Posted by: tgonzales | May 9, 2011

May 7-8, 2011 Weekend

I started off the weekend by going to Northwest High’s last musical performance of the year, “Bearlesque”. Everyone did very well and I enjoy seeing all the kids again. I did cry when they showed some of the seniors baby pictures; especially the ones that I know from the drama kids.

Saturday was great I fixed lunch for the KS My Stitch officer’s meeting and enjoyed spending time with Steph and Susie. I love catching up on each of their lives and sometimes we even get a little bit of business done too. Ha! Ha!

On Saturday I had time to stop by my LYS and sat and visited while crocheting another pair of little Mary Jane shoes from Elizabeth Alan’s pattern. I also found some more masculine colors of yarn to make into some more little boy shoes.

I know if I would just use the yarns that I have left over from some of my great nephews hats I would most likely have enough, but it never hurts to have a variety of colors; right?

My husband and I had a chance to go to dinner at Tanya’s Soup Kitchen on Saturday evening and thank goodness we arrived early enough to beat the crowds. We got to see my sweet niece Emilee working and running the register for the first time. She did a great job (I’m not biased either) and we had a wonderful meal. If you ever get a chance to eat at Tanya’s I recommend the Chef’s Club sandwich and tomato basil soup. Yummy!!!!

After dinner we came home and watched the “Time Traveler’s Wife”. We liked the movie but it was a little strange to me. And it gave me a chance to make another pair of little shoes from the new yarn that I had bought. I loved how these turned out too.

Sunday I woke to find these on my dining room table. I don’t think anyone knows this; but I have never had brand new pots and pans before. I have used hand-me-down pans from my Mother’s cast offs since I got married over 36 years ago. I don’t want you to feel sorry for me because this was always my choice. I had never seen any reason to change my pans because they weren’t broken. (I’m sure I get this from my Dad) John has wanted to buy me new pots and pans for years, but I wouldn’t let him, this time I decided to accept them and I made lunch for John and I with my new pans.

Oh my gosh I can’t wait to take out my old pans and put my new pans in the drawer.

There’s only one pan that I won’t part with and that is the one that my Mother received on her wedding day 63 years ago. I can’t help it; it’s just the perfect size for my husband and I when I fix a can of vegetables.

My dear hubby made this necklace for me and a pair of earrings. I love the 3 crosses and how they hang just perfectly on my neck.

I got to spend some time with my Mom and sister on a little shopping trip to JC Penney. I wish you could’ve seen us all in the dressing room together. We laughed and had a good time. After we found a few things for all of us we went to one of my favorite restaurants; Town and Country. As we were walking in my Mom said, “This is one of the best Mother’s Day gifts I have ever received”. I totally agreed with her; the only thing that would’ve made it a better Mother’s Day is if Joshua and Jennifer could’ve been at my house too. Maybe next year? I would love to hear about your Mother’s Day.


Responses

  1. Lovely post! How exciting about new pans. You deserve them cause you enjoy cooking so much and I always enjoy your cooking too. The necklace John made sure is sweet.
    It sounds like ya, had a great mother’s day with your momma, so glad.
    Kelly and Henry came by and saw me, on their way to meet a friend at the zoo. Sum and Mel took me to a chick flick and I got some yard work done in the evening.
    I have so many things on my to do list this week, not quite sure what to attack first!
    Love ya!

    • Hi Susie,

      Thanks for stopping by and I always love hearing what you’re doing; no matter what it is. And for that to-do list just start at the beginning. HaHAHA!

      Love you my friend,
      Tamara

  2. So happy to see your new pots and pans and the wonderful jewelry. I enjoyed our meeting!
    Steph

    • Steph,

      It’s always nice to see you and hear all about what’s going on in your life.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Oh, dear.. I miss the kids on any ordinary day, when I don’t see them, so I’m sorry to hear you missed yours on Mother’s Day… Love your new pots and pans though! Does this mean I can have your old ones now? Ha! ha! Just kidding… I have an old set of my own already! (0; I am surprised to hear your husband is artistically inclined as well?!!! Well, isn’t THAT somethin?!.. And I love the necklace he made you! It’s beautiful!… A very Happy Mother’s Day, and a good week ahead to you Tamara, if I haven’t wished it for you already! ~tina

    • Hi Tina!

      Thank you for stopping by to comment and yes my husband likes to make jewelry, paint, photography and the list goes on and on. I loved your blog about your gift you got from your daughter. It was so cute. I hope you have a wonderful week too.

      Love and hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

