Posted by: tgonzales | December 21, 2011

Wednesday Ramblings, 2 More Hats, and Boots Gone Wrong

I was commissioned to make another baby hat out of the pink variegated yarn and she wanted a flower on it too. So here’s what I came up with and I do love how it turned out.

Then my cousin Sue asked me to make a hat for her, before she could answer me on what color she wanted I made this red hat with 3 little flowers on it instead of one big flower. (Sue I promise I will get back to your burgundy hat real soon)

I do love the way this one turned out too and I really love how these cute buttons look in the center of each flower. Then I was thinking since I have 10 buttons all together I wonder what it would look like if I placed flowers all over the hat. I know what my husband would say, “NO don’t add anything else to it, because it looks fine!” What do you think?

I’m sure you all know this already that different brands of medium weight yarn are not created equal. Caron Simply Soft is a thin-medium weight yarn, Hobby Lobby “I Love This Yarn” is a medium-medium weight yarn, and Vanna’s Choice is a thick-medium weight yarn.

I know most of you think that everything that I make; I love. Well if you thought this you would be wrong. I decided to use some of Vanna’s Choice for the bottom of this boot and “I Love This Yarn” as the sides and trim of the boot.

Anyway, as you can see the yarn makes the boot very big. And I don’t really love it, although maybe it will look better on a small child like a 3 or 4 year old? Now I just need to find one to try them on. I’ll make sure I let you know how that goes. 🙂 So what’s going on with all of you? Are you loving what you’re making?


Responses

  1. More lovely hats, Tamara. You make every item so special with your little added touches.

    And here is something special just for you: Happy Birthday! I hope it is fantastically special, like you! Have a great one!

    • Thank you so much Merri.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

    (Oops, I let the cat out of the bag, didn’t I?)

    • OOOPS!! It’s really ok, but thanks for stopping by to comment.

      Love YOu,
      Tamara

  3. I love you so much Tammy. The hat is beautiful and I love the three little flowers on it. You might try it with flowers all over it-if it doesn’t look right you can always take them off and transplant them to something else. If you don’t have time to make a burgandy hat the red one will do fine. sw

    • Sue,

      I love you too cousin. But I already have the burgundy hat made for you and all it needs now are the flowers. I have 2 of the flowers made and I’m trying to figure out where I want to place them, plus it was time to rush out the door to go to work. I can’t wait for you to see it and try it on.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Happy Birthday! Just love those boots… adorable!! =)

    • Oh Mindy!!! Thanks for liking the boots and thanks for the birthday wishes.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. Hey Tamara ~ I like your little “edging design” on the red hat. LOVE those rose buttons!! I agree with John — leave the hat as is. More flowers would, IMO, make it look almost clownish. You have it purrfect right now — and you will get to use your other 7 rose buttons on other hats. Pure beauty!!

    As for your big boot …. Big Foot will love it. hahaha!! 😀

    Yee-haw!! Haaaappy Birrrrthday tooooo youuuuu, our dear sweet – loving – cheerful – creative – adorable – purrecious – Amaaaazing TAMARA!!! I’m sending you a HUGE cypurr HUG!!!!!

    Love you much!!!
    Kat

    • Kat,

      Thank you for the advice on the hat, the big boots, and the huge cypurr hug.

      Love you too,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

