling well. Hope that you feel better real soon. Hugs to you.

    • Hi Kelly,

      Thank you so much for stopping by to extend the get well wishes. I’m doing much better today.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Tamara, I sure hope you kick this bug to the curb quickly! Too bad that neat afghan isn’t done yet, you could snuggle under it while getting better. Somehow I think you must have an afghan around your home that is snuggle worthy.

    Hugs!

    • Hi Jeanne,

      Thank you for stopping by to comment. I do appreciate your get well wishes and you are so right about another afghan lying around. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. aww, pobre mama. i hope you feel better soon. you told me you would “kiss it to make it feel better” also. :] i love you!

    • Hi My Chacho Aaron!!

      I thought maybe you would get a kick out of the let me kiss it to make it feel better. Love you too! The End!

      Momma

  5. Sorry you aren’t feeling well. I had the flu a week or so ago and I lost 6 pounds in two days. I hadn’t felt that bad in several years. If I was there I would make you some chicken noodle soup to help you feel better. My Mom used to rub mentholatum on our chest and throat and then tie a red bandana around our throat, then she would feed us chicken noodle soup and hot tea. Get well soon. Sue

    • Sue,

      I remember when you were sick; I’m so glad that mine wasn’t that kind of flu and I feel so blessed that I was only down for a few days. I’m so glad that you’re feeling better too. Thanks for the memories of the chicken noodle soup and hot tea.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  6. Sorry to hear that you are not feeling well………I swear by mucinex, but get the one from behind the pharm counter it has more punch to it. Looks like your arsenal of helpful goodies are are ready to make you feel better. I do love Ricola cough drops! Rest up my friend, thinking we need another Friday fish night soon!

    • Hi Susie,

      Thank you for the mucinex information. My Mom swears by it too. I did love my Ricola lozenges; they helped alot. I agree with you that we need another Friday fish night real soon. I’ll check with John’s schedule for next month and see if there are any Friday’s that he will be off.

      Love you my Friend,
      Tamara

  7. Oh, ick! Hope you’re feeling better soon! Gorgeous work on the afghan! I have one to post that I finished up yesterday. I LOVE it!

    • Hi Mindy,

      Thank you for the get well wishes. I love what you’ve been making and I wanted to let you know that I do keep up with your blog but don’t always have the time to post a comment.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  8. STOP THE SICK!
    GET WELL QUICK!!

    I hope you are staying home from work during this time. You cannot rest at work (or *can* you? LOL).

    FTR, we used Vicks VapoRub. Sounds crazy now …. but I remember my dad, after rubbing it onto our chests, dabbing a little bit of it onto our tongues — like that would help our throats. YUK!!

    STOP THE SICKIES!!
    GET WELL QUICKLY!!!

    • Hi Kat,

      Thank you for the chant; it must have helped because I’m all better now! 🙂

      I loved hearing your memories of Vicks vapor rub. What a hoot about your Dad adding it to your tongues. YUCK!

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  9. Hi mom I’m sorry your sick I had the plague a few weeks ago and was out for 3 days I hope you get better soon.
    BTW I love that afghan.

    • Oh Wendy!!!!

      I miss your smile and yes I’m doing much better now. Thank you so much for stopping by to comment and for liking my afghan.

      Love you,
      Tamara (Momma)

  10. Love how your afghan’s coming along! The black and blues colors remind me of the one I just finished, and love that color combination, as the black makes the blue really POP! Very striking, and very pretty!… Sorry to hear you’re under the weather. Take care of you, and feel better soon! ((hugs))

    • Tina,

      I do keep up with your blog and really do love the afghan that you finished and the one that you are making now!!!! By the way I’m feeling much better and do appreciate all your concern about me.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  11. I’ll keep you in my prayers for a speedy recovery. My heart goes out to you, because I was sick for a whole month with similar symptoms. If you have asthma, make sure to see a doctor. I hope that you start get your strength back so you can you hold a hook. If you are home bound twiddling yarn is the only consolation, while watching a great movie too. Take care!

    • Heather,

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. I’m doing much better now and I do appreciate the idea of just twiddling with yarn when I’m sick. I never thought about that!

      Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

