Posted by: tgonzales | February 2, 2011

Snow, Baby Booties, Granny Squares, and Hat Pictures

This is the view from my front door. Wow, we went from 70 degrees here on Saturday to temperatures below zero and let’s not even mention the wind chill factor. BRRRR I’m cold. They always say here in Kansas, that if you don’t like the weather just stick around a few days and it will change. And they are so right. Some people love this kind of weather, but I’m not one of them unless I can stay in my warm house, throw something on the stove to simmer, and pick up my hooks to crochet. I don’t have that luxury as I have to go to work no matter what. Tuesday morning I woke to almost blizzard conditions, with snow and winds blowing up to 40 miles per hour. My dear husband told me to wake him so that he could start my car and clean it off. He doesn’t realize that I was raised in the country and I was paid by my brothers to go out and start their cars and clean them off before they went off to school or work. I didn’t wake him and the drive into work was a little tricky. But the drive home was even worse, my work let us go home 1 hour early and by that time the snow drifts on the east/west streets were terrible and in some places where the snow was blowing you could hardly see in front of you. Thank goodness I’m only about 4 miles from work and I made it home safely.

This is what has been on my hooks. A co-worker commissioned me to make a pair of baby booties and a headband to match for her first niece. I just love the DMC Senso yarn that I used for the booties and flower. The stitches come out so well defined and clear. She was very thrilled with them, and that’s always nice.

My niece Kelley was able to get a picture of Tolan in his hat,

Rachel modeled her hat, and

Jason modeled Coben’s hat; as Coben still won’t try his on. Coben’s into wearing swim trunks right now, maybe he’ll try the hat on this summer. I’ll be waiting.

I’m back to crocheting the granny squares for Crochet a Rainbow. What’s up in your area of the world?


Responses

  1. Another day filled with snow, sleet and freezing rain…..which means a “snow day” for me….yeah! I think I look forward to the change in pace just as much as my students do. But, it gives me a chance to re-fresh and un-wind with a little crochet. 16″ of the white stuff predicted by the end of the day!

    • Merri,

      I’m so glad that you have another snow day and are able to stay at home and unwind with a little crochet:) Wow 16″ of snow, our town would shut down if we got that much. ha! ha! Thanks for stopping by and stay warm.

      Love,
      Tamara

  2. We are having our second snow day today, but not because of snow. It’s the low temps that are causing them. I so feel for you having to drive in the storm, even if your work is close to your home. It’s definitely not fun. I’m glad you made it to and from safely.

    Thanks for sharing the modeled hats. They all look so good!

    Keep safe and warm!

    • Jeanne,

      Thanks for letting me know what’s going on in your part of the world. It sounds like your weather is similar to ours here. But I bet you have alot more snow than we do. I bet the girls are really enjoying being at home with Mom and I hope you have a wonderful day with them.

      Love,
      Tamara

  3. Another snow day for me. I have been relaxing on my side of the couch, feet up and yarn and needles in hand. Ahh the life.

    • Donna D,

      You lucky duck! Another snow day for you and bet you get alot of knitting or crocheting done today. Have a great one and thanks for stopping by.

      Love,
      Tamara

  4. The baby booties are adorable. Love the colors and you’re right – the stitch is so well-defined! Stay warm!

    • CrochetBlogger,

      Thanks for liking the colors that I chose and thank you for stopping by to comment. I really do appreciate all of the warm comments.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. Wow , to me it’s scary driving with road conditions like that. I’m glad you made it okay and hope that continues for you. Our temps are supposed to be -1 tonight with the wind chill factor of -11 to -14. brrrrrr I know I won’t be going out! We got the freezing rain, sleet and snow Monday and now it’s just flurries. Love the booties and headband, they are really pretty. I have a nephew and his wife who are expecting their 3rd little girl. I’m gonna have to come up with something there. Have a great day!

    Hugs XX
    Barbara

    • Barbara,

      Sounds like your weather is worse than ours. We didn’t have the freezing rain and sleet before the snow, but the drifting is terrible. Your nephew and his wife should have a pair of the Toot’s crochet booties crocheted by it’s Great Aunt Barbara. Remember you purchased it when you were here over a year ago.:) As always I appreciate your comments and hope that you stay very warm.

      Love ya,
      Tamara

  6. I am pleased to report that, here in northern Idaho, we had full-blown sunshine & gorgeous blue skies these last 3 days …. tho with cold temps. Was down to 9º last nite, but got up to 30º today. Not as much sun predicted for the following week, and hardly any precip. We are currently very blest in this area with such decent winter weather!

    • Oh Kat,

      It sounds like you all deserve to have a little sunshine and warmer weather for a change. I know that I don’t have anything to complain about when I hear what kind of weather the people up north experience. I just had to vent about my work not letting us go until the roads were so bad. Thanks for stopping by and hope you have a good week.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  7. Hi tam I love all the things you do, I am a beginner and let me tell that you are very inspiring. thanks a lot .

    • Chahrazad,

      I’m so glad that you are inspired by my crochet. I went to your blog and I think you are doing a great job of crocheting. Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  8. Hola Tammy!!!

    I loved the booties!! Do you have a pattern???… I wish I lived next to your house!!!
    jajajajajaja…
    Thanks for showing us your works!!!

    Hugs!!

    • Pam,

      I’m so glad that you like the booties. I do have a pattern that I wrote for the booties. I’m planning on putting it as a downloadable patten in my Etsy shop as soon as I can have some extra time.

      We would have a lot of fun if we were neighbors and thank you for stopping by.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  9. i still can’t believe how cold it’s gotten in kansas. the high today is somewhere around 21, i think. i don’t have class until 2 today! so very exciting. 😀

    hm. what is going on in my part of the world? jess’s dance show is tomorrow evening, crazy crazy. after working on it since sometime in october – i think- it’s about dern time the thing comes to an end. it’s going to be awesome and hopefully i can show you video footage. other than that, i haven’t been up to much besides homework and school and sleeping and being lazy. i need to get myself crocheting again. i think i said before that i only made one fingerless glove so far, ugh. i’ll have to finish them and have arami try them on.

    ok. i must go and shower and ready for my day. i love you!

    • Joshua,

      You make me laugh. I can’t believe the weather either, but remember when we had that ice storm in February and we lost our electricity? It was about the same time as this storm that came through here. It sounds like you are very busy and that’s a good thing. I know you will get back into crocheting as soon as you have a few minutes, huh? I hope you had a good day. I know you will finish the fingerless glove and they will be very nice.

      Love you,
      Momma


Leave a Reply

Categories

