Posted by: tgonzales | April 13, 2011

Jigsaw Puzzles and Middle of the Week

I know you are probably getting tired of hearing about my design contest piece blanket, but it’s the only thing that I can concentrate on right now. Some people have been asking me why I call it my dishcloth blanket, so here’s the explanation.

Back when I first started blogging and decided to open an Etsy shop I wanted to make a few things and one of them was dishcloths. I made a stack of granny square dishcloths and showed them to my sister and my friend Steph. They both said that the squares would really look cool sewn all together. So that’s what I decided to do with my granny square dishcloths.

Once I had sewn them together my mind started wandering and I decided to add the granny stitch stripes around the granny squares to make the blanket a little bigger without adding squares.

Then I started thinking about the quilts that my Grandma Casteel always made. She made her quilts from scraps and I remember when we would go to Oklahoma to visit her and she would lay her quilt tops on the floor to show my Mom what she had been working on. My sister and I would crawl on the floor to get a closer look at the quilt tops and it was fun finding little pieces of fabrics that were made from our dresses.

Then I got to thinking how I love quilts with squares on point and decided to make littler squares to place on point all around the edge of my blanket.

Then I wanted to add some zigzags,

then I needed triangles to fill in the empty spaces between the zigzags and the edge of the blanket,

then I needed a different shaped triangle to finish off each strip of squares on point.

Once I had sewn on the strips of squares on point I was left with holes in each corner,

so more zigzags were in order and,

then I have yet another hole that needed a different shape of granny square to place in each corner. I do love jigsaw puzzles and this reminds me so much of one. With jigsaw puzzles I get to a point where I’m almost done and I can’t stop until it is done and that’s the way I feel right now with my blanket. I just want to get it done and it won’t be done until I am completely happy with it and all of the holes and spaces are filled, so here I am in the middle of the week finishing my jigsaw puzzle blanket. (I feel like I’m getting closer to a name for my blanket too) Ha! Ha! How’s your middle of the week going and does anyone else like jigsaw puzzles besides me?


Responses

  1. Tamara, This is so beautiful!! You are so talented. I just love it. Kelly

    • Thank you Kelly and thank you for stopping by to comment. I hope you’re doing better and your days are not too long.

      Love,
      Tamara

  2. i think you found the perfect name for your blanket!! love jigsaw puzzles…..i was told once its the ocd mind, putting order from chaos. works for me!

    • Diane,

      I’m glad you figured out why I love jigsaw puzzles. I can’t get out a jigsaw puzzle without it taking over my every waking minute, because it just has to be put together. Ha! Ha! Thanks for explaining it all to me.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. This afghan is quite unique and a one-of-a-kind …. JUST LIKE YOU!!! 🙂

    • Kat,

      Thank you for thinking my blanket and I are unique. If you mean strange then I think you are right on it:) HAHAHAHAHAHA

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

      Love you!
      Tamara

  4. Oh my gosh, Tamara.. It’s coming out BEAUTIFULLY!!! LOVE it!.. As for me, it’s been a busy, somewhat hectic week; but thank God, the weekend is almost here! I’ve been doing both a little crocheting, and a little scrapbooking, when I can fit either in. That’s most usually at night. I am just about finished with my Wizard of Oz mini scrapbook album I’ve been working on, so NOW I just have to learn how to use the video feature on my camera. It’s hard enough posting a little album, and this one’s pretty big, for a mini album.. Thick, anyways, but I had so MUCH FUN with it, and hope to show it soon! I just added a couple little crochet butterflies to it, because I HAVE to add some crochet to it! It just wouldn’t be RIGHT, if I didn’t! (0; Have a great weekend! ~tina

    • Tina,

      I love hearing all about what you are up to. It sounds like you’ve been very busy. I can’t wait to see the video on your scrapbook. Did you make some ruby red slippers to go in it? That reminds me of our weather here. The wind is blowing up a storm and we have a tornado watch out for our neck of the woods:( I feel like Dorothy:) Thanks for stopping by.

      Love,
      Tamara

  5. i love that the blanket is like a jigsaw puzzle!! so exciting. you should get a real jigsaw puzzle and have fun putting that together. 😀

    • Thanks Joshua for liking my jigsaw blanket. I like it too and am growing more fond of it every time I add the next piece.

      Love you,
      Momma


Leave a Reply

Categories

