Posted by: tgonzales | January 3, 2011

January 1-2, 2011 Weekend

I started off my extended 3 day weekend with writing Thank You notes for my Mom. There were so many family and friends who cooked, sent flowers, and just extended a shoulder to cry on after my brother passed away. It has been very hard on my Mom and Daddy; as it should be, but it was also hard on me watching them go through this and dealing with my grief too. Anyway, she has complained that her handwriting has gotten so bad the older she gets. So I told her that I would write the thank you notes for her. I just wrote from my heart and hope that I thanked each person the way that my Mom would have. I know it helped her out a lot for me to do this for her and I was glad to do it. I do think Thank You notes are so important. Do you all agree?

Saturday, I had decided that Joshua and I would go to my Mom and Daddy’s

and she invited us for lunch. My sister and brother-in-law joined us and Mom outdid herself with a yummy meatloaf, mashed potatoes, gravy, green beans, and creamed carrots. I just love it when my Mom cooks for us. Everything just tastes so much better and I think it’s just because I didn’t have to make it. Oh my gosh and my sister made the most amazing oatmeal, cranberry cookies; ever!! Thank you Jackie! After lunch we drove out to Maize, Kansas for a birthday party for my great niece; Kaitlynn, who turned 11. It was nice seeing my nieces and nephews and their little ones. I can’t believe how time flies so fast and all my great nieces and nephews are growing up so quickly.

My dad stayed back at the house and prepared the table for our card game.

We had so much fun using their electric card shuffler and playing Shanghai Rummy. My Dad won, then my Mom, then Joshua, then me, and then Jackie. After the card game my nephew

Jason

and his wife Kelley, and my great nephews, Tolan and Coben stopped by. I enjoyed watching them play and loved hearing them talk to each other. It was good family time.

Sunday, Joshua’s friend Megan stopped by for a little crochet time.

I taught her how to make granny squares and she was already thinking about making a scarf out of hers. I can’t wait to see it.

Joshua and I decided to make Gloria’s Happy hat designed by Dora Ohrenstein

from Interweave Crochet Accessories magazine. I know I keep talking about this magazine, but they really did include such a nice amount of different hats, scarves, and bags that I can’t stop using the patterns. Ha! Ha!

Anyway here’s my hat and I’m pleased with how it turned out.

I love how Joshua’s hat turned out too.

I also made up my own pattern for this slouchy hat that I made out of some of the yarn that Joshua gave me for Christmas. It’s very soft and spongey and will look really cute on a young person. I just don’t know who I’ll give it to yet.

I also started making the lining for the felted granny square bag that I made from the wool that Joshua gave me for Christmas. I had a great weekend and got to spend some quality time with Joshua. Life is good in my part of the world. Tell me about your weekend.


Responses

  1. Nice post!!

    Tamara… I want to ask you something…
    If it isnt much trouble… would you send me the pattern or some pics of the scarf in the front page of the magazine??.. the one that is rounded at the end… it has flowers I guess… I hope its not difficult to make… I just loved it!!! Thanks!!

    I loved your post regarding New Year… I wish you comply all your purposes for this year!!
    Lots of love and hugs…

    Pam

    • Pam,

      I wished I could send you the pattern, but there is a copyright law here that prevents me from doing so. But I’ll see if I can send you a picture of it. Have you heard about Ravelry? When I get home from work I’ll look the name of it up and you might be able to purchase the pattern from Ravelry. I’ll let you know. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Love and Hugs back to you,
      Tamara

      • Don’t worry… thanks!!.. I didn´t know about the law… maybe I have broken the law many times without intention!!! jajajajaja…

        Thanks… If you get the name in Ravelry I can buy it!

        Hugs!

  2. What a wonderful, homey and warm weekend you had with your family! That’s just awesome. And I see that you continue to make crochet an integral part of your day even as busy as you are. Thanks for sharing!

    • Jeanne,

      Yes I do incorporate crocheting into my day as best as I can. Like I always say, “I have to crochet!” If I don’t I get very grouchy.:) Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. I love hearing about your weekend, Tamara. Sometimes reading what you have made is the closest I get to crocheting! I did make a cool chain scarf like Donna had at the Christmas party.. and Katy loved it and made about a dozen. Miss you.

    Steph

    • Steph,

      I hope you will bring your chain scarf to guild or you can wear it to our meeting on Saturday? I bet you’ve been busy with your kiddos at home for the Christmas break?

      Miss you too,
      Tamara

  4. Keep on crocheting, Tamara — I cannot even imagine a grouchy Tamara. LOL!
    Sure was loving & kind of you to write those thank-you’s for your mom. I’m sure no one will mind that. Very difficult for parents to lose a child!!
    I love your ‘Gloria’s Happy Hat’ — great color and shows the design so nicely. Joshua sure went wild with his colors. Such a ham he is! 😉
    Thanks again for sharing your great life with us. And remember … keep on crocheting!!! ;-D
    Love ya! ~ Kat

    • Kat,

      Don’t worry. I’ll keep crocheting as long as my hands and fingers will move. Even if I have stop and shake them to wake them up. Ha! HA!

      Yes my Joshua is a ham and I love him just like he is.

      Love you too,
      Tamara

  5. Tamara, it is always so nice to hear about you and your family. You are all so close and each and every time you get together those hours of togetherness are special.

    I spent the weekend recovering from a LONG fight with a sinus infection and getting ready to return to my teaching position. I am feeling so much better now and have been just enjoying having my girls home from college for a little while.

    I’m sure your mom and dad really appreciated your help with the thank you notes. It was difficult, I am sure, but I think that even these small things that we do help out, also allow us to deal with our own grief in some small way.

    • Merri,

      Thank you so much for understanding about family. I’m so glad that you are feeling better and had a chance to spend some time with your girls. I know how much I’ve enjoyed having Joshua around again. But the visit is coming to an end and I will be sad for a while. I’m going to try and keep upbeat and continue on though.

      Thanks again for stopping by and hope everything goes smoothly starting back to school.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamaa

  6. I recognized those Shanghai rummy boards right off the bat! My family has played this since before I was born. Just played it last night with some good friends. How fun! Glad you could have a good time with your family. I working hard to finish a sweater I started in July so I can wear it to this months guild meeting. The yarn was a birthday present last year and my birthday is coming up on Saturday so I’d better get it done!

    • Amanda,

      That is so cool that you play Shanghai rummy too. My Dad made the boards out of cedar. I can’t wait to see your sweater at guild. I hope you have a wonderful birthday on Saturday.

      Love,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

