Posted by: tgonzales | October 5, 2011

My Sister-in-Law Ricci and Brother-in-Law C.W. and More Hats

When I sat down to start this post I thought I would get through it quickly and then the doorbell rang and it was John’s sister Ricci and Brother-in-Law C.W. at the door. They had come to help John with painting or whatever else needed to be done in the kitchen.

Of course I stopped to visit with Ricci and brought her into my sewing room and gave her some magazines to look at while I wrote in my journal. You know I started worrying that I wouldn’t be able to get a post done while they were here, but I wrote while she looked and commented about the cute things in Mollie Makes. As soon as I stopped worrying so much and relaxed and went with the flow, things just worked out for the best.

I know he looks like he’s going into a haunted house, but it’s just my kitchen, which is rather spooky, ha! ha! John took all the popcorn ceiling down on Tuesday and with C.W.’s help he got all the primer on the ceiling and walls, next up the paint on the walls, then we can move the refrigerator back in and then it will be time to remove all the doors, drawers and hardware and then paint the cabinets. I’m so glad that John received the help that he needed and I got to spend some time with my Sister-in-Law who I dearly love. Not many people know this but Ricci is the one who introduced me to her brother John almost 21 years ago. Little did Ricci know that we would fall in love and get married?

Anyway, Ricci and C.W. have always been here when we’ve needed help with anything. From when John needed help painting the outside of our house, to when he needed to work in the yard, to when he needed to move something in or out of the house, when he needed help working on our cars and when I needed help in the kitchen at a family gathering. I do appreciate them so much and am thankful I have both of them in my life.

On to crochet and here’s what has been happening on that subject.

I made the hats for my daughter-in-laws and I love how they turned out. I found some Styrofoam mannequin heads at Hobby Lobby to display my hats at the quilt shop. I just love the way they look with my hats on them.

I also found some Krylon spray paint at Hobby Lobby for 30% off. I thought it would be a good idea to go ahead and get it since it was on sale and I want to paint my canisters these colors to sort of match the color of my curtains. I think they will be very cute sitting in my very white kitchen.

I finished the two little boys’ hats that one of the owners of Material Girls had ordered from me on Saturday. I love how they turned out, now I’m just waiting to see if they are the right size.

So what’s going on in your part of the world?


Responses

  1. It’s great to hear about the wonderful relationships in your life, Tamera. How neat that your SIL is the one who introduced you to John. Sounds like great progress is being made in your kitchen. Whoo hoo! Congrats on finding the heads for the caps. They do look great!

    Glad to hear things are moving along nicely!

    • Jeanne,

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. I always love hearing from you.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Hey Tamara ~ Glad you decided to ‘go with the flow’ rather than fighting it … which is what salmon do, fighting to get upstream — and they die in the process. So what does *that* tell ya? 😉

    I can’t believe it! Once again, our ‘great minds think alike’. I’ve been searching online for a styofoam head for exactly the same reason, even tho I’m not “the crazy hat-lady”. LOL! Would be nice to have a styrofoam head that is closer to our own head size, tho, rather than one where your hat brims cover their eyes. [giggles] The main thing, tho, is: It works!!

    Don’t you just hate those popcorn ceilings? What a job that must’ve been to remove it. I can’t wait to see your completed kitchen — including your spray-painted canisters that will match your curtains. You are so clever!

    • Kat,

      You make me smile.

      Yes, I was very surprised to find the styrofoam heads at Hobby Lobby and I don’t ever remember seeing them there before. I guess I wasn’t looking for them the last time I looked at the styrofoam. I really like the way the hats cover their eyes, because I don’t like looking into those white things. LOL

      The ceiling looks great and the cabinets and walls are really going to look good too. Thanks for stopping by to comment.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

