Posted by: tgonzales | June 1, 2011

Craft Room Update and Baby Dolls

I am so excited with how my craft room is starting to look. When I bought my first home I wanted to set up a craft room, so I did. But come to find out the house did not have central heat or air conditioning and the only comfortable place for my sewing machine was in the living room, so that’s where it stayed. Back then I was doing a lot of embroidery work so my embroidery basket always sat next to me on the couch. The room that was supposed to be my craft room became a catch-all room that always got cluttered with the things that no one knew what to do with. When I moved into the home that I presently live in, I decided once and for all I would have a craft room of my very own. That went well for 14 years until Joshua came along and he needed a room of his own. So I gave up my craft room and the sewing machine lived in its case until I needed to sew something and then it would stay on my dining room table. I got my craft room back when Jennifer moved out and Joshua took over her old room. But as usual my crafts would end up in the living room where all the activities were going on and my so-called craft room became a catch-all room again. No matter what, I always found a way to create; whether I had a craft room or not.  I just made it happen. A couple of months ago when my little Megan was visiting she asked me, “Gran Gran, why is your sewing room so messy?” I had to grin and tell her that I didn’t have a good reason and that I really needed to get in there and clean it up. And this last weekend was the perfect time for me to do just that.

Now I can’t wait to see her face when I show her that I finally cleaned up that messy sewing room. I even have a few surprise things for her to play with on my green shelf. I’ll make sure I let you know what she says when she sees my sewing room now.:)

I think she will really be excited when she sees this doll that I found while cleaning. I received this doll at Christmas time around the age of 6 or so.

My sister and I loved to play with our dolls and this one was one of my most favorite ones, because she was more the size of a real baby and she had a bottle that she could hold in her hands. We even played beauty shop with our dolls and would wash their hair and one time we even cut their hair. To say the least my doll now wears a doll wig; because I could never get her hair to look good enough again and of course back then their hair wasn’t as durable as they make the dolls hair now days.

I ran onto these pictures of my sister and me, and had to share them with all of you. I think these pictures were taken about the same time that I received the doll that is pictured above.

We had so much fun playing together and we even liked playing with our brothers because we only had each other. Don’t get me wrong, we had our share of  disagreements and my dear mother would tell you that we would drive her crazy sometimes, but mostly I remember the really good times and not so much of the bad. In this picture I think we were arguing over the rocking chair. Ha! Ha! Oh well I’m rambling on again, so I hope you all have a wonderful rest of the week and I would love to hear about your childhood memories.


Responses

  1. Your craft room looks great Tamara! I used to have my own small, but very handy craft room in my old place; but when we had to make the “big bad move” to here I lost a LOT of space… no more craft room. TRYING very hard to look on the bright side (I really loved the old place, and miss it), I guess it’s all just making me use my creative imagination (along with an already very strong will) to set things up here in a way that can still work for me… It’s very gradual, but it’s coming along I guess, and I figure I’ll post about it eventually. Maybe it will make some other girl, in a spot like me, feel better about it too… Crafting, no matter where I do it, be it crocheting, scrapbooking, whatever, makes me happy. I’ve been doing it since I was a child. From my very earliest memories, I LOVED coloring, and it just grew from there to drawing, crocheting, sewing, and all kinds of needlework and crafting. It’s strange, even a little sad to me that neither of my kids inherited that same interest, but I’m VERY proud of what various talents and qualities they DO have instead!… Anyways, my gosh, I didn’t mean for this to be a full-length novel… LOVE your baby doll, and I’m sure Megan will love playing with her too. Great work on your craft room! (So your bed was totally cleared off before Dear Hubby came back home, and caught sight of it??? LOL!) Have a great day!!! ~tina

    • Tina,

      I’m so glad that you shared your story with me. I love hearing all about the things that you like and your memories of when you were a child. Thank you for sharing and stopping by to talk. Yes, my bed did get cleaned off in time for me to go to bed that night, but there were things still all undone until the next day. But they were cleaned up before he arrived home on Monday evening.

      Love & Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Your room looks fun and colorful, Tamara. In our move, I found a picture of Lauren in the playroom that I played in at my Grandma’s and my Papa was sitting on the bed smiling at her with all her toys around her – toys I played with with my sister. Trinkets and baubles and gadgets that my grandparents collected at garage sales just for us to play “dress-up” or “grocery store” with. I loved that room and everything in it. I loved that my grandma thought of me and did special things just for us. Treasure, treasure you are!

    Steph

    • Steph,

      It’s so nice to hear that you had a special memory with your grandmother and I hope Megan will always remember my time with her even if we don’t get to spend a lot of time together it is the quality; right? Thanks for stopping by to share your story with me.

      Love,
      Tamara

  3. Tamara ~ That is so awesome that your mom had saved your baby doll! Then you saved it all these years. I’m sure Jennifer had played with it too, right? And now it is being passed on to Megan. This is way kewl!!

    We don’t have basements (or attics) here in northern Idaho. Well, maybe the much older homes do, I don’t know. It is great having one, if only to store your kids’ things to pass on to your grandkids! Then again, what else might I have hung on to for 30 years?!!? LOL!

    Leave it to the younguns to tell it like it is — or, in Megan’s case, to “ask it like it is”. 😀 😀 😀
    You did a great job cleaning up, Gran-Gran. 😉

    • Kat,

      I’m so glad that you stopped by to comment. It always makes my day when I hear from you. I really love my room all tidy and hopefully it will stay this way too. I can hardly wait for Megan to come over on Friday to see the room and to be able to play in it too. I hope you have a wonderful evening and I loved reading about Emma and her bravery in the big outdoors.:)

      Love you my Friend,
      Tamara

  4. That was my favorite baby to play with too! Megan will want to play in the new craft room I’m sure.

    • Jennifer,

      Yes, I need to have the video ready so that I can record her reaction. I can’t wait to see her and her surprised face.

      Love you,
      Mommy

  5. mother!! it looks so good!!!! this is crazy. i hope it stays this clean forever. ahahhahaha! now your son is off to the street fair. WOOP! love you!

    • Oh my little Chacho Aaron! I hope that it stays this way too, I just love going in there now. I’m not so sure about the ironing board being in your room though, it’s very cramped with the futon still folded out into a bed. I’ll have to get your Dad to help me push that up into seating and see what happens. Good luck on your day with the street fair. Love you so much! Momma


Leave a Reply

Categories

