Posted by: tgonzales | January 2, 2012

December 31, 2011-January 1, 2012 Weekend, Family, Friends, and Tom

My weekend started out peaceful, Friday evening I watched a movie with John,

I finished Rocky’s sweater and

I found some of the cutest little shoe patterns; these patterns are designed by sisters Kris and Lorin and you can find their patterns here. I had a hard time limiting myself to just 8 of the patterns. I loved all of their baby boy shoe patterns since cute boy patterns are so hard to find. I’ll make sure I post the finished products as soon as I complete them.

Saturday morning I finished up the other dog sweater for Daisy, I can’t wait to see how they work out for them and yes I had to put a flower on hers just for embellishment. I’ll make sure I post pictures of them too, I told John I might have to take him along so that he can take the pictures of me with the dogs in their sweaters.

I also met my dear friend Alice at Twist and we ended up doing our traditional run to our favorite Mexican restaurant down the street. Alice is the one on the left with the diet Dr. Pepper and Susan is one my favorite sales people at Twist.

Then on our return we had enough time to sit and visit and get a few stitches in and I also found a bargain I couldn’t pass up and I had a little help from Diane one of my other favorite sales people at Twist. She explained to me that I could dye the yarn to whatever color I wanted to, so I took her up on it. Thanks Di! 😉

While I was at Twist I got a phone call from my Mom telling me that my sister-in-law Linda was taking my oldest brother Tom to the emergency room, because he was experiencing dizziness along with numbness in his left hand and left leg. As I was leaving Twist I found out that the ER doctors suggested that he go to the hospital to have further tests run, so I ran home and picked up John and headed to the hospital.

Upon our arrival we found Tom in a hospital gown and he was still wearing his ball cap, it made me smile. We found out that he had a mini-stroke or TIA, you can read all about that here. Tom is in very good spirits and knows that he’s where he needs to be right now. He was pretty surprised to receive phone calls from 2 of our cousins while I was there. He asked me “I wonder how they find out?” I told him that the news was all over Facebook and news travels very fast on there. He reminded me how he used to tease our brother Dean about how fast he could spread news. He said that there were 3 ways to get the word out and one was telegram, the other one was telephone, and the last one was Tell-Dean. Then he told John the story of how he remembered when the school bus that we all rode to and from school had been in an accident. Our bus driver swerved to avoid a head-on collision with a sand truck and when she did the bus fell off the pavement and ever so slowly tipped over on its side. I still remember seeing seats flying and kids flying. Tom recalled that he, Dean, and Terry were the only ones on the bus that were older than middle school age children. My brother Tom tried to open the back emergency door and it would only open a small amount. He said he remembered hearing the weirdest sound come from our brother Dean as he gave the door a shove. Dean managed to open the door enough to get himself out and Tom told Terry to stay outside the door as he handed the children out to him. At one point Tom asked Terry where Dean was and come to find out he had gone to the gas station on the corner to give my Mom a call so that she wouldn’t be worried since we had not arrived home yet from school. There had been two buses that were following our bus and of course they had stopped to help. Apparently there was one high school student assigned to each bus to keep the children in order so that they other two bus drivers could come and assist with the children that were hurt. Anyway, I found out something while listening to this story from my brother on Saturday that I never knew or I had forgotten, but all three of my brothers plus the two students that were on the other buses were all given hero awards during a special assembly a week or so later. But I’ll tell you this; all of my brothers were and are heroes in my eyes with or without an award. It was nice visiting with my brother and sister-in-law and reminiscing about old times. I’m praying that the doctors get to the bottom of this and everything will be ok and Tom will get to go home soon.

Sunday I offered to take my Mom to the hospital to see Tom and after she visited with him on the phone she decided that she wouldn’t go up. So we decided to go to lunch and then go back to her house to try and put some more of her jigsaw puzzle together that she and Jean started on Saturday. Either I’m getting dumber or they’re making puzzles harder to put together, either way I’m very pleased to see that my Mom is still willing to take on a challenge like the 1,000 piece puzzle she was attempting. It was nice just to spend time with her trying to find pieces of the puzzle and keeping her mind going. How did you spend your weekend?


