Posted by: tgonzales | January 12, 2011

It’s Cold in Kansas

This is what I woke up to on Monday morning. I love the snow when I can just curl up on my couch and crochet, but I had to get out early and scrape the snow and ice off of my car so I could go to work. I love how my dear husband turned the car around so that all I had to do is drive straight out of my driveway though. The temperature here is 9 degrees and is expected to fall below zero tonight. I’m so glad that I have my Wool-Ease afghan to curl up under tonight. Ha! Ha!

So far this week I have managed to finish the Double Thick Diagonal Potholder that I started over at Susie’s on Saturday. I ran out of the yarn that I was using, but attached some of the I Love This Cotton Spark yarn and finished it off. I love how it just folds right into a square.

I also finished the set of coasters I made from the potholder pattern. They really look cool all stacked up here.

I really like the way they form this really cool pattern if I were to sew them together. But in order to do that I would have to make all of them the same size. Oops, everyone thinks that I crochet so perfectly, but I really do mess up sometimes as you can see here. I just want to go upstairs and dig into all of my cotton yarn and make one of these potholders out of every single color that I have. You can find the pattern here.

I’m also in the process of picking out a Chemo hat pattern from the many free patterns on-line. Our guild has decided to make hats for children going through Chemo-therapy. I’ll make sure I let you know which pattern I’ve decided to use as soon as I figure it out. So many choices, you know? What’s up in your part of the world?


Responses

  1. So glad that you got to learn the fun hot pad. I love your different colors too. I remember the first Christmas, as a crocheter, everyone got those hot pads and a dishrag to match!

    • Susie,

      Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. You sure are up early today. I hope you feel better soon. I felt so bad today, I stayed at home from work.:(

      Love you,
      Tamara

  2. Oh my Tamara you really do have a bunch of snow don’t you? We got some here also but not as much. Our temps are really cold though, in the single digits but only expected to last for a couple of days. Love that potholder and the coasters are terrific! Good cotton yarn will definitely work great on them. I crocheted a bunch of chemo hats last year and found a very easy pattern online. I did them in cotton also ’cause some people are allergic to wool etc. Please be careful on your trips to work and back!

    Hugs XX
    Barbara

    • Barbara,

      It’s so good to hear from you. I hope you get some relief from the cold soon. I know what you mean about the hats. I’m making mine out of some acrylic yarn that’s soft. I know their heads must be very tender. Thanks Mom; I will be careful on my way to and from work:)

      Love you,
      Tamara

  3. Tamara, you listen to Mom Barb and do what she says !! HaHa =) I have made so many hats that I honestly think I could do them in my sleep. Below is a “doo rag” that the teens all fell in love with so please go look at it, then there is a second photo of a darling baby cap that everybody is going crazy about. Okay, I think I have fussed at you long enough. Love you, Molly

    http://fosteringlove.tripod.com/id12.html

    http://radicalcrossstitch.com/2007/08/21/easiest-baby-hat-ever-tutorial/

    • Ok. I’ll listen to Mom Barb and I’ll listen to Momma Molly too.:) I’m going straight to the links now to check out both of your suggestions. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  4. The next time we get a blizzard here I’ll think of you and count my blessings, at least I’m between the Rockies and a desert.

    Whew, it’s a relief now to know that I have to do is accept that my work will always be imperfect, no matter what I do. That’s part of handcrafting our projects.

    • Heather,

      You are so right about the imperfections. I just accept them and move on. The coasters will look cute all stacked in a pile or used under a cup of tea and that’s ok. That’s what I love about handcrafted items, the uniqueness in each one of them. Thanks for stopping by.

      Love,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

