Posted by: tgonzales | July 29, 2011

Happy Friday Everyone!

Gosh this week has gone by really fast for me. I feel like I’ve accomplished a lot but somehow don’t have anything much to show for it. Do you ever feel that way? Oh well, as I told you in the last post I started another flower and here it is finished.

I have decided to make 2 flowers for each piece of fabric

since I have enough to make 2 pillows out of each design. Anyway I’ll keep you posted on my pillow project as it progresses.

I think I mentioned that John’s brother and sister-in-law are here from Connecticut. They are the lovely family who came last year and stowed away a load of Joshua’s things that he needed in New York. They are also the ones that picked us up at the airport when we went there to take Joshua to school last year. John’s brother is the one that loaded Joshua’s boxes on the back of his jeep on a scooter rack and wrapped it with tarp and tied it down and drove us into the streets of New York so that we could move Joshua there for school. ( I can’t believe it’s been a whole year) I owe them so much and don’t think that I can ever repay them even if I try. Anyway, when I asked my Brother-in-Law what his favorite meal was so that I could cook it for him; he laughed and said “you know what meal it is” and I said, “TACOS?” and he said, “YES!” I really didn’t even have to ask him, I already knew. 🙂 So on Thursday when I got home from work I started making his favorite meal of tacos, really soupy Spanish rice, and salsa. I love to make this meal for my Brother-in-Law and Sister-in-Law as I have so many others times when we would go to visit them on some of our summer vacations. I have actually gotten a marriage proposal from one of John’s nephews because he loves my tacos so much. (Like I would fix them for him all the time, NOT, just ask John he says he only gets tacos when company comes over.)

Today I have taken the day off so that I can join my sister, Mom, and Daddy on another day trip. This time we will be visiting the town of Greensburg, Kansas. It’s a town that was hit by an EF5 tornado on May 4, 2007. I remember this very well, because it was the first day of the Spring International Quilt market and Jackie and I were in Salt Lake City, Utah. We watched the devastation on television and visited with our families back in Kansas to make sure everyone back home was alright too. You can go here to read a little bit about how the people have rebuilt their town into the World’s first Eco-Town. I think it will be very interesting and I’ll let you know how our adventures go.

Oh by the way when I return home from Greensburg I will be frying up those tacos,

warming the soupy rice,

chopping tomatoes,

peppers,

onions,

and making some spicy Pico de Gallo for my Brother-in-Law and Sister-in-Law for dinner tonight. I am so excited to see them for the first time after a whole year and have them in my home so that I can repay them a little bit at a time. I hope everyone has a wonderful day and a lovely weekend. I love you all!


Responses

  1. That’s a different kind of taco than I know….care to share? :o) They look really good. What’s inside of them? Is the shell home made?

    • Kat,

      I would love to share my recipe and I plan on doing that real soon. The inside is filled with hamburger meat, potatoes, peas, and seasonings. Oh by the way the shells aren’t homemade but I’m sure they are pretty comparable. Thank you for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Love the pillow and love you tacos………………………they are the best ever and you pico salsa!
    I haven’t mentioned how styling and “sassy”you are with your new haircut!
    Have a great weekend!

    • Susie,

      Thank you so much for commenting about my tacos and my hairstyle. I can’t wait for you to see the hairstyle in person. 🙂

      Love you,
      Tamara

  3. Hmmmm – “soupy rice”? I don’t think I know what that is. I’ll need to talk to you about the recipe.

    Oh yes, your flowers too, they are so beeeutiful:)

    • Kaye,

      The soupy rice is made just like I make my Spanish rice only I add more broth after it’s done so that it will be soupier. Thanks for liking my flowers. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. I really love the combination of the great flowers with the fabric! Such a pleasure to look at!

    • Kathryn,

      Thank you so much for liking my flower, fabric combination. I just love to pick out the colors for the flowers and then try and find fabric to match. Have a great weekend and thanks for stopping by to comment. It always makes my day.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. Okay, Tamara, you are BUSTED!! You know what I mean. LOL 😉

    I wish I could grab that food out of my computer and heat it up right here!

    I had to laugh when I read about how grateful you are to John’s bro & sis-in-law …. for helping move Joshua to NYC. hahaha!!

    • Kat,

      I would love to be able to send my food straight through the computer; now that would be something, huh?

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  6. that PICO looks AMAZING!!!

    • Angie,

      It was really good if I do say so myself! 🙂

      Love and Hugs,
      Aunt Tammy


Leave a Reply

Categories