Responses

  1. I love the little purple booties. You are so talented. The picture of Tom is very good. I’m so very thankful it was a ministroke that sidelined him
    for just a little while. We both know what those big strokes can do and besides Tom is too ornery to have a big one. I love that guy to pieces. When I was about 6 years old I used to think I wanted to marry him when I grew up , he was always taking up for me when my brothers were getting the best of me. Tom was my hero. I had never heard the story about the bus accident and I’m not surprised the boys received hero awards, they were my heros too.

    • Sue,

      Thanks for sharing your love of Tom and thank you so much for being here.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  2. Well Friday morning we said good-bye to the oldest son as he and his wife and youngest son headed back to El Paso after spending a week with us. Saturday I went to the Art Gallery and opened it up for a few hours. I didn’t think there would be any visitors but we had several who came in to buy Art supplies. Sunday was a day of rest except for taking care of Leroy. We watched football games and I made chicken and dumplings. Nice to take a day off! Happy New Year Tamara!

    Hugs XX
    Barbara

    • Barbara,

      I’m so glad that you had the time to spend with your son and grandchild. I’m sure they loved being with you too and thanks for sharing a little bit of your weekend with me.

      Love & Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. oh my goodness this made me happy. :] reading about that bus accident, which i have barely heard anything about, was too cool. and look at grandma go! i wish i could help her put that together. i love you! happy new year!

    • Chacho Aaron!

      I wish you could be here to help too. I’m sure there are lots of stories that you haven’t heard about and some I can’t even remember right now. They just come out sometimes when I least expect it.

      Love you too!
      Momma

  4. My friend from Boston was here and we talked about quilts and Swedish cooking. She made swedish meatballs, swedish potatoes and broccoli for lunch that was sooo good. Imade some of your wash cloths and my family reports that they like them. You know my arthritic hands can’t wring anything out so I have trouble with crocheted cotton cloths for dishes or the body, I also tried my hand at knitting – ugh! I kept coming up with a different number of stitches at the end of each row. Anyway – had a good weekend with good people and good food, what more could anyone want? Loved you school bus story. What treasured memories.
    Kaye

    • Hi Kaye,

      Thank you so much for sharing part of your weekend with me. I always love hearing about what you’re doing.

      Love,
      Tamara

  5. Oh Tamara! I can’t wait to see Daisy in her pink sweater with the flower on it!!

    Leave it to Di to encourage you to dye (your yarn). LOL

    Tom will be fine, Tamara. The cardiologist will do what needs to be done. Is Tom already on heart med? Has he ever had stents put in? (For me, it is YES on both counts.) Maybe you want to assure him that if he behaves himself in the hospital, you will cook him a DELICIOUS meal when he gets out. 😉

    That is sooooo funny about Tell-Dean. hahahaha!!!
    And I love those teenage boys getting HERO awards.

    Working on that huge puzzle is a great past-time for your Mom. I take it she has no cats who would love to help! LOL

    Last nite I began my attempt at crocheting a Mobius Headband. Confusing instructions! Would’ve been nice if there had been step-by-step photos. But I think I finally got it going the correct way, and will finish it tonite (I think).

    • Hi Kat!

      Thank you so much my friend for being here and I can’t wait to hear all about your mobius headband and actually see it.

      Love & Hugs,
      Tamara

  6. Good grief, your poor brother. What a way to start the year off. Glad that they are checking him all out. This getting old is for the birds! I had another sleep study. This time with the mask. Didn’t like that experience one little bit.
    Fun story about the bus.
    Yes, a 1,000 piece puzzle is quite a challenge.
    Aim working in my guest/sewing/craft room today. Kor finished my shelf and I am trying find places for all my stuff!!!
    See you next weekend.
    Suz

    • Hi Susie,

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment and OH MY GOSH I do love, love your shelf. Kori does such a good job and he’s a good man.

      See you on Saturday,
      Love you,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

