Posted by: tgonzales | March 18, 2011

Happy Friday, March 18, 2011

I’ve had quite a middle and end of the week. First off on Wednesday one of my quilting friends, Shirley wanted to know if I would like to have some of her vintage crochet pattern books. All she wanted was to know that they would go to a loving home. Hello…..I don’t know if you could get a more loving home for vintage crochet pattern books than mine?

I just love the Nun’s and baby pattern books,

Love the tablecloth and bedspread books, and

Love the chairback and arm cover books. See what I mean about a loving home? I love them all. Shirley, thank you so much for thinking about me being the owner of these lovely vintagey books.

I bet you can’t guess what this is?

This weekend, we are going to meet our grandson whom we have never met. He turned a year in November and I can hardly wait to see him. I know what I’m going to be doing most of the weekend. I’m going to be just sitting and watching him play. Because I’m a good Grandmother like that. I will be taking homemade tacos, rice and salsa along to feed to our son and daughter-in-law and maybe even take in the circus. Oh by the way, I got the results from the surgeon on Thursday that the MRI shows a torn meniscus and arthroscopic surgery is in the cards for me; it’s scheduled for Wednesday, March 23rd. And if you guessed the picture above to be the cut ends of 100 granny squares you would’ve been right.

I finished all 100 of the granny squares for Crochet a Rainbow and will be shipping those off in the next week or two. They are so much prettier in person though. What fun things are you going to be doing this weekend? I’ll see you on the other side of it and I love you all.


Responses

  1. What a nice friend Shirley is! I hope y’all have a wonderful time this weekend with you grandson. Prayers for you and the surgeon. I’ve never really thought of using gray yarn for some reason but I love the looks of those granny squares. Take care.

    • Hi Sheila! I’m so glad that you could stop by and comment. Thank you for liking my granny squares and thank you for your prayers.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Love all the pattern books that your friend gave you, Tamara!! I would have been thrilled to be given such treasures!… Have a wonderful weekend! I’m so excited FOR YOU, that you’ll be meeting your newest little grandson! Take lots of pictures, and enjoy!!! ~tina

    • Tina,

      Thank you so much for stopping by. I always appreciate all your comments and understanding about the treasures that I receive. I’m already enjoying this little bundle of joy and am taking lots of pictures. I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

      Love,
      Tamara

  3. Wow, torn miniscus huh? Leroy had arthroscopy surgery two and a half weeks ago and he is doing so much better. I’m sure you will be soon too! You really scored on those books didn’t you? LOL They really did go to a loving home. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Hugs XX
    Barbara

    • Hi Barbara!

      I’m so glad that Leroy is doing well and I know my surgery will go fine. I had the other one done and it went well too. I knew you would understand about the books, they are truly lovely. Thank you for stopping by and tell Leroy hi for me.

      Love you both,
      Tamara

  4. Congrats on getting those squares done. They look great and I love the way you’ve bundled them together with bows!

    Good luck with surgery next week …

    • CrochetBlogger,

      Thank you for stopping by and noticing the little bows that I tied around each bundle. Thank you for the well wishes on my surgery.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. How did your meniscus get torn? Were you & John wrestling?????
    I sprained my ankle once when Frank & I were dating. He was chasing me around the stairs in my parents’ home. There was an area rug at the bottom of one of the sets of stairs — when I hit it, I went *down*. The guys at work the next day told me: “Next time, just let him catch you.” LOL
    Anyway, I will keep you & the surgeon in my prayers. Sounds like rehab will be more of a bother than the surgery itself.
    Love ya!
    Hugs ~ Kat

    • Kat,

      No John and I weren’t wrestling, but I did fall at his feet at the top of the stairs. I tripped on my pajama bottoms and fell up the stairs on my left knee as he was coming around the corner. I have had many sprained ankles and man they are no fun either. My rehab will be to get back on my feet as soon as possible and in the meantime make John do all the work. Ha! Ha! Thanks for the prayers, I really do appreciate them.

      Love you,
      Tamara

      • Oh gosh – you fell at the top of the stairs and I fell at the bottom. You did a lot more damage, tho! Well, you be sure to milk John for all he’s worth ~ enjoying his taking over the house for awhile. LOL! Just tell him to wear gloves to protect his modeling hands. 😉

  6. Hi Tamara,

    Wow…all of those squares look just FANTASTIC! I love your colors.

    Good luck with your surgery. Hope it goes well and you are on the mend in no time flat!

    Merri

    • Hi Merri!

      I hope your days have calmed down now, are you on Spring break yet? I love all of your shawls that you’ve posted on Facebook. Wow they are beautiful. Thanks for liking my granny squares and the well wishes on my surgery and I plan on bouncing right back.:)

      Love & Hugs,
      Tamara

  7. i love saving my ends like that. good good times. you are in missouri now. i wonder if you’ll check this while you’re there. i don’t have many plans for this weekend. several friends are departing. it feels like a lot of them are leaving but really only a few are. my roommate leaves in the morning, so at some point i will be doing some very very very necessary cleaning. i love you and hope the trip is fun!

    • MY Chacho Aaron!

      You make my heart proud in saving all your ends. Did you guess what they were? Hopefully you will get your laundry done in time for your sister to arrive and get some clean sheets on for her too. The baby is so cute; you would love him. He’s just at that stage of toddling around and he runs everywhere. He’s also very smart, but doesn’t talk yet. He has also just started throwing tantrums as of today. But he’s still adorable to me.

      Love you Mucho,
      Momma

  8. What a special friend you have! What a treasure trove of goodness in those vintage patterns. They couldn’t have gone to a better home.

    I’m sorry to hear that you have a surgery coming up. I hope it goes well.

    I’m looking forward to hearing about your first meeting with your grandson.

    And WOW, you got that project completed! Amazing and wonderful!!

    • Hi Jeanne,

      Thank you for stopping by and the well wishes on my upcoming surgery. I can’t wait to tell you about the first meeting with our grandson.

      I loved all your new designs for your cards and the lace you found at the thrift store was so-o-o-o cool. Thanks for sharing all your ideas with us.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

