Posted by: tgonzales | March 28, 2011

Update on Me and My Crochet

Sorry, if I worried all of you, but this is where I have been hanging out just in and out of a drug induced sleep. I am just now feeling good enough to even sit up more than 30 minutes at a time. Saturday I actually felt like fluffing the load of laundry that’s been in the dryer since Tuesday and got a few more loads washed, dried, folded, and put away. (with the assistance of John and Jackie carrying them up the stairs)

If you get grossed out by such things please just look away now. Here’s one of three of the incisions on my knee. I know, it’s really gross and believe me it’s the worst one of all. The stitches are actually starting to itch, so that’s really a good sign.

This is what I’ve been crocheting; before surgery I made a Tiny Scarf from our program at the March KS My Stitch crochet guild meeting. It looked so good with Steph’s top I told her I would love for her to have it.

The scarf was so much fun to make and I had just enough yarn left to make another one, so I started it and finished it up as soon as I could sit up more than 30 minutes.

I also picked up my hooks long enough to complete these little granny square coasters.

I think they turned out really cute with the recycled wool felted sweater fabric on the back.

Then I started back on the granny square afghan that I plan on entering in the CGOA design contest. That’s what I love about granny squares, they are easy to pick up and put down as you need to.

I plan on adding a border of granny squares on point all the way around. We’ll see how long I stick with this project before I get distracted. Ha! Ha!

I also got my new cell phone and am trying desperately to understand how to text with it. If anyone is familiar with the F160, please let me know. This is when I really could use Joshua’s help, but I’ll muddle through somehow.

Well, I’m going to wrap it up for now. John is trying to keep me as comfortable as possible, so don’t worry about that. He makes sure I have plenty of pillows and hugs, thanks to Joshua for telling him that I needed a few now and then.:)

I want to thank all of you who sent get well wishes and prayers via Facebook, emails, phone calls, and visits. They all meant so much to me and encouraged me to get up every day. Hopefully I will be back on schedule with blogging starting Wednesday. That’s the update on me, so what’s been going on in your world? I hope you all have a great Monday and it feels good to be back.


Responses

  1. Hi Tamara,

    So glad to know you are doing better. It takes time to recover from surgery regardless of how simple or small the surgery may seem. Please take the time to fully recover and rest all that you can.

    I love all of your crochet projects, especially the granny square coasters. Just beautiful. You have a way of turning everything that you touch into gold!

    Take care,
    Merri

    • Oh Merri,

      You are too sweet, but thank you for liking the things that I do. I love all the things that you do too. Thanks for taking the time to stop and comment, I do look forward to hearing them.

      Love,
      Tamara

  2. Glad you’re feeling better! Holy cow knee stuff is a pain right? Love all your wonderful photos, sorry I’m such a poor commenter. I think of you all the time. xo

    • Dear Pam,

      I think of you all the time too. Please don’t feel bad about commenting, because I know you are there and that means alot to me.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  3. we missed you! so glad you are back and feeling better…..i love your afghan, granny is one of my favorites. that and the ripple…..heres to a quick recovery!!

    • Hi Diane,

      Thanks for missing me and thank you for stopping by to comment. Your comments mean a lot to me.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Yes, I certainly have been concerned about you, dear Tamara!! But I figured you were okay ‘cuz John is with you. And I knew you’d write when ya felt up to it. And you sure do feel up to it now — along with having gotten back to crocheting … and doing laundry. ha!
    Ouch! Stitches in your knee!! At least it wasn’t “open-knee surgery” — ugh!

    Love the photo of you & John together. So sweet — both of you!!
    Sorry I can’t help ya with your new cell phone. Hey ~ Isn’t it close to Spring Break for Joshua???????? 😉

    • Hi Kat,

      Thank you for your concern and thank you so much for the get well card. You know how much I love butterflies and it was perfect.

      I loved the picture of John and I too. You should’ve seen the one just before the one I posted. It looked like I was going to squeeze his face off and he had a funny look on his face. He really has been quite patient with me, but I know he’s getting tired of me not feeling well. We share a lot of the household duties and he’s having to cover more of them alone.

      Joshua’s spring break was last week and Jennifer went to visit him in New York. I’m not sure when I will get to actually see him again?

      Thanks again, Love you,
      Tamara

  5. Tammy, I am so glad you are feeling better. Take it from me – – don’t rush things. Feeling better, it is easy to do too much and then pay for it. I am so in awe of your imagination and creativity (sp?). Everything you screams TAMMY!!!

  6. That was supposed to say “everything you DO ect ect

    • Sharon,

      Thanks for stopping by to comment and I knew what you meant in the first comment. Ha! Ha! I’m glad that you are feeling better too. It is easy to overdo and I did that on Saturday. I don’t think I will ever learn to pace myself. That’s just the way I am.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  7. Really love the granny square coasters! Take all the time you need to heal …

    • CrochetBlogger,

      Thank you for liking the granny square coasters. I love them too, but I think I’ll sell them in my Etsy shop as soon as I can remember how to post things on there again.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  8. I’m SO glad to hear you’re on the mend! And you are so productive!! You’re inspiring.

    • Mindy,

      Thank you for your kind words. I’m glad that I’m inspiring and you inspire me too. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

