Posted by: tgonzales | April 6, 2011

Pincushion Collection

The other day I was rummaging through one of my sewing baskets and ran across this little wooden souvenir pincushion from St. Louis, MO. I’m not sure what it is, maybe a boat steering wheel? Does anyone out there know what it is?

After I found that one I started looking around and found the little sparkly high heels pincushions,

the tiny hats that were supposed to be out of thicker yarn and hold potpourri, but I decided to make them little pincushions,

the bigger hat that was also supposed to hold potpourri and I decided to make a pincushion out of mine,

the teapot that I made from Mary Engelbreit’s pattern,

the cupcake (that looks more like an overgrown muffin) that I made to enter into Mary Jane Butter’s pinkeeper contest. I made it from the cardboard that comes from the middle of crochet thread, recycled sweater parts, rickrack, and crochet. The judges called it the Frugal Pinkeeper.

I can’t forget the basket pin that I designed; it could easily be used as a pin cushion too,

the tomato pincushion that I probably have had since I first started sewing, and

then on Sunday I added to my collection with this really cute wooden barrel pincushion from Japan; I just love the fabric they used on it.

Does anyone else collect pincushions? I thought it would fun to hear about your pincushion collections. I also thought it might be fun to have a pincushion swap. What do you think? Please let me know and I’ll set it up. I hope everyone has a wonderful rest of the week and Happy Crocheting!!!!!


Responses

  1. Love the pincushion collection. A couple days ago I made some little pincushions in egg cups, two for the guild. Sounds like you are up and about and recouping quite well.

    • Susie,

      Thank you so much for commenting and I can’t wait to see the pincushions you made. I’m doing so much better now and seem to be getting better every day. See you on Saturday.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  2. aw. pin cushion swap. that’s adorable. i’m having a moment where i really want to be at home so i can just relax and not feel so unbelievably stressed. but i cannot, so i will not continue to let it get me down. i hope you never get rid of that tomato pin cushion because my life would be turned upside down if you did.

    • My Little Chacho Aaron,

      I know it’s hard growing up. I felt the same way, but I could run home to my Momma whenever I wanted to.:) I don’t plan on getting rid of the tomato pincushion or any of the other ones. Maybe the little hats, but the other ones I plan on keeping. We sure don’t want to mess up your life now would we?

      Love and Hugs,
      Momma

  3. A pincushion swap would be a good one! I have a couple I could swap or just get rid of. I think they’re cute but I use one my daughter made me and my magnetic one most of the time. I can just ‘throw’ the pins at the magnetic one! Sue

    • Sue,

      I was kind of thinking about swapping new ones that you actually make. I’ll pull together some rules of the swap and see if anyone else would be interested and then let everyone know in a post. Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Hi, Tamara,
    Years ago one of the banks I worked for was called Boatmans Bank and it was based in St. Louis. I think the river is one of the points of interest for the city. So, I think you are probably correct and the pin cushion is a boat wheel.
    I love all of the pin cushions. They are all so different.
    Love, Sharon

    • Sharon,

      Thank you for the information about the boat pin cushion and thanks for stopping by.

      Love,
      Tamara

  5. Thanks so much for sharing your projects, they are inspiring as always. Your St. Louis pin cushion reminds me of the steam boats in the Mississippi River. The spokes of the wheel might serve as a functional decoration by placing thread or yarn wound up with a large enough center.

    You have me suffering from yarn envy again, luckily I still have both of the hat patterns saved from Crochet Soiree. As another lover of Mary Engelbreit, could you please let me know which of her publications contains the tea pot.

    Also, your cupcake is so much cuter than any I’ve made, can you offer some pointers. The high heels are to die for, I would love to have them in sparkling red thread reminiscent of The Wizard of Oz. “Toto, I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore.”

    You’re too cute for words!

    Heather

  6. I don’t use pincushions at all but this makes me want to!

    • CrochetBlogger,

      You make me smile! Thanks for liking the pincushions.

      Love & Hugs,
      Tamara

  7. Hey Tamara,

    Didn’t know if you were serious or not, but here is a website using toilet paper rolls.

    http://www.dltk-kids.com/type/tp_roll.htm

    Some pretty funny stuff.

    Love your pin cushions, very pretty.

    Sharon Temaat


Leave a Reply

Categories

