Posted by: tgonzales | March 2, 2011

My Collection of Handkerchiefs and a Few Other Things

Before I go rambling on about my handkerchiefs (hankies) I wanted to show you how far I’ve gotten on my second knitted sock. I’m getting more excited every time I get another step done. I’m on the gusset now. I’ll keep you posted on the progress.

As I was looking for some more yarn for the centers of my granny squares, I came across some of my hankies that I have collected over the years. I think my fascination for hankies came from

my Great Aunt Erma. She’s the 2nd one from the right. When I was young my Aunt Erma would come by and pick me and my sister up and take us to the store and then take us to her house, so that we could help her clean and iron. (of course she paid us and that made both of us very happy) I remember that she let me start ironing first and I remember how excited I was to actually learn. She started me out with hankies. I never could figure out how she got so many hankies. It seemed like they went on forever. My Aunt Erma was a working woman who worked at a Dry Cleaner in Wichita, Kansas. She had the counter job; where you checked the clothes in and out. I found out later that when Aunt Erma cleaned out the garments pockets so they could be dry cleaned she would save the hankies and leave them on the counter for people to claim them. After a certain amount of time went by she would claim them for her own and take them home with her. Anyway, I have a soft place in my heart for hankies and I have my Aunt Erma to thank for that.

I also like to rescue certain unfinished dresser scarves to embroider and

I sometimes find bags of goodies at sales that will have lots of different things in them (like a hot pink zipper or green velvet ribbon) and you have to purchase the whole bag, even though you just want the green velvet ribbon and hot pink zipper inside, but I love to see all the interesting things inside the bags when I get home.

I haven’t seen a garter in a long time and it’s pink too. I love this hankie with the T on it and look at those thimbles especially the ones with the holes in them. And why do I keep these? I’m not sure; I just pick them all up and put them back in the bag, remembering that some little woman used all these thimbles. Uh oh are you thinking what I’m thinking? I know…… I may be a little bit of a hoarder. Ha! Ha!

Oh my gosh look at the yarn that I found and I think it looks like an Eva’s shawl coming on. I’m not sure if there’s enough yarn, but I’m going to give it a try. Why do I do that to myself? I keep finding more and more things to make.

Anyway, I have a quick question for all of you. I’m curious about what kind of crochet hook you prefer. Do you prefer Susan Bates, Boye, Clover, wooden, or plastic? I know I like a variety and I do switch off and on between all of these, depending on the type of yarn I’m using.

Sorry for jumping all over the place. I feel like I have a little Attention Deficit Disorder today, so I’m going to take off now and get started back on the socks and try to finish them before I start anything else. I hope everyone is having a good week, and Happy Wednesday to all of you out there.


Responses

  1. Hi Tamara,

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the yarn that you will be making your shawl out of! I have made two of the Eva shawl’s last December for Christmas gifts and really enjoyed that pattern. Right now I am working on a Klamath Shawl with a pretty feather and fan border:)

    I use a wide variety of hooks as well, most are metal, though. I’m not a big fan of the plastic ones.

    Merri

    • Merri,

      That’s so neat that you have made the Eva’s shawl too. I enjoyed making it out of the Noro, silk, wool, and cotton laceweight yarn. I can hardly wait to get started on it. But my sock is still needing to be finished. I will be watching for your Klamath Shawl on Facebook and can’t wait to see the feather and fan border.

      I agree with you about the plastic hooks, as they seem to not let the yarn slide fast enough off of the hook for my needs. The only thing that I have made with a plastic hook lately is an afghan for my husband and the yarn slid properly off of the hook and at the time I didn’t have a big enough hook in the aluminum hooks and didn’t even know about wooden hooks, which are much lighter than the aluminum.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Love & Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Wonderful stories to go along with your photos, Tamara. I liked how you share about your Aunt Erma. Your finds are fun, too. Good luck on finishing the sock! I know you can do it. As for hooks, I mainly use Boye. And metal. The Bates ones tend to split the yarn for me. I have a big plastic one that I used for a project LONG ago and I seem to remember I wasn’t all that thrilled with it. I generally do not like wood at all. They catch the yarn and when I am knitting, I tend to bend and break them. Waste of money then. LOL

    Have a good rest of your week!

