Posted by: tgonzales | July 25, 2011

July 23-24 Weekend; New Hairstyle, Shopping and Lunch with Rosina, and Lazy Sunday

My weekend was great; it started off with a new hairdresser and a new hairstyle for me. My hairdressers name is Brianna and I just love her and my new hairdo. Since Angie referred me to her I decided to go and show Angie right after I got my haircut.

I found Angie on the floor playing with Baby Truman (did you notice Miss Ava in the background sleeping?)

I just love how squishy and soft Baby Truman is. 🙂 Since Ava was sleeping and wasn’t very happy to see a strange person in her house when she did wake up just before I left I didn’t want to stick a flashing camera in her face to take some pictures of her; so I’ll share a few of the pictures that Angie’s photographer took of both of the babies about a month ago. You might remember that Angie wanted to borrow some crocheted things from me to be in the photo shoot and here are the pictures that she took of Baby Truman.

On Saturday I tried my darndest to talk myself out of going anywhere. I did my laundry, ironing, dug around in my stack of UFO’s (unfinished objects)

I found this little leather pouch that attaches to your belt and I think that some boy scout probably made it. It had leather strings running through the holes and of course I took those leather strings out and crocheted in the holes. Then I crocheted the three pieces together; now it just needs a lining and I will make a handle that fits right under that flap.

I found the wool strips that I had crocheted together during the Prairie Quilt Guild quilt show last June and I had loved how the two pieces turned out. I had even crocheted a wool strip and had intended on crocheting the three pieces together to form a bag. Well on Saturday I finished that part of the bag. Now all I have to do is make a fabric lining and I’m going to use a recycled purse handle and crochet around it and attach the handle to the sides of the bag.

Here’s another flower that I crocheted. I now have 3 more WIPs’ still and I wanted to go to Joann’s and I didn’t want to go alone so I decided to call Rosina and see if she wanted to go with me to get some pillow forms to fit the flower pillows that I want to make out of my crocheted flowers. (since I can’t stop making them) and of course she said that she would love to go. First we stopped to have a late lunch and then we went to Joann’s and they had just the right size of pillow forms for my crocheted flowers and I just happened to wander into their yarn section and found some more size 3 crochet cotton to add to my stash. (no wonder my stash doesn’t seem to get any smaller, right?) I didn’t find any fabric that I wanted to make my pillows out of so I decided I wanted to go to “Material Girls” I know I’ve mentioned how nice it is there, but Saturday was really special as they have been in business for one year and they were offering a 25% off discount on everything in the store.

Here’s Lacie cutting one of the four pieces of fabric that I found that I couldn’t live without. In celebration of the Material Girls Quilt Shoppe being open for one year all the employees wore tiaras and all of the help is so nice and friendly.

I loved how they stuck a little extra something in each person’s bag who bought something.

These are the fabrics that Rosina and I picked out to go with each flower. I love picking out the fabric after I make the flower; but the last fabric I will be making a flower to go with the fabric. We’ll see how that goes.

From Material Girls we went to Heritage Hut yarn shop in search of some yarn in the colors for the new fabric that doesn’t have a flower to go with it. Oh my gosh; I just realized that this is how my stash just continues to multiply. I found a few skeins that would work great and then we were off to Michaels to find some gray size 3 yarn and I wasn’t disappointed they had the exact color that I needed along with some purple too. Here we go again. Last week I thought I was doing really good and had used up all the yarn on three spools and about a half a dozen wrappers of the size 3 yarn and I think I just purchased that much or more of other colors. Oh well it’s so much fun finding different colors that I don’t already have, right? I had so much fun hanging out with Rosina and spending some real quality time with her. We really need to do that more often.

Sunday was spent cooking, downloading pictures, blogging here and on KS My Stitch blog and I actually was able to take a nap. There was not much crocheting going on though, but maybe I can catch up on that throughout the week? I hope you all get to spend time with your family and friends like I have and I would love to hear all about it. Please have a great week and Happy Crocheting!


Responses

  1. Picking out the right fabric to go with each flower sounds like so much fun! Great choices!

    • Kathryn,

      I think that picking out the fabric is the next best thing to crocheting the flowers:) Thanks for liking the fabric that we picked out.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. ava’s so freakin’ cute in those pictures. gee whiz. i wanna hold that baby. i think it would spark my faith in humanity or something. hhahahaahhaa. also. i read something about gray yarn. i want some gray yarn. do i have some gray yarn? possibly. have i looked yet? nope. me = lazy bum. the end.

    • Joshua,

      You are so funn and you make me laugh. I don’t believe you have any gray yarn, but you would love to work with gray yarn; you know it is the new neutral (as your Dad says). 🙂

      Love you Mucho,
      Momma

  3. That fantasy flower is incredible! So beautiful. I love oversized crochet flowers. And who can resist those adorable babies? Your crochet work looks great with them!

    • Beth,

      I’m so glad that you stopped by to comment and thank you for liking my flowers and the babies. I love them too.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Oh my, Tamara! What a very busy weekend of FUN you had.
    LOVE your new ‘do’ — including your blonde streak. 😉

    The pro pics of Ava & Truman are precious, no doubt about that.

    Can you share your pattern for those flowers with me? I’m thinking I’d like to make one and put it on a wall. As for your fabrics, my fave is the 3rd one. I think it blends in well and gives it all a ‘soft look’.

    • Hi Kat,

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment and thanks for commenting about my new hairdo. I love it too!

      Thanks for liking the fabrics that we chose for the flower pillows too. I’ll see what I can do about the pattern. I will eventually have it to sell on my Etsy shop, when I get some more time.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. I love your new ‘do… thanks for stopping by so I could see it! That lil leather pouch is cute. I can see it being like a messenger-style purse with a long strap made out of coordinating fabric. Also, I think you should attach one of your pretty flowers over the silver snap.

    Josh… you’re too funny! You need to squeeze my baby to get the full effect! 🙂

    • Angie,

      Thank you so much for stopping by and I do love squeezing on your little ones. They are so sweet and I don’t even have to mention how cute they are? Thanks for the idea about a cute little flower over the silver snap.

      I know Joshua is really homesick to see some of his family and the babies are pretty special to him.

      Love you,
      Aunt Tammy


Leave a Reply

Categories

