Posted by: tgonzales | November 7, 2011

November 5-6, 2011 Weekend, Hats, Another Scarf, and Spending Time with Friends and Family

I love it when my weekends are productive. I’m not sure why, but I think it comes from how I was taught early on in life that whenever you want to do something you like to do you always have to do your chores first. And that’s how my Saturday started. I sorted and cleaned the rest of my kitchen items and put back what I actually use and got rid of the things that I don’t. Then I tackled the 4 week old pile of ironing and managed to complete it. Whew…..that’s always a good feeling for me to get the things done that have needed to be done for a long time, if you know what I mean?

Don’t get me wrong, I still had fun crocheting 2 more hats before I made lunch in my new kitchen, without even having to go to the garage to get a pan or a cutting board.

I made bean and beef tostados, with Spanish rice, and homemade salsa; one of John’s favorite meals. I also made sure I told him how much I enjoyed being back in my bright newly painted kitchen. 😉 After the meal and the kitchen was cleaned up I headed off to Twist to meet up with my friend Connie. Connie had asked if I would make her Granddaughter a hat out of some yarn that she had leftover from making her Granddaughter a Baby Surprise sweater. Anyway I had decided that I would just crochet the hat at the yarn shop while I sat and visited with her.

And here’s the finished product, I can’t wait to see her little Granddaughter in the little gold and black hat.

It’s always fun being at the yarn shop; especially when someone finishes a project that they have been working on for a long time. It was nice to see Nicole’s face when she finished her second lovely limey green knitted sock and I know how good it feels to finally finish a pair of socks.

Nicole had a little baby hat that she had crocheted and we decided that it needed a little Tamarafied flower, so I made her one. I love how the turquoise contrasts with the pink.

I ended the day by finishing a black and white scarf that my hairdresser asked me to make for her. I wonder if I can convince her that she needs a black and white hat to go with?

Sunday I awoke with a headache, but thank goodness I medicated it before it took over my day. 🙂 While I was making lunch my Mom called and I invited her over to eat with us. Then I decided to invite Megan and Jennifer too.

Sunday was spent visiting with Mom,

watching Megan try on this hat, (she looks like she’s thinking “Oh No Gran Gran and her camera again”)

Megan playing tea party,

Complimenting John on what a good job he was doing on spray painting all my little things,

watching Jennifer

and Megan play with mud pies. Anyone else remember playing in the mud? A lot of good memories were made this weekend. So-o-o-o-o how was yours?


Responses

  1. Sounds like a lovely weekend. Good for you. Hope your mom is doing okay after her loss. I’m sure she appreciates keeping busy. The hat, flower and scarf look great. Congrats to your friend on finishing her socks.

    Have a good week!

    • Good Morning Jeanne!

      Thank you so much for stopping by and thanks for liking my hats and scarf.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Looks like you had a great weekend………hey miss Megan looks like she is growing up all of a sudden. Nice to see a picture of Nicole and her socks on here.
    We had grandkids here over the weekend, so that kept us busy. Also, the last Saturday crochet at my house for this year, it was fun and busy. Good to have the quite house back last night. I seem to need both the busy wild life followed by my quite time.

    • Hi Susie,

      I’m so glad that you had time to spend with your family too. I do know what you mean about the hectic things in our life keep it interesting and then the quiet time is so much sweeter when it does happen. Thanks for stopping by to share your weekend with me. I always love hearing about it.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Woo-hoo! Yer back in the kitchen again. Now you & John are both happy-happy-HAPPY. 😀

    Cute monkey button on the gold/black hat.

    HA!! Are you kidding!!?! I have no doubt your hairdresser will “must have!” the B&W hat you made to go with her B&W scarf. Kewl.

    I noticed a couple hats on display in the photo of your mom. How’s she doing??

    Mmmmm…… loved those yummy mud pies!! 😉

    P.S. How about some before-&-after pics ‘together’ on your blog?

    • Oh Kat,

      Yes I’m very happy to be able to get back into my kitchen and get things put away. And thank you for liking all the hats and the monkey button. The monkey buttons go down the front of the little sweater that Connie knitted. I knew you would notice the hats displayed behind my Mom. And the answer to your question about my Mom; she’s doing as well as she can and it seems like the loneliness is setting in now. She’s just trying to stay busy all of the time. I knew someone else besides me played with mud and made mud pies. 🙂 I’m not sure what before & after pictures you are talking about, but if it’s about the mud pies, I didn’t get before and after pictures of Megan and Jennifer.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. LOL ~ I meant before/after pics of your kitchen, silly. 🙂

    Your mom will have a tough go of it this winter. Actually the first entire year is the worst. My good friend/neighbor (Ione, now 81) lost her husband in Feb. 2010; she is doing much better this year after that 1st-anniversary date of his passing.

    • OH-H-H, I’m sorry, yes I will have to give you before and after pictures of the kitchen!!!! I know it will be hard for my Mom to adjust to being by herself, more so than she thinks it will be. But she has a lot of family and friends who plan on keeping her busy.

  5. cute cute cute. i love the picture of jenny, megan and father. i am making a hat right now!! it is my own creation and i love it. the end.

    • Oh Joshua, I’m so glad that you have picked up the hooks again, and I especially like that you are creating your own hat. Are you using some of the yarn that I bought for you when you were here?

      Love you…..The End!
      Momma


Leave a Reply

Categories

