Posted by: tgonzales | March 21, 2011

March 19-20, 2011 Weekend

We took a little trip this last weekend to see one of our grandsons who we had not met yet. Our first stop along the way was to get lunch on Friday. Does anyone watch “Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives”? Well we found a dive in Pittsburg and the name of it was Farris’ Café. We were a little reluctant to go in, because there wasn’t anyone else there. I asked the waitress what she suggested as I looked at their specials on the board. The lady that was hanging around told us to try the Meatloaf special. Well, my husband and I are pretty particular with our meatloaf but we felt adventurous and decided to try the special. When the waitress turned our order in, we heard country music coming from the kitchen and then proceeded to hear the cook singing at the top of his lungs to the music on the radio. He continued to sing until our food was ready and then sang the whole time he was cooking another couples’ meal too. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the meatloaf was very good and it was served with real mashed potatoes, green beans and a salad. It just goes to show that you can’t always judge a book by its cover, huh? I might even suggest this one to Guy Fieri.

We arrived in Springfield and finally got to meet our grandson who happens to be named after his father and grandfather, but they call him Johnny.

He is so cute and took up with both of us fairly easy. I have always been the kind of person who sits back and I let the children come to me. I’ve found that it works better that way and it seemed to work with this one too. We didn’t arrive until late afternoon, so we had a chance to just relax that evening. I got to show Alesha the hats that I had made for my great nieces and nephews and she really liked the hat that has the bear ears.

On Saturday morning of course I got up early and decided to make Johnny a little hat with bear ears. And I had a chance to look for the local yarn stores on the internet. Everyone was willing to drop me off at Simply Fibers, Ltd. and Johnny and Alesha came in with me. Alesha also liked the earflap hats that I had made my great nephews and she asked if I could make Johnny one too, so I wanted her to pick out some yarn to make one of those for him.

She picked out a gold and brown color yarns for the earflap hat and then I found some Kertzer’s “Down to Earth” cotton yarn that just had to come home with me too. I plan on making some little coasters or who knows what with these 4 lovely colors.

Since it was such a cool and dreary day we decided to drop by Bass Pro Shop so that we could show Johnny the wildlife that they have inside. He was so cute and he loved it when his Poppy held him up high enough to touch one of the stuffed wild boars.

Saturday evening we ate the taco dinner that I had brought and I loved seeing all of them enjoy their meal. John IV and Alesha were disappointed that they didn’t get to take us anywhere and we tried to explain to them that we really didn’t need to do anything more than what we did; and that was spend time with them and just watch little Johnny play. How did you spend your weekend?


Responses

  1. Wonderful!!! LOVE the pics, and so glad you had a nice time!… (and I agree with you, feeling it’s not necessary to go running around to be entertained. Sometimes the BEST times are just spent together in the comforts of home-sweet-home!) ~tina

    • Tina,

      Thank you so much for stopping by and I always appreciate your comments.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Wonderful weekend recap, Tamara! Love that you just enjoyed time with your family (and got a little yarn shopping in there, too). My girls love Bass Pro Shop, and I can just imagine his delight in all the sights there.

    It was a quiet weekend here for once. I did some craft shopping, a little crafting and started a new cross stitch project. I found a pretty spring flower basket chart in a magazine and thought it’d be a quick and fun little project. One of these days I’m sure I’ll get inspired to crochet again.

    Hope you have a great start to your week!

    • Jeanne,

      It’s always fun hearing what you’ve been doing and how you spent your weekend. I just know there will be something that is going to inspire you some day soon.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Oh Tamara, I’m so glad you got to meet little Johnny. He is quite adorable — and even more so in his new bear-ears hat! I am glad Alesha did not feel funny about asking you to make 2 hats. You are, after all, so very willing. 🙂

    Yup, I’ve watched Guy. And I’m happy to hear you & John felt adventurous — and, more importantly, that it was truly good food — with live music (song) to boot. What a riot! You didn’t say — was the chef’s singing voice as good as his cooking?

    Hey ~ I just recently crocheted a whole bunch of cotton coasters: 10 for my sister, 5 for my neighbor, 4 for me. Fun! And now you have some Kertzer cotton to crochet away. More fun for you! Love ya!!

    • Oh Kat,

      You make me smile:) by the way the guy that was singing wasn’t half bad, but I would love to see him and the rest of the dive on tv. I love how you are making coasters too. Don’t you just love the instant gratification? Thanks for stopping by and making me smile.

      Love,
      Tamara

  4. Sounds like such a fun way to spend the weekend! He’s such a sweetie! The hats are adorable, and that yarn looks really soft. Lovely.

    I like Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives, too. =D

    • Mindy,

      Thank you for stopping by to comment and it’s nice to know that you like Diners Driveins and Dives too.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. bah! this was terribly adorable. i would kill for some real mashed potatoes right now, omgoodness. lemmetellya. my weekend was very very nice. cleaned a whole bunch bunch and made much of my lazy time. now i am with our beloved jenny and we is having a b-l-a-s-t. hahaahahha. had to cheese it up!

    • Joshua,

      I’m sorry I haven’t replied to your comment. I guess I thought I had? I’m glad that you had a good time with your sister and I’m happy that you cleaned a bunch and made good time out of your lazy weekend. I miss you!

      Love you,
      Momma


Leave a Reply

Categories