    • Jeanne, I just visited your blog for the first time, and it is so awesome! You are one multi-talented person. I’m going to have to add your blog to my list of blogs to visit frequently!!

    • Hi Jeanne,

      I’m glad to hear that you like Boye hooks as I do too. But I really do love my Lantern Moon wooden hooks and haven’t had any trouble with them splitting or snagging. If I ever do I can take them back to my LYS and I’m sure she would replace them. Thank you for stopping by and chatting.

      Love & Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Hi, Lady! LOVE those thimbles!!! I’m guessing whoever owned them used them a LOT and punched holes in them so her finger could breathe a bit? But how cool that you found them. You have such a collector’s eye!

    I think it’s the weather that is making you “jump all over the place,” as it certainly has done just that lately. Wow, never a dull weather moment this year.

    I’m soooooo proud of you for knitting your socks!! I KNEW you could do it, you just needed to let those crochet hooks cool down for a few minutes and give the socks a try. I knew you would have fun with them, too. Now to try a pair of toe-up two-at-a-time. 🙂 Whoda thunk all those rabid sock knitters were right?? It IS addictive.

    See ya latah, dahling!!

    • And I forgot to mention that I am a recent convert from Boye to Susan Bates hooks (mostly). Now and then I have some challenging yarn and have to try several hooks to find one that will play nicely with it.

      • RJ,

        I only like Susan Bates for certain projects, but I do love my Lantern Moon wooden hooks the best. Because they are so lightweight and they allow the yarn to slide easily off of them. Thanks again for commenting.

        Love you,
        Tamara

  4. Love seeing your little stashed treasures.
    Of course, you know, that I love SUSAN BATES hooks! I was trying to figure out why? I think they glide very nice like the little needle that you once gave to me. Maybe their finish is what I like, but I also like the way they grab the yarn so secure.
    Love making Eva shawls, looking forward to seeing yours when you get finished.

    • Susie,

      Thanks for liking my stash of treasures. I have so many of them it’s not even funny. Everytime I go to look for something I get side-tracked and find more of these little treasures. Oh well, thanks for commenting and letting me know what kind of hooks you like the best.

      Love & Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. congrats on the socks!!! i started knitting socks when they came out with sock yarn…..lol. my favorite hooks are a few vintage (or antique-i’ve never been sure of the difference) hand carved bone. they don’t get used, just looked at. my favorite hooks are the ergonomic clovers……oh, they are so nice! and for knitting socks, wood is best by far. i have boye, bates, milward and some odds and ends without names or sizes on them. one of these days i suppose i should sort them all out–haha-i guess i hope to see your finished second sock on your next post
    i just love your blog
    sara

    • Sara,

      I’m so glad you love my blog and thank you for stopping by to comment. I appreciate all of the comments that I get. It’s interesting which hooks each person prefers. It looks like we have a variety. And I also hope I can post my finished or almost finished second sock.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  6. I love buying those bags of random stuff at estate sales. Aw, heck, I just love estate sales. It’s like a treasure hunt. It sounds silly, but it’s really true that they don’t make things like they used to. I sound like an old lady, but I’m only in my early 30s, I swear! lol. I just appreciate those special little things that people used to use, and I still like to use. There’s nothing wrong with making a home. It is valuable and important.

    As for crochet hooks, I’m the same way with them as I am with knitting needles. I like metal best, sometimes wood or bamboo, but never plastic.

    • Lara,

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. I do love to hear that I’m not the only one out there picking up those little bags full of neat treasures. It’s just nice knowing that younger people appreciate the good things in life that were made alot better than they are made now.

      I know I said that I really love my Lantern Moon wooden hooks, but my all time favorite are Boye steel. I love the feel of steel in my hands:)

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  7. That yarn looks luscious!

    I use Boye crochet hooks most of the time. I want to try bamboo ones just to check out the difference, though.

