Posted by: tgonzales | January 16, 2012

January 14-15, 2012 Weekend, Friends, Family, Memories, and Crochet

Well my weekend started off with the baby shower for my co-workers; Nikki and Ben loved the little Furrylicious Boots and Furry hat that I made for their baby girl who will be born very soon.

Then John and I met up with Susie and Korey for dinner and a movie out. We went to see “We Bought a Zoo”. It’s always fun getting together with Susie and Korey and I loved the movie; even though it did make me cry. I would highly recommend this movie to anyone who wants to see a feel good movie.

Saturday morning I finished up another Mother-Hood that I made for another one of my co-workers. I love the way it turned out and I think the color will look really good on her. Then I made plans to meet Rosina for lunch at Tanya’s Soup Kitchen. It’s always nice getting together with her and I loved that I was with her for her first experience trying Tanya’s. Rosina had signed up for a knitting class at Twist and we just happened to have a couple of hours before her class, so we visited some thrift stores. Of course as usual I found a few things at both of the shops. I found some newborn baby clothes that will be perfect for Megan to play with when she comes over and dresses my baby doll. I loved hanging out with Rosina and spending some quality time with her. I always have a good time when we are together.

Then I headed home to finish up another Cheerful Carnation Pillow that I had been commissioned to make for a babies room. I loved how the pillow turned out and I think it will add just the right contrast and texture to the room.

Then I got a call from my Mom telling me that a friend of mine who was a next door neighbor and a classmate, Linda Inkelaar (this is a picture of her our Freshman year on the left) was in town from Georgia and she was going to stop by my Mom’s house for a visit. So I went to my Mom’s and spent the evening there.

It was nice catching up with Linda and remembering how in the community we lived in; it was like we were all family. I still remember how we played together after school at each other’s houses.

I bet you can’t guess which one is me? We also reminisced about our dear friend Francine who was pictures on the right next to Linda. She was so funny and had such a wonderful personality. I still remember how she got sick while we were in high school and ended up passing away after a short battle with Leukemia. This end to such a short life was a tragedy that our little community of family and friends had never had to deal with before. Our school allowed whoever wanted to attend the funeral, because they knew we would anyway. 🙂

It was fun remembering back when my older cousins from Oklahoma (Sis, Sue, Jim, John, and Ruthie) had come to our house for the weekend and how the Inkelaar’s came over to our house with their rock and roll records. I had remembered that the only records we had in our house were the old 78’s with “How Much is That Doggie in the Window” by Patti Page. I told Linda that I remembered this so well because we never grew up around anyone who danced. So it was a treat to watch her oldest brother Johnny and sister Marie dance and man could they ever dance. I loved watching them dancine the jitterbug and twist. Linda even reminded me that Johnny and Marie had won dance contests. Anyway I had a good time visiting with and my Mom and I will keep in contact with Linda by email.

Sunday we met John’s sister Ricci and her husband C.W. for breakfast. It’s always nice catching up with what’s been happening with them.

After breakfast we came home and I cooked and I made a pair of Little Prince Loafers designed by Elizabeth Alan, she also designed this cute little shoe pattern called Little Mister Loafers. I just love all of her little crochet patterns. You can find them on Ravelry and she’s also on Facebook, just look her up at “The Lovely Crow”. I hope everyone had a good weekend & hopefully you all have a wonderful week. I would love to hear about your weekend.


Responses

  1. Hi Tamara, You sure do fit an awful lot in to a weekend! Love all of your crochet projects. The second Mother-Hood that you made looks fabulous on you and I really love the color combination you used. Was it self striping or did you add the different colors as you went along? You have such an eye for color.

    Have a super weekend!

    • Good Morning Merri!

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment and thanks for liking all the things that I do. The yarn is from Premier yarns; Deborah Norville’s Everyday Soft Worsted Weight self striping yarn and the colors name is Beach.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Hi Tammy, I remember watching Johnny and Marie doing the jitterbug and twist. It brings back fond memories and wondering how they could move so fast and to the beat of the music. I agree with Merri, you do have an eye for color and you use it very well. sw

    • Hi Sue. I’m glad I brough back good memories for you and I also wondered how they could move so fast. But I’m sure that came from lots of practice. Thanks for liking all my things too.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  3. It’s funny about your friend and a couple that visited church on Sunday. Their name is Inkeelar(sp?). They used to live here in Wichita but moved to the Newyon area years ago. They have 11 children and Mrs. Inkeelar is one of 16 children. I wonder if your friend and the church couple are related???? I love the baby shoes too! I need to try something different for awhile.
    See ya later!

    Kaye

    • Kaye,

      I’m sure they are related in some way. How old was the couple? If they were in their 30’s or 40’s it might have been one of Marie’s children, because she had 15 or 16 children. Wouldn’t that be neat if they were her children?

      It was good seeing you at guild today and can’t wait until tonight.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. hi tamara, just wanted to say i just love your blog! i hope you are going to tell us which photo is of you, i have made my guess! and i just started my own blog and added yours as one of my favorites, i hope you don’t mind
    sara

    • Hi Sara,

      I’m so glad that you started your own blog and I love that you added me to your favorites. That’s what I love about my blog family; we help each other out just like real family does. In answer to your question about the photo; yes I plan on revealing the real Tamara in my next blog post. Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. I’m going to post your blog as one of my favorites too.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. LOVE your newest Cheerful Carnation Pillow color combo!!!!!

    I still think your weekend has more days in it than everyone else’s, for as much as you DO!!

    I thought for sure you would tell us at the end of this post … But no, you are keeping us guessing. Purrsonally, I don’t think you are in ANY of those pics. LOL!! But since you say you are, I too have my guess.

    P.S. LOVE those colors in your gorgeous pillow for baby’s room!!! 🙂

    • Hi Kat!

      Thank you so much for liking the pillow and you make me laugh when you say I must have more days in a weekend because of all the things that I do. Thank goodness there are some weekends that I don’t do much of anything. Yes I am one of the girls in the photo, and yes I’ll reveal which one is me tomorrow. Thanks so much for stopping by.

      Love & HUGS!
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

