Posted by: tgonzales | December 16, 2011

TGIF! More Hats, a Fun Gift, and a Dog Sweater

I’m getting down to the last few orders that need to be done before Christmas as a matter-of-fact one order needs to be done by today and the other one needs to be done by next Wednesday.

Here are two hats that I finished up for one of my co-workers daughters. He was really pleased with the way they turned out.

Last Friday while I was at Material Girls a nice lady seen that I loved to crochet and asked if I would be interested in having some vintage crochet books. And I’m sure you all know what I told her, right? Of course I said yes, I can never have too many vintage crochet books. While I was picking the cool books up she asked if I would like some flowers and I again said yes. I do love carnations and I love the other flowers too. I felt truly blessed to receive vintage crochet books and flowers at the same time.

Here’s one of the vintage books and I just love the title of it. I do so wish that my crochet needles had wings, especially this year. 🙂

It was very neat to see that she had the same Simplicity pattern that I used to make my very first granny square baby blanket from, for my best friend Debbie when she had her first baby boy almost 37 years ago.

I can just imagine this afghan made up in some of my favorite colors.

I’m not sure why I agreed to make a dog sweater for another one of my co-workers, but when he asked me if I could make a dog sweater; I think I had on my mind that the dog was probably a little house dog and I thought to myself how hard could it be? Well after I said yes he told me that the sweater was going to be for an English Bull Dog. Its neck is 24”, chest 30”, and the length of his spine is 18” and I want it to be made in Texas A&M colors of burgundy and gray. Can anyone tell me how far it is from the base of an English Bull Dogs neck to the part of its body that narrows? I sure would like to know. Here’s a picture of it in progress; I’m making it flat and then I will seam just the neck part up leaving the underneath part open and add a tummy strap with Velcro for easy dressing. I hope the dog sweater works out since I do have to have it done today. Man! dog sweaters are harder than I thought; I could’ve had 4 adult size hats done in the time that it has taken me to do half of the sweater. I still have 2 more WSU (black and gold) little boy hats to finish before next Wednesday the 20th. Anyway, what are you all doing? I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and I sure am glad that it’s Friday.


Responses

  1. Love those hats, AND the books! Lucky you! I would have said yes to those too!.. Good luck with that dog sweater. I’m sure it will be beautiful when you’re done with it! Have a great weekend, and hope you’re enjoying this holiday season! ((hugs))

    • Happy Friday Tina!

      Thanks for stopping by to comment and I love your mini journals that you’ve been showing on your blog. It looks like you are having so much fun and I do love your videos explaining them. 🙂

      Much Love & Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. If any ones hooks would have wings it would be yours! Your fingers fly 🙂

    • Thanks Summer for thinking so. Sometimes my hooks feel like they have lead in them. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Jeepers!! Your area still has carnations & snapdragons growing?!!! Meowza!!! You certainly walked into Material Girls at just the right time. So glad you ‘scored’ more vintage crochet books. Funny that they used to call our hooks “crochet needles”.

    I guess you could be glad the guy does not have a Doberman — or a Great Dane. LOL! I hope his Bulldog agrees to wearing the sweater. [giggle]

    • Hi Kat,

      The flowers were from a florist or something like that. The ladies Dad found them in a dumpster. And yes I did walk in at just the right time and I do love all my vintage crochet books. Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. And I do hope the bull dog will allow his owners to put the sweater on him. But I’m not sure how much the dog will wear the sweater since it lives in Dallas, Texas. 🙂

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

      • Oh gosh, I hadn’t even thought about a florist. LOL! Looks like I ought to be doing some florist-dumpster-diving!!

        A doggie sweater in Dallas. Now THAT’s funny! 😀

  4. Love the hats – very pretty. 🙂

    • Hi Debi!

      I’m so glad that you like my hats and thank you so much for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. omg! Ricky can’t be 37yrs old! That is just crazy to me. If debby still has it you should ask to take a pic of it.

    • Yeah, just like you can’t be 35 years old either. HA! HA!

      Love you,
      Mommy


Leave a Reply

Categories