    • CrochetBlogger,

      My favorite are the Boye too. My suggestion to you would be to find someone who has a bamboo hook and see if you could borrow it before investing in one, unless of course you want to start collecting crochet hooks?:) Thanks for stopping by.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  8. well i have already whined to you about my wednesday. stupid apple juice spilling. i’m not over it!! hahhahahahaaa. you and your hoarding. tsk tsk tsk. i was watching hoarders: buried whatever on tlc while i was on the treadmill earlier. good stuff. only not. not at all. aw, aunt erma. i actually miss seeing her face at family things, especially when i was much younger. once these dang mid-terms are over, i feel as though i will be welcomed into a crochet frenzy. also – lion brand studio has spring colors freshly released. O.O guess who’s tempted. this guy! spring is coming and i can feel it in almost every pore! alright alright.

    love you!

    • Joshua,

      You make me smile and laugh. I know something is going to inspire you soon to pick up the hooks again, I just don’t know what it might be. I’ll keep my eyes out for something really unique.

      Love you my Chacho Aaron!

      Momma

  9. Hi Tamara! I may not have posted about it lately, but I LOVE to collect things! My “STUFF” is important to me, each collection for different reasons I suppose… Love your hankies and thimbles. As for my collection of hooks?.. Though I have some plastic ones, I NEVER use them. I like my metal hooks, be they Bates, Boyle or whatever. The only ones I hestitate to try are the ones with the soft handles?? Many crocheters seem to like them, so it does leave me wondering. I should at LEAST pick up ONE, just to try, don’t ya think?! (0; I’m liking those socks!! Have a good night! ~tina

    • Oh Tina,

      I know how busy you are and I do appreciate you stopping by to comment. I have seen some of your collections on your blog and I love that you collect things too. It’s really nice to see other people’s collections too. Thank you for giving me your feedback about the hooks that you like to use. Like I told CrochetBlogger; if you know someone who has one of those soft handled hooks you might borrow it for an hour or so just to try it out before you invest in one. Unless there’s a possibility that you would like to start a collection of hooks and I think most of us crocheters have one, but we just don’t think about it. Ha! Ha!

      Love,
      Tamara

  10. You are so good at treasure-hunting & finding! Love those old-time pics — and I loved watching my Mom use her glass bottle (with the rubber top w/holes in it) to sprinkle her clothes before ironing.
    Can’t wait to see a pic of your feet wearing your hand-knitted socks! Your next pair simply must have turquoise in them! ;-D
    I like Susan Bates hooks – with wood already wrapped around them. Would love to try a Lantern Moon hook, but my simple projects & yarns do not, to me, justify the price. Oh well.
    This was a fun post! 🙂

    • Kat,

      I’m so glad that I brought back memories of your Mom using the water bottle to sprinkle her clothes. We had a Pepsi bottle with a corked aluminum sprinkler for our clothes. Fun memories indeed.

      I really think you should choose the size of hook that you use most and purchase one Lantern Moon hook in that size. You will be amazed at how easily the yarn slides off of the hook. Oh well, I’m not trying to boss you or anything, but you deserve a little extra tlc sometimes too.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  11. Hey ~ I’ll bet my Mom’s water bottle had a *corked aluminum sprinkler* like your mom’s (not rubber, like I was thinking). So thanx for *your* memory – which far exceeds mine. LOL
    And you just may have (quite easily) convinced me about the Lantern Moon hook. But — will I get *hooked* on that brand and want ALL my hooks from them????????????????????????????

    • Kat,

      I’m sure you will get hooked on the Lantern Moon hooks, but now you can tell your family members what they can get you for special occasions when they ask. And I’m sure you always say “nothing”, right? (I’m smiling because I say the same thing)

      Love you,
      Tamara

  12. My favorite is Clover’s ergonomic handle crochet hooks, they are worth the extra cost. They are light weight and easier to grip without straining my hand muscles. ;D ❤

    • Heather,

      Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. It’s interesting to know what kind of hooks everyone uses. I hope you have a good weekend and happy crocheting.

      Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

