Posted by: tgonzales | November 18, 2011

Last Time I Talked to You, Pillow Talk, More Hats, and a Vintage Find

The last time I talked to you I told you about my addiction to crochet. Thank you so much for the fun comments about my photos and about how you loved that I was addicted to crochet. I love all the comments that you leave and I always try to answer each one back, so if you left me a comment you might go back and read my comment to you; especially if you aren’t following the comments. Some of them are quite funny and interesting. Anyway thank you so much for being with me as I write a little bit about what goes on in my life, some good things and hopefully only a little bad. 🙂

Anyway last time we talked I told you that I finished my 8th and final Cheerful Carnation pillow and I would tell you about that later. Well it’s later and I will now tell you what’s going on with the pillows or maybe I should say where my pillows will be going. A couple of weeks ago a lovely lady named Tressa left a message in my Etsy shop wondering if I would be interested in selling all 7 of my pillows that I had listed in my shop; plus any other ones that I might not have listed and wondered if I would sell them all at wholesale. After consulting with my counselor (Rosina) and after some careful thought I decided to give her a proposition of I would like to sell all of them plus the 8th pillow that I still had to finish, at wholesale plus the cost of shipping. I also told her that I didn’t plan on making hundreds of the Cheerful Carnation pillows since they are very time consuming. I told her that maybe the fact that they would be one-of-a-kind pieces it might make them more appealing to some people. Much to my surprise Tressa wrote back to me and said that she would love to pay shipping and she also loved dealing with handmade and rare items. She proceeded to tell me that her family owned an oriental rug company in Concord, New Hampshire and they deal with handmade one-of-a-kind oriental rugs and after she saw my pillows on Etsy she thought that they would be fun and colorful items to add to her store and make them available to her shoppers as Christmas gift items. You can read all about Tress’a family owned Little River Oriental Rug Company here.

In the short amount of time that I’ve known Tressa I learned that she has a 5 year old daughter who will be sporting this Jasmine inspired hat this winter(her favorite character in Alladin),

and her little 2 year old brother will have a navy, red, gray, and cream colored ear flap model. I have been looking for someone who would like to carry some of my one-of-a-kind pieces for quite some time and maybe, just maybe, this may be the right fit? So, my pillows are going to be on there way to Concord, New Hampshire. I’ll let you know how that all works out.

Now more on the crochet front; I was able to finish Amanda’s hat and the fun thing about co-workers ordering your hats you get to actually see the hat on the person who you made it for. She’s such a KU Jayhawk fan she even has Jayhawks on her checks.

Then Amanda’s daughter Harper just happened to stop by the office and look at her hat she had on. She just looks so sweet in her hat, don’t you think? This is the hat that stirred some of the hat ordering frenzy on Facebook a little over a month ago.

Here’s another KU Jayhawk hat but this one is for a 3 ½ year old.

Oh, I almost forgot here’s a set of vintage salt and pepper shakers that John found at a second hand store. John is so cute he called me from home and said, “Tamara you have to stop by this little shop called the “Pink Door”, they have the cutest little aqua salt and pepper shakers.” So I stopped after work last night and found them so irresistible that I had to get them. I think they will look really cute in my new white kitchen. And yes if you were wondering; those are my “Mollie Makes” apple cozies covering my black ends of my butcher block knife handles.

By the way, don’t forget if you are in the neighborhood of West Douglas on Saturday from 10:00 am-1:00 pm I will be at Material Girls Quilt Shoppe crocheting up a storm, taking special orders for hats or just simply visiting with customers. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and I’ll talk to you soon.


Responses

  1. Tamara, I think your pillows are going to be a big hit in that store back East. Are you going to make a bunch more if they do? lol I personally love them and love the colors. Your hats have really become a fashion statement! Love them too!!

    Hugs XX
    Barbara

    • Hi Barbara,

      Thanks for stopping by and No, I don’t plan on making any more pillows. But I may be open to making some more of those flowers. 🙂 And thanks for loving my hats. Wish you could be at the quilt shop on Saturday, we could sit and crochet.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. I was up resless at 3:40am and got your post, ha! I went back to bed, but I know you were up crocheting and posting before the sunrise.
    I bet those pillows will do quit well up east.
    Love all the variations of your hat……….. The sport and school ones were a great idea!
    Hummm? What was John doing at ‘The Pink Door’ to start with, ha! Those shaker will go great in you kitchen.

    • Hi Susie,

      You should’ve gotten up and crocheted for a little while, but it’s nice to know that you were reading my blog that early. I hope you have successful crochet classes tomorrow.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  3. Well, there will be some “traveling pillows”. Maybe a movie could be made … such as “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants”. LOL! Your crochet business is really taking off …. ONE good thing about winter, eh? 😉

    Harper looks sooooo adorable in her flower hat!!

    Love the S&P shakers John found for ya — such a purrfect match for your John-made new kitchen. Yah!!

    Those 3 hrs at Material Girls is gonna just fly by for you. What a fun time — and profitable, I’m sure! Wish I could be there with ya…………

    • Oh Kat!

      You make me smile! And I always love hearing your take on things. I wish you could be here too.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  4. Those pillows are darling. Like all your wonderful projects. xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

